We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking Food & Friendly Service”
Review of High Tor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
High Tor Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Matlock Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We booked for one night on the strength of a recommendation from a friend. We arrived quite late and there was nobody at reception which other people seem to have complained about but as this is just a small boutique hotel with a semi-open plan hallway it wasn't too difficult to stick our heads around the door to the bar to find a really friendly, polite and helpful lady who booked us in and showed us to our room.

The hotel has clearly been recently renovated and has a nice clean modern look to it without being too flashy or detracting from the country hotel feel too much. I couldn't help feeling that the breakfast area would have made a nice cosy lounge / function room but aside from that there are comfy sofas aplenty in the communal areas and the restaurant has a nice warm and welcoming feel.

We'd booked the biggest room which is on the top floor and is a pleasant attic room with a ridiculously comfy oval bed, a massive TV, lush carpet and with a slate-tiled wet area with sink and an enormous bath - perfect for a romantic getaway. This room is has velux windows which means you can't enjoy the spectacular cliff views but it is the bridal suite so I suppose window-gazing isn't top of most guests' agenda!

We ate in the restaurant and the food was superb. We had the salmon which was nice and the lamb shank which was huge and perfectly cooked, as were the veggies. The quality and quantity of the food was excellent and great value, and we would definitely eat here again if we were passing and not stopping. All the staff were excellent, attentive and really friendly and even sorted the lamb bones for us to take for the dogs that we cheekily asked for.

We didn't stay long in the bar but the room service was also faultless and, unlike in many hotels, not the rip-off you expect and we got a cracking breakfast bang on time the next morning to send us on our way happy and content. We'll definitely come back, even if it is only to eat as we are passing, but if we are stopping in the area again it will be here.

Room Tip: For a special occasion / romantic getaway ask about the Honeymoon Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MorgsLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 326 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

Went on a voucher for afternoon tea. Nobody on reception. First impression was disappointment at cheap looking sofas, stools, tables, chairs and chair cushions for such a lovely building. Also it is a minor point but the Christmas decorations were quite tacky, again would have expected something more fitting to the building but that's just a personal taste thing.

Service was polite but really slow and not attentive in any way. Wine glass had lipstick mark and a cup wasn't totally clean but overall the place was clean and tidy. Bathroom was nice.

When the food came (on rickety cake stands) we were really pleased, it was tasty, well presented and there was a decent amount.

Overall we would give it another chance because the food was pleasant and we like to support local independent businesses.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank hawkyh73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Put my mum up in this hotel for one night recently and we all ate a meal together. The hotel looks amazing and situated very conveniently for both the village and Matlock itself. Really impressed by the renovation project that has brought this previously derelict building back to life. Although the room was of a snug size it was lovely and warm and well equipped plus very competitively priced. We decided to eat from the bar menu as the prices were so good. My son is a big eater for his age and the gammon and chips was perfect. I could not believe it was priced at just over a fiver. As we just live up the road we will definitely go back and eat. It gives the local Wetherspoons a run for its money on pricing with luxurious surroundings. I have told my colleagues about it at the council. You don,t need to wait for a special occasion with the reasonable food prices. It really helped to enhance that slightly flat period between Christmas and New Year. In these difficult times please support an independent businesss that has so much to offer amnd gives something unique and is not like a bland chain. Any newly renovated place will have snagging issues so do not be so negative and write a place off so readily. We need independent non chain businesses to keep the local economy vibrant. To the critical people who had afternoon tea, the sandwiches are supposed to be wafer thin. Have you never been to famous tea rooms like Bettys?

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Localandlovingit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Myself and my partner stayed at the High Tor Hotel in December; we arrived at the hotel around 4pm. The hotel was very busy when we arrived as there were plenty of Christmas parties in. There was no-one in reception when we arrived however this was quickly solved, and a very polite and helpful lady showed us to our room.
We stayed at the hotel with a voucher, and we were staying in the honeymoon suite for £70. This included wine, chocolates and breakfast in bed. The normal price for this room would be around £192.
The room was stunning, very well done, some things could have been improved upon such as, a working telephone system and more plug sockets in more convenient places. Also you had to get put of bed to turn on the bedside lights. I would have liked normal tumbler sized glasses in the room as I needed a drink of water in the night and had to use a wine glass.
The room was very clean, an the complementary biscuits were lovely. The bath was fab and enormous, and the power shower was great!
We ordered our breakfast once we got back to the hotel in the evening. A very helpful lady took our order and asked what time we would like our breafast.
The bed, I thought was ok, however my partner said that he did not have a good nights sleep. I think the bed was a memory foam mattress which suits some people. The breakfast arrived at 9.15 and was delivered hot, with drinks too. The breakfast was lovely! Really well cooked and set you up for the day.

Overall a really great little romantic getaway. I dont think I would pay £192 just for the room. However with the voucher it was something of a bargain would probably return to the hotel and check put the standard rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaydolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

First of all we enquired about a stay in this hotel in summer of 2012 as we are frequent visitors to matlock and was told the rooms started at £130 so to our suprise looking on late rooms we found a room for £39 and booked.

We arrived after a wet and nerve racking drive in terrible weather to a lovely warm hotel the first room initially given to us reflected the price as it was small with only a 3 quater size bed on the top floor. After going out for tea we decided to upgrade rooms as this one was too small, this cost us £10 and we were no better off if not worse due to noise from the bar.

Overall clean fresh rooms, fantastic shower but no bath, pleasent and helpfull staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A-Hitchens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

my husband booked a nights stay for my birthday what a wonderful pressy greeted by lovely friendly staff super accomadation un a great meal thank you im sure we will return .hopfully in summer so we can take advantage of the lovel outside seating area and views.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 187048Unlucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Have now been to this hotel at least 4 times for Sunday Lunch and once for a mid week lunch. Food is excellent , very good value and very well presented. Always something a little different on the menu and they cater very well for a gluten free diet.Staff are always very friendly and attentive and as we have always been as a family group they deal well with larger groups and food always fresh and hot.
Mid week menu is excellent and a very gourmet menu.
We will be returning and have already booked our table for Christmas Day.Some of our family will be staying Christmas night so watch this space!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goody970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock Bath
1.0 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
331 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
386 reviews
17.5 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
825 reviews
4.6 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cables B&B
Cables B&B
#1 of 8 in Matlock Bath
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Tor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Tor Hotel

Address: 170 Dale Road, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock Bath
Price Range: $96 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — High Tor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel located between Matlock and Matlock Bath - Under new Management since October 2014 - New restaurant Opened February 2015 'Artist's Corner Restaurant' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your High Tor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing