We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
High Tor Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Cables B&B(Matlock Bath)(Great Value!)
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Stone Lodge(Matlock Bath)(Great Value!)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ashdale Guest House(Matlock Bath)
$120
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$164
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hodgkinson's Hotel(Matlock Bath)
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Lion Hotel(Wirksworth)
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hermitage(Matlock Bath)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (340)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveler rating
163
108
33
24
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
163
108
33
24
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh torcircular bedround bedhuge bathlovely hotelbreakfast roomeggs benedictdefinitely stay here againromantic getawaysteakfresh flowersstayed for one nightfull englishgood nights sleepcourse mealthe main roadwithin easy walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
301 - 306 of 340 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just back from two nights in this exquisite hotel. We stayed in room 14, the bridal suite and were very impressed by the room, the staff, the service and food. Positioned high up overlooking the Derwent within a few miles of Chatsworth House, Bakewell, Matlock and Dovedale it is a perfect base for a Peak District break.

Room Tip: upgrade to room 14 if you can
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marsdenique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighTorr, Director at High Tor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review of the hotel, we are trying very hard to ensure all our guests have a fantastic experience, and its great to hear you did!! I'll make sure I feed this back to our staff - they will be very happy to hear you had a great stay, and we genuinely enjoyed having you here.. Please come back and visit soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Bought one night stay for two through KGB. After reading some of the reviews were a bit apprehensive but think i must have been reading reviews for another hotel as I found the staff very helpful and friendly, room excellant, especially the bathroom with the massaging shower, all very clean and comfortable Loved the touch of home made cookies in the room with the tea/coffee, also that bottled water was also available in the room.
Both myself and my husband each had a meal from the bar menu which was very reasonably priced and also well presented, we also got a free bottle of wine. I had the lamb casserole which was very tasty and came with roasted winter veg and mashed potatoes, my husband had ale pie with chips and roasted winter veg. Did have to wait a while for the food but this is only to be expected with freshly cooked food, if you want instant food go somewhere where it is pre prepared and microwaved. Would go back and also recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: We had room 4, very quiet
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighTorr, Director at High Tor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you for taking the time to post such a warm and encouraging review of the hotel, we are trying very hard to ensure all our guests have a fantastic experience!! Its great to hear you enjoyed the hotel, and we genuinely enjoyed having you here.. Please come back and visit soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We had a one night fantastic experience. The hotel has recently been refurbished & to a very high standard much appreciated by us. The bar was comfortable and a friendly place to have a quiet drink before dinner. The staff were fantastic all being very friendly & making our stay a very pleasent experience.

The room (12) was great with all that you need noot massive but just right. Next time will definately try the upgraded room though. I cannot believe some reviews as they want Savoy luxury at travelodge cost!!! This hotel is definately more luxury & has the little touches that make it special. The cookies in the room are just devine.

The evening meal was lovely hot filling and reasonably priced with excellent service. The breakfast was good quality produce cooked perfectly. I definately recomend the scrambled eggs & smoked salmon.

One BIG dissapointment that we had...............we only had one night!!! We wish High Tor good luck with the future & we look forward to a return visit soon.

Room Tip: Top rooms are quiet. Don't put the heater on unless really cold as it heats up very quickly & you fry
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faulkner1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighTorr, Director at High Tor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear guest,
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, really appreciate such warm and sincere comments from our guests...

We hope to see you again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I have to agree with all the bad reveiws for the restaurant at this hotel. We had the same experience as the others.Bad food and a very long wait in an empty restaurant. I had the steak with some dryed up potatoes and limp leafs . The sauce came in a dolls house size jug . My husbands lamb was dry and uneatable , The leek and potato soup which we waited 30 minutes for, in a restaurant with only six other people. Will not return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighTorr, Director at High Tor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Diner,

we are very sorry you did not enjoy your dining experience at the hotel. Since you visited we have employed a new head chef and the hotel itself is under new management. We at the High Tor appreciate all feedback we receive and strive to ensure all guests and diners leave happy.

If you have any further feedback, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel

Kind regards

Miss S Rashid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We went for afternoon tea. It was not what we expected, but it was very nice. The sandwiches could have been a little bit better filled. In the advert it said including smoked salmon sandwiches, but all you got was some ham, and in the other is was supposedly cheese and cucumber, but there was very little cheese.

The cakes certainly made up for the short fall in the sandwiches, they were excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Pat M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighTorr, Director at High Tor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you for leaving such lovely feed back regarding our afternoon tea.. I will ensure the kitchen is made aware of they're Sandwich shortfall and will be rectified immediately. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews