We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$164
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Lion Hotel(Wirksworth)
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peak Edge Hotel(Stonedge)
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Alfreton(Alfreton)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
$88
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (412)
Filter reviews
412 results
Traveler rating
349
47
11
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
349
47
11
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade biscuitsriber roomoriginal featurescharming hotelroll top bathlike stepping back in timeground coffeetop floorvictorian styleperiod hotelsmall hotelopen firetea traypeak districtowners and staffwarm welcomeevening meal
Filter
Updating list...
251 - 256 of 412 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2014

The planning of a birthday surprise trip for my girlfriend started at tripadvisor.com and ended at the lovely Hodgkinson Hotel. Her initial scepticism (she’d never heard of Matlock) was swiftly dispersed, before we had even seen the room. The whole house is decorated with historic artefacts, carefully arranged and displayed to make for a homely and warm feel and to arouse the interest of the curious guest. The room (Riber) was stunningly beautiful with a romantic 4 poster bed and stylish vintage bathroom. The only modern device, the TV, was discretely placed in the corner of the room. Only the sofa left something to wish for, it was worn and not very comfortable. Everything was very clean. The room faces the main road but the double glazed windows do a sufficient job in keeping the noise out. Sheets and cushions are enough and of good quality.

Upon arrival we were greeted by the very friendly owner Chris, offered help with our luggage, shown the room and asked what our preferable breakfast time would be. All our requests e.g. for an iron and board were promptly dealt with. Best of all, when we came back in the evening from our Birthday dinner, the owners offered us a single malt whisky on the house to share with them - we couldn’t have wished for a better round off to the evening.

It should not go unnoticed that after we left and forgot my girlfriend’s shoes in the room, they were posted to us at no extra cost.

The breakfast is not the usual buffet but guests get to choose from various options, which are then freshly prepared in the kitchen. Would recommend the full English (including a great vegetarian version) as well as the eggs benedict/florentine. Of all the dishes we tried only the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon lacked flavour and texture. Dinner was also on offer but we decided to eat out.

All in all it is pretty obvious that a lot of effort has gone into maintaining the Hodgkinson Hotel and that is well matched by the effort that goes into the service. I can highly recommend coming here and using it as a base to explore the natural beauty of the Peak District or simply to relax indoors.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank ChristofTbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

My husband booked this hotel as a surprise weekend away for our first wedding anniversary and I must say I couldn't have been delighted!! The hotel itself was beautiful to look at and our room was fantastic with lots of lovely touches to make for a perfect stay. We ate at the hotel on the first night, the restaurant was intimate and cosy with a calm atmosphere and the 3 course meal we had was delicious. When we ordered our cheese board the management offered a glass of port on the house to celebrate our anniversary which topped our dining experience off wonderfully. In the morning we were spoilt by a huge choice of home cooked breakfast which set us up for a day walking and exploring ( which Zoe and her husband kindly printed maps for!!). All in all we couldn't have asked for a better hotel, food or hospitality and would recommend it to all!!! It made our first wedding anniversary unforgettable!!! Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank claire h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We spent a Saturday night at the beginning of April as a belated celebration of our wedding anniversary.The Haddon room we had booked was lovely,overlooking the main street,so you could watch the world go by,but very quiet ,due to the secondary glazing installed.Zoe and Chris were very welcoming,explaining the choices for car parking,availability of a 'late key' etc.We had booked a table for an evening meal at the hotel and were invited to have a pre meal drink in the sitting room before sitting down to a lovely three course meal.
Returning to the hotel later in the evening we were offered a complimentary 'nightcap' to toast our anniversary,which was a lovely gesture.Our stay was completed by a very comfortable night's sleep and a very tasty cooked breakfast the next morning.We were able to leave our car parked in the hotel's allotted parking area until we left Matlock Bath later that day.
Although we had only spent just over 24 hours away from home it felt like a proper break and will no doubt do it again sometime.The dilemma would be whether to book the same room or try a different one as Zoe suggested!We will wait and see!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed here for the first time last weekend and it was a fantastic experience, the owners were really welcoming and couldn't do enough to make us comfortable, our room was beautiful with everything provided right down to home made biscuits, robes, slippers hair dryer etc., we where even given a pass to put in our car to save us putting it in their car park which was close by but easier for old legs to leave it outside the hotel. Breakfast next morning was perfect in every way, freshly made to order with any number of options. We would recommend this hotel to anybody visiting this part of Derbyshire one couldn't stay in a nicer hotel.

Room Tip: If one has trouble climbing stairs I would ask for a room on the first floor as the hotel being old does not have a lift , but don't let this put you off as the experience is well worth the effort. We had a double overlooking the river and it was beautiful.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

As this was an impulse booking we were delighted with our choice and have to say we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is decorated and furnished beautifully and it really is like stepping back in time, with great attention to detail, even down to the antique room keys! The food was amazing both at dinner and breakfast, with a good selection of wines available and there is also a great variety of drinks available at the beautiful victorian bar.
All in all it has everything you need for a relaxing stay; friendly & welcoming owners, ( Zoe & Chris), clean & comfortable surroundings, great food AND its own cave!
We definitely intend to return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KSoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews