We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$147
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Matlock(Matlock)(Great Value!)
$74
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Lion Hotel(Wirksworth)
$115
$92
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$178
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peak Edge Hotel(Stonedge)
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Alfreton(Alfreton)(Great Value!)
$49
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
$94
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (404)
Filter reviews
404 results
Traveler rating
341
47
11
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
341
47
11
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade biscuitsriber roomoriginal featurescharming hotelroll top bathlike stepping back in timeground coffeetop floorvictorian styleperiod hotelsmall hotelopen firetea traypeak districtowners and staffwarm welcomeevening meal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
252 - 257 of 404 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Have been to this hotel 6 years ago for a 1 night stay. My partner Julia secretly arranged a Valentines weekend break and it was fantastic. The hotel is full of old world charm and decoration. All our meals were wonderful and the attention from Zoe , Chris and the young lady waitress (very sorry, I forgot to ask your name) were perfect. We were very impressed that several young couples were staying there, just goes to show big hotels are not the most beautiful.
Many thanks for a great weekend, Michael.

Room Tip: The Riber. Its great, lots of room and a four poster bed. Several stairs possibly not for the infirm
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Me and the why stayed here for 1 night, we where welcomed with a smile and our bags where taken to our room. We eat in the restaurant at night and the food was really nice. Breakfast was also excellent.
The rooms are really comfortable and there was even a food and water bowel for our dog.
Overall great value for money and really friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulManville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Loved the place! Fantastic little bed and breakfast centrally located in the middle of town. Owned and managed by a fantastic couple and charming staff. All my meals were excellent, served in their quaint little restaurant fully equipped with own pub (got to love that). Free parking is available and my room was very clean, cozy and quiet.

I was traveling alone but thought it would have a been a fun place for the kids to explore because the hotel sports it’s own cave and garden. Weave in a little ghost story and you have a perfect little adventure to get their imaginations running wild. As for the area, I was there to relax and found the location to be very convenient. Plenty of areas to explore and when complete, there are at least 5 pubs within walking distance of the hotel. I was thoroughly pleased and would recommend the Hodgkinson’s Hotel to anyone traveling in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 627sacham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Really worth staying at this little place if your in the area. It is central, very clean and has a quaint old fashioned feel about it. Our room was superbly decorated and overlooked the river. Free private Car parking up the side street by the hotel. Very friendly owners who cooked us a very good breakfast the following morning. They even have Egg Benedict and fruit smoothy on the varied menu. if we were back in the area we would definately saty here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpikeSeasider50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Having spent the long journey up to Derbyshire from Berkshire - we greeted by our Hosts - Zoe & Chris. We were shown to the Mayfield room. A very spacious room will great views out over Derwent River. The room had all the mod cons with a very modern shower room .The bed was enormous and very comfortable. Zoe & Chris who only took over in the spring gave great advice on local restaurants and site seeing attractions. They could have not been more helpful. Really recommend the Full English breakfast ... Feast ! We will definitely be BACK that's for sure !!! Agneta & Mark W'ham, Berkshire .

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews