We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A special place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hodgkinson's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A special place”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We so much enjoyed our stay at this old hotel that we will be sure to go back. The owners since May this year are friendly and helpful, and did everything they could to make us welcome. The hotel itself is unusual, with a deliberately old fashioned feel that many others have whitewashed over. But that is what makes it special, as you get a feel for how this place has welcomed travellers since Victorian times.
it could do with an update in some respects, with the odd bit of scuffed decor, and we found our bed a little saggy. Otherwise this would be a five star rating for sure.
The menu is carefully put together and the food is interesting and good quality. One minor gripe is that the wine had not been chilled which was a waste of a good sauvignon blanc.
We were very lucky to accidentally stay here on one of the October weekends when the illuminations are on. There are illuminated boats on the river, and fireworks at 9pm, and the whole town was buzzing with probably thousands of visitors... it was a real great atmosphere and one we hope to get to again.

Room Tip: Mayfield is a superior room at the top of the house, with great views across the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hungry_lurcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    39
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
45
215
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a long weekend a short while ago. It is not the cheapest option in Matlock Bath but is certainly one of the nicest. Lovely owners, fantastic rooms (the one we stayed in was like a manor house) and the location is in the middle of Matlock Bath.

The food is a particularly highlight. Again, not the cheapest option in town but it was delightful. The lamb was cooked to perfection and minty mash was a revelation. Lovely that the chef came out to check on us as well.

Well worth looking at as one of the better options in the area.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Batontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night for a visit to Matlock Bath illuminations. Chris & Zoe, as others have said are lovely hosts and staff extremely friendly and helpful. We were welcomed and shown to our rooms by Chris, I stayed in the Eyam room with my daughter and dog, and my parents in the room next door. Rooms were immaculate and decor in keeping with the rest of the hotel. Loved the little touches where the dog was concerned, food bowls and blankets were provided and the following morning at breakfast a sausage was brought out for the dog too (which was devoured back home!)
We were lucky enough to get a parking space at the top of the hill behind the hotel, and the hotel itself is in a very central location so no need for us to use the car while we were there.
We chose to eat in the restaurant for our evening meal before heading out, wow, food far surpassed what was expected. Cannot recommend this hotel enough, and if I'm ever planning to visit Matlock Bath again, I know where I will be staying!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jewell120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed here for two nights, having a break from visiting family!

Chris and Zoe are marvellous hosts. Chris recommended the room based on my preferences, Zoe gave me the right booklet for the walks in the area (which are lovely) and most thoughtfully of all: when I came back late from seeing my team Ipswich blow a 4-1 lead at Derby, what I found left out for me was what I most needed in the world - a beer!

The breakfasts set you up for the day, and dinner was great: the restaurant deserves a 5-star rating in its own right.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 133Mark133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife a I visited Matlock Bath and stayed at the magnificent Hodgkinsons Hotel.
We had a lovely time, Chris & Zoe were wonderful hosts.
I cannot recommend the Hotel highly enough,
Fantastic food, Lovely room, Open fire, Licensed bar, Perfect Location, Friendly Staff,
We will definitely stay here again, but this time we will book an evening meal (we ate whilst out this time)
And to top it all there are caves just out of the back door of the hotel to explore.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just returned home from a weekend stay at the Hodgkinson's for our wedding anniversary. Wow, what a wonderful experience in this amazing Victorian style hotel, our room was large and fantastically furnished with everything we needed (not to mention the fresh cookies), even catering for things we may have forgotten. The bedding was luxurious, I wish I had asked where the duvets came from. We had dinner in the cosy restaurant which was as special as the rooms and the wonderful attention the owners Zoe and Chris made to the enjoyment of the stay (they were the perfect hosts). Please make sure you make the most of the traditional breakfast which was made using locally sourced produce, how nice to have an explosion of flavours in the morning as well as the evening which was one the best dinning experiences we have had in ages. I had forgotten what an English breakfast should taste like. Hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did. We will definitely be going back and will recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

Room Tip: All rooms unique and individual as you would expect with a Grade II listed building, a couple of roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynneT551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

As a surprise for my darling husband I booked a dinner bed and breakfast one nights stay.

Upon arrival we were greeted by the proprietor Chris who was really lovely he gave us a upgrade to the Riber (a delightful four poster bedroom stepping back in time to Queen Victorias reign. Loved the bathroom which was pristine with a white roll top bath lots of quality toiletries , fluffy towels) must mention full marks for the hospitality tray china cups and saucers fresh ground coffee but best of all loose tea!!!! complete with tea strainer!!!!

A table was booked for dinner and we were looked after superbly by chef Kevin and Rosie the waitress.


Next morning after an excellent nights sleep we ventured down for breakfast Zoe the other half of Chris introduced herself equally as charming as her husband. Totally spoiled with a hearty breakfast for my husband and a healthier choice for myself.

Full marks to the team at Hodgkinsons we will be back soon!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophies123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock Bath
0.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
185 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
234 reviews
8.0 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
6.2 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
711 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hodgkinson's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodgkinson's Hotel

Property: Hodgkinson's Hotel
Address: 150 South Parade, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3NR , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned period townhouse with 8 individually designed guestrooms and 18-seater restaurant, centrally located in Matlock Bath, ideal for access to Matlock, Bakewell, Chatsworth House & ideal for exploring the Peak District and only 20 mins from the M1. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hodgkinson's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hodgkinsons Hotel Matlock Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing