We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Cables B&B(Matlock Bath)(Great Value!)
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Stone Lodge(Matlock Bath)(Great Value!)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
High Tor Hotel(Matlock Bath)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ashdale Guest House(Matlock Bath)
$120
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$164
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hermitage(Matlock Bath)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (412)
Filter reviews
412 results
Traveler rating
349
47
11
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
349
47
11
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade biscuitsriber roomoriginal featurescharming hotelroll top bathlike stepping back in timeground coffeetop floorvictorian styleperiod hotelsmall hotelopen firetea traypeak districtowners and staffwarm welcomeevening meal
Filter
Updating list...
319 - 324 of 412 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We had a lovely mini-honeymoon at this hotel in Matlock Bath recently. And what a gem of a hotel it is, too! There is a cave in the backyard, the rooms are interestingly and tastefully decorated, and the Riber room has a wonderful old-fashioned free-standing bathtub, too. The hotel is definitely a "quality" hotel, yet it manages to be so without losing its uniquely quirky, homely charm. It's full of interesting knick-knacks and Victoriana, and there's even a living room for the guests to socialise with one another, should they wish. The members of staff we met were all friendly and welcoming, and they also had lots of local knowledge to impart. And the food - breakfast and dinner - was fantastic! We are both vegetarians, and we were catered for extremely well. At many hotels, the veggie options are somewhat lacking, but that is not the case here. We highly recommend this hotel, and plan to return in the future.

Room Tip: The Riber room has a free-standing bath tub.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1976baby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here for two nights for my husband's birthday and also to take our 2 year old daughter to see the Matlock Bath Illuminations. From the minute we were welcomed into the hotel (by name - which was a nice touch!) we were made to feel at home. They gave our daughter a special cereal bowl and cup at breakfast time and made her her own scrambled eggs. It is a lovely hotel - the room was perfect and more than big enough to accomodate the cot. The breakfast menu was extensive - and delicious! We really were spoilt for choice. We will definitely return - thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had the pleasure of being tempted to this stunning hotel by the owner handing out leaflets for afternoon tea. Well it was our luckly day, the food perpared by chef Colin was out of this world, the service provided Lucy was first class. This place hotel was so nice we stayed the night, thank you for a special stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robin_earl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This hotel is a real delight.
Our bedroom was large and had everything we needed, especially the lovely big bed.

We dined in the restaurant on each of the three evenings we spent at Hodgkinson's. The menu is short and everything is cooked to order. And was delicious!

Breakfasts were equally good - again, all cooked to order and included such specialities as Eggs Florentine and kedgeree.

Room Tip: When we were booking we were warned our room was on the top floor, and as it's an old property there's no lift - but we were helped with our luggage
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyrosie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My partner and I (and our dog) stayed there last Saturday night and we couldn't fault this charming hotel in the middle of Matlock Bath. Our room was beautifully set out and spotlessly clean, and although it looked our over the main road, we could barely hear a thing with the windows shut. We were impressed with the way they'd set out the beverage tray, and the rug and feeding/water bowls they'd put out for our dog too. The service - by Dianne and her staff - was very friendly and super-efficient, and we had an excellent meal in the evening, with a delicious full English breakfast the following morning. Actually, we were sad to leave and would have been happy staying there for much longer. Dianne, please carry on the wonderful work you do and we hope to see you again one day soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandJ2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews