We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel by the river.”
Review of Hodgkinson's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I really liked this hotel, very quirky and filled with so much interesting stuff to look at , it took ages to get downstairs for breakfast !
Breakfast was really good, I had a mostly vegetarian with black pudding :) which was delicious.
We booked to eat our evening meal here, (warm figs and blackberries with mascarpone mmmm !) also delicious, had drinks first in the cosy sitting room by a real fire. Very attentive service for the whole weekend, room very clean, bed very comfy. I hope to visit again soon.
Loved the home made biscuits on the tea tray.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janemc-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
There are newer reviews for Hodgkinson's Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 378 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2012

We were welcomed by the owner of the hotel when we arrived .Felt at home straight away,couldnt of wished for a nicer room over looking the river Derwent.Friendly hospitality superb,both staff and Diane and her daughter were very nice .We will book again soon this year. The history is interesting and the caves at the rear of the hotel are amazing.Our breakfast was very good as were the staff who served us we wished we had stayed a few more days as did my partner and her son . I would recommend this hotel to any one I know as I have stayed in Matlock bath many times in 37 years and have never had a hotel as good as. this one to stay in. This is second to none. The read up in Derbyshire life (April 2012)is excellent but even better once you have stayed there.

Room Tip: All rooms are exceptional and are spacious
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We chose this hotel after reading all the positive reviews.. and we werent disappointed . We needed a relaxing weekend away before the working season started as we wouldnt get a holiday until the end of October. We live by the seaside and felt we needed to go inland and have a weekend of relaxation, fresh air, long walks and good food ( and wine ). On arrival at Matlock Bath our initial thoughts were " what have we done.... its all fish and chips shops and arcades.. its just like home !! ". The main streets of North and South Parades stretched the full length, with the buildings on one side and the River opposite, dissected by the main road.... it was just like a seafront without the beach.... but it wasnt too long until we warmed to the place. As for the hotel itself.... it was lovely. It was like stepping into a Victorian home, with all its furnishings and antiques and decorations ( Would hate to be the cleaner ). Our room ( Haddon ) was on the second floor overlooking the "seafront" with views of the river and the valleys beyond. Although traffic noise wasnt a problem you could hear cars and the many motorbikes travelling by, but this didnt detract from the rooms position ( staff stated that all rooms will soon have double glazed window units ). The room was cosy, comfortable and with lovely furnishings. The bed was comfortable but the only problem in our room ( if it is a problem ) was that the tv was partially obsured by the bed frame, when layed in bed watching tv from the left side ! The bathroom was spotlessly clean with a nice ( if small / cosy / compact ) shower with Victorian style shower tap, and ample hot water. The food in the restaurant was superb, and its worth having the full three courses in the evening... the desserts were amazing.... but the cheese board for one is enough for two ! The dinning room itself was full of cosy charm and the staff couldnt do enough for you...A special thankyou to Amanda who mostly looked after us during our stay. This is a lovely hotel and we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay, where we were made to feel welcome and looked after by attentive staff. We shall be coming here again and recommending to family and friends ( And if you fancy a drink away from the hotel, then the Riva Rose Cottage about hundred yards to the left as you leave the hotel is very nice and quaint... lovely pint of Hobgoblin !! )

Room Tip: We had the Haddon.... but to be honest they all looked good
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We have just returned from an amazing few days staying at this beautiful hotel.

The room was immaculate, the cleanest room we have stayed in (and we have stayed in many hotels!) lovely little touches and even homemade biscuits on the tea tray! The shower was amazing, very powerful and the towels huge and soft. Even though the room was facing a main road this was certainly not a problem and the view was beautiful of the river and town.

Our daughter (3yr) was very well accommodated for, with her own comfy bed and extra towels, she even had a princess plate at breakfast set out!

The breakfast was certainly award winning and so much choice from the menu!

This is a very special hotel, and will be our first choice if we are ever back in the area again,
thank you for a wonderful stay, and we will hopefully be back in the summer!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic weekend, we met up with friends and had the Riber and Mayfield rooms which are amazing, you will not be disappointed with either. Riber has the four poster and roll top bath but if you prefer a huge shower and a huge bed, it has to be the Mayfield. We were greeted by a lovely girl who showed us to our rooms and looked after us all along with Dianne and her brilliant chef.
Nothing is too much trouble here, our friends have a two year old and made to order meals were cooked early for her both nights , we ate later when she was asleep( they even offered a baby monitor but we had one with us)
The food we ate all weekend was exquisite, the best we have tasted in any hotel we have stayed. Breakfast again is a treat, huge selection for such a small hotel, well deserving of it's awards!
The hotel is spotless, everything sparkles! The rooms are so comfortable, we had two really good nights sleep.
You have to stay here, we cannot wait to go back and be properly spoiled, thank you
Dianne and your brilliant team, we have had thes best time!!

Room Tip: Riber or mayfield, beautiful,spacious, quiet and lovely views
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loz45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

This is a lovely hotel, beautifully decorated in Victorian style with lots of collector's items. We stayed in the Riber Room at the top of the building which enjoys views across the river...with its four-poster bed and roll-top bath in the bathroom. We had an evening meal in the small restaurant which was excellent - I particularly enjoyed the scallops I had for starter which were delicate and delightful. We don't actually live too far away so would go again just for a meal. The proprietress was charming and there was a cosy sitting room with an open fire. Full marks all round!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaraEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed here, having previously stayed in 2008. . The Hotel is as charming as ever, full of character in an ideal location. . The hotel staff are warm, friendly and genuinely helpful. . The service is great and the food is delicious. The Hotel oozes with the charm of a bygone age, we will definitely come back. Infact, we wouldn't stay anywhere else. .

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcandSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock Bath
0.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
308 reviews
6.2 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
798 reviews
17.7 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
17.4 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,132 reviews
5.1 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hodgkinson's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodgkinson's Hotel

Address: 150 South Parade, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Price Range: $121 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned period townhouse with 8 individually designed guestrooms and 18-seater restaurant, centrally located in Matlock Bath, ideal for access to Matlock, Bakewell, Chatsworth House & ideal for exploring the Peak District and only 20 mins from the M1. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hodgkinson's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hodgkinsons Hotel Matlock Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing