We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Review Highlights
Gondolas,Hiking and Caving

We had a short hike to the gondolas that take you up the mountain to where you can hike. We were... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
lifebyroz
,
Seattle, Washington
via mobile
Cable cars and caverns

We went on the cable car to the top (walked back) and explored the top including climbing the look... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
IanL21
,
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Read all 3,427 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Matlock Bath
from $102.78
More Info
from $55.94
More Info
Reviews (3,427)
Filter reviews
3,427 results
Traveler rating
1,798
1,266
290
53
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,798
1,266
290
53
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cable car ride cave tour masson cavern prospect tower fossil shop punch judy show fantastic views lead mines scared of heights railway station matlock bath station adventure playground included in the price few hours walk up all ages per adult
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 3,427 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a lovely sunny day when we visited Heights of Abraham which really helped make this a spectacular visit, cable car ride with fabulous views and 2 amazing caverns to go down besides a lovely woodland country park to walk round. Fabulous day out.Great value for money.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Susanvc24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Overpriced with not a great deal to do in reality. The cable car ride was fine and the staff were very helpful, which was good. We went in the Masson Cavern but my wife could only go to the first stop, which had been slippery and uneven underfoot. After that there was no turning back so my wife returned to the top. This was a good decision as it was narrow and twisting and wet after this and not suitable for people with any mobility problems. Instead my wife watched the film about the Masson Cavern in the Pavilion but this was not great and needs updating. The Rutland Cavern was a long way down by either steps or a steep slope and it looked very challenging to get down and then back up again. The High Falls was very disappointing. On the positive side the Long View exhibition was interesting and the views were very good.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were lucky enough to have a bright sunny day for our trip up on the cable car. The staff on the cable car were friendly, smiley and couldn't be more helpful. My sister has mobility problems and walks with a stick and the men at the top and the bottom, going up and coming back down slowed the cars down and helped her in and out, cheerfully and with great care. At the top, although we were not able to do some of the more energetic things such as visiting the caves we enjoyed walks on the well made paths and the magnificent views in the sunshine. And we learnt a lot from the exhibition, The Long View. We had a super light lunch in the terrace cafe , again enjoying the view and being served by friendly, helpful young staff. It was indeed the people who made this a special day out.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank BarbaraV340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is my second visit here in the last couple of years and second time we once again had a fantastic time. The cable car ride is fantastic, great views up and down the valley and below, it's a shame it isn't longer!. We headed straight to the cavern for the tour (about 45 minutes) which started not longer after arrived, the tour guide was excellent, knowledgeable and made the tour interesting and funny. The tour brings you out higher up the hill to an area with more amazing views. We then headed back down to the cafe for lunch, we got a seat on the terrace and what a fantastic place to sit in the sun and admire the view. The cafe had a decent range of food and catered for my gluten free needs with no problems. We then visited the museum, rock shop and photography display before heading to the kiddies park which has 2 brilliant slides and some good equipment. Finally we went up the viewing tower which provided once again fantastic views across the valley. You get a 20% discount if you come by train, this is a decent amount if there is a lot of you. Finally my son left his coat by the slide and with a couple of e-mails the staff managed to find it and kept it for us for us to collect another time, this was great service by the team. This place comes highly recommended and i hope to visit again soon, lots to keep the whole family busy for most of the day.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank gibboniusmonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Friendly staff, no queue and great views of the surrounding countryside. Cafe/restaurant was really well stocked and staff really helpful. Pleanty to do so allow time for the caves and exhibitions.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews