We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good day, but scary on the cable cars” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heights of Abraham

Heights of Abraham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Derbyshire's oldest visitor attraction, The Heights of Abraham is a unique Hilltop Park reached by a spectacular cable car journey over the Derwent Valley. When you arrive at the summit you have free access to exciting underground tours of two spectacular Show Caverns as well as Exhibitions, Shops, Play Areas, Picnic Spots, Cafe and Vista Restaurant - all with stunning views across the surrounding Peak District. Please always check our official website for up to date opening times.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good day, but scary on the cable cars”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

had a short break to matlock last may, and decided to go to the cable cars, and to see the various attractions.
the cable cars where very scary for me, they stop quite high up he hill to allow people get on off at either end, it did swing quite a bit.
the attractions at the top very interesting, had a lunch in the cafe wonderul views, and good value, the caves where nice and the scenery beautiful, had a reasonable day weather wise.
would recomend, if you arent scared of heights.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank debbie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,059
    862
    199
    31
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Give me Oxygen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

As theme parks go thisis not bad at all. The only problem for a lot of people espcially the older brigade is the climb up. We wnt all the way up and worked our way down. All in all a very good day out where value for money was definatly had.

Helpful?
Thank trickygeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

I particularly enjoyed the cable car ride. Once at the top you can relax and take in the views, have a picnic, play in the platpark or my particular favorite, take a trip down to the caves. There are alot of steps but my 4 year old managed well. The guide was funny and knowledgable. There is a cafe although i chose to take a picnic. The fossil factory is great you can "hunt for gold" The place was lovely and well kept.
Make sure you get enough time on the car park ticket as it's a long way back to the car!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mand301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“lovely place with great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

we went to this place in the end of august when it was very green. We went up the heights by cable car as our kids really wanted to sit in one. We found it to be a bit pricey but kids under 5 are free so ours went free. The queue wasn't long at all and the staff was friendly and polite. The ride up there was fun with panoramic views on all sides. It stops midway for a few minutes and doesn't last long enough but the breath taking views are worth going on it. Once up there, there's a lot of activities going on. The fossil factory is really nice but the best part are the under ground caves. They were just amazing. We really enjoyed going there with the friendly guide who takes people in groups. the tour lasts about 20 to 30 minutes. While we were there, there was Judy and punch show going on which my almost 5 year old enjoyed a lot. There are places to eat that offer good food. the cafe has an outside terrace as well where you can enjoy your lunch or coffee and have amazing views of the valley. we had our food indoors and could see rabbits and squirrels playing outside from the windows. There are a few play areas for kids. ours didn't want to come back from the long slide. the place is very well maintained with lovely waterfalls, plants and wood carvings. The views from the Victorian tower are also lovely. All in all a lovely day spent with kids.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank rafia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wingfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
367 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Walk it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

After nearly 30 years I still haven't been on the cable car, probably because it wasn't there when I was a child. Still, it is a good walk, whether up from Matlock Bath or across the paths of Masson

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank jake1642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heights of Abraham also viewed

Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 

Been to Heights of Abraham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing