We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Heights of Abraham

Heights of Abraham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Derbyshire's oldest visitor attraction, The Heights of Abraham is a unique Hilltop Park reached by a spectacular cable car journey over the Derwent Valley. When you arrive at the summit you have free access to exciting underground tours of two spectacular Show Caverns as well as Exhibitions, Shops, Play Areas, Picnic Spots, Cafe and Vista Restaurant - all with stunning views across the surrounding Peak District. Please always check our official website for up to date opening times.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Great value for money. The tour guide was really interesting and the views from the cafe/bar were wonderful

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ema1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,113
    903
    202
    32
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Letchworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Vista and Scenery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The attarction has got everything for old and young: cavern, fossil factory, exhibition, children's play area and of course gift shop, coffee shop, restaurant and bar. One usually has to go abroad to enjoy cable car ride, but this one is right on our door-step in England. It is worth spending at least four hours, or more if you go with young children, at this wonderful attraction.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Praful S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We visited on a sunny day and enjoyed the cable car ride - great views. The cavern tours were interesting too, with very good guides who brought the place to life. We ate in the cafe which was very busy, but the food was fine, and service was fairly quick.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tegfantrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful views of peak district”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We took our two year old to this attraction and she couldn't sit still for excitement at the cable car! The views of the surrounding area were stunning, plus all the autumn colours of the trees. The cave tours were very interesting and good fun, the guides being very knowledgeable about the history and geography. The larger cave tour brings you out on the hillside with wonderful views of Riber castle and all across the valley. The play parks were great and the food was pretty good in the main cafe. One thing to note is that the car park is a walk away and its pay and display but none of the local shops will change notes for you - so make sure you have change!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A fantastic day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Recently visited here during half term with our two sons aged 5 and 2. What a fantastic day it was. The weather was surprisingly good, which helped I am sure!

As southerners (!) we arrived in Matlock Bath gasping at how pretty it was in a sunny day with the brook running through it, the tree clad hills and the quaintness of it all. I stopped for some change for the car park (thanks to a previous review on here!) and the locals were friendly in the shops too.

We made our way straight to the cable car and again, friendliness by the staff who chatted to our boys and then we made ouy way up. Now, I am not afraid of heights but this trip is not for the faint hearted. It is very steep and despite the warning signs before embarking, the 3 minute halt halfway up (for three minutes) as the cable gradually 'droops' was a little, er, well - ageing maybe?!

We disembarked up the top and the views were even more stunning that the ride up. There were pine trees and walks and a couple of adventure playgounds that our boys let off steam in. We then went to the cafe (long long queues but it was half term) and we sat outside on the terrace and admired the views over Matlock. We then headed to the caves and our guide (cannot remember her name I am afraid) was absolutely hilarious and if she was not acting, then she was even more hilarious. She had a deep northern accent and made us laugh while telling us some fascinating stories and facts about the fairly deep and trecherous caves (take sensible shoes and be fit!). We came out into daylight and walked up the peak a little more while our boys collected some calcite? type stones from the ground that were thrown around by miners all those years ago. We loved it.

After that, we headed to a larger playground with some pretty fast and lonf slides down the hill - great fun.

We headed back to the car and left this charming little town and tourist site. I was driving down the M1 and my wife and the boys all fell asleep with exhaustion having had a fun day. Happy days!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heights of Abraham also viewed

Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 
Matlock Bath, Matlock
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to Heights of Abraham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing