We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Tucker Fish & Chips
Ranked #8 of 31 Restaurants in Matlock Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We visited Tuckers yesterday, the food was perfect value for money with my husband being very happy, but what stood out the most was the friendly staff they really cared if you were happy. We would definitely come again. Can't wait to visit you again :) xxxxx

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zoe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    63
    12
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good chips on the 'front' at Matlock!”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Easy to find - located on the 'front' at Matlock. Indoor and outdoor seating available - we sat inside because the pavement was very busy with people waiting for the illuminations. You order at the counter and food is served straight away. Wide choice available. Food is served on polystyrene trays with paper cutlery. Lovely fish, chips and mushy peas - hot and fresh. Tables were regularly being cleaned by staff. Only reason I didnt give it 5 stars is that for a 'takeaway' restaurant it is a little expensive - £5.60 for a medium fish, chips and peas. 75p for a buttered bread roll.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuckerbelle, General Manager at Tucker Fish & Chips, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thanks for your review. You obviously visited Matlock Bath on an Illuminations weekend/Bank Holiday when we only serve from our take away menu (disposable packaging) and invite our customers to use our restaurant area and facilities free of charge if they can find a seat! We remove our restaurant menu so that we can concentrate on providing quality food in a quick serve style during busy times of the year. Regarding pricing it's pretty average for the Matlock and Peak District area, due to high property values, rates and utilities, unfortunately. If you return off peak we serve a "Special Offer Meal" of Fish, Chips, Peas, Bread, Tea and an ice cream for £5.95 in our restaurant. Thanks again for taking the time to give a good review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“slidin down”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

On choosing to eat in Tuckers for lunch after enjoying our last visit, I left disappointed . In our group some decided to have the meal deal, but unable to eat ice-cream I ordered the medium fish & chips +a slice of bread & butter. When the meal arrived the slice of bread & butter turned out to be a bap! after taking a bite of ,I noticed it very dry .
I returned it to the counter & the server offered to change it for what I had ordered & brought me a freshly buttered slice of bread. When I compared my fish to what fish was part of the meal deal there was only a slight difference in size & they had peas included & drink.
We have been visiting several fish restaurants in the area & will be sampling more in the coming months .

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gilkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Standards have slipped”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

My partner and I have visited Tuckers many times over the years and had found it to be one of the best chip shop restaurants as the food was always cooked perfectly, was of a high quality, and when eating in it was always served on plates, with metal cutlery and tea served in a proper cup. Therefore, we were incredibly disappointed to find that when we visited this summer the fish was overcooked, the food was piled up on top of one another in a plastic tray (after asking, we were given small plastic plates to slide our food onto) and it was served with plastic cutlery with the tea in a paper takeaway cup. I've never been anywhere that has done such a U-turn on quality and presentation as this and I expect more when I am eating in at a chip shop restaurant. Tuckers are clearly capable of serving food properly and cooking it well as they have done in the past, but unfortunately as other chip shop restaurants have higher standards we will never go back to Tuckers again. The food at George's - although not in Matlock Bath - is of a much better quality and value and they're consistent. When we are next in Matlock Bath we will try another chip shop or just call at George's on the way home.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Belemnite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuckerbelle, General Manager at Tucker Fish & Chips, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
I contacted reviewer Belemnite to apologise. I also explained that at very busy times, such as Bank Holidays and Matlock Bath Illumination times, that we have to temporarily withdraw our restaurant menu and service and we invite our customers to order from the take away menu and use the restaurant seating area if they wish. This is not a new system of service, it is how we have always operated. Unfortunately Belemnite replied and stated this was unacceptable as "Matlock Bath is always busy" . I again replied and explained that I really wish this was the case, but sadly Matlock Bath is seasonal and does not have the amenities of a town like Belper i.e. shops, housing estates, factories etc in order to provide a regular daily flow of customers, especially during the cold winter months. I explained that the majority of the times we are a fish and chip shop that mainly services a restaurant with a little bit of take away but on busy occasions has to serve the masses of customers that descend on Matlock Bath that queue out the door and right down the street.
I replied again, apologised again and as a valued customer I offered a complimentary meal in the restaurant for two.
Belemnite has posted 1 review on TripAdvisor and it was made 3 weeks after their visit. I have had no further reply.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Good Chip Shop food”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We had a good meal here - we both had Veg burger and chips which was very good - one of the best I have had.

The guy who served us (who I note from the receipt was called Tom A) was friendly and helpful, and even told us to take a seat while we were waiting - impressive for a chip shop. We had takeaway and ate in the park over the road. If I find myself in Matlock Bath again I will probably find Tuckers chip shop again for lunch!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rtl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tucker Fish & Chips also viewed

 
Matlock Bath, Matlock
 

Been to Tucker Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing