We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent home cooked food :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of County & Station

County & Station
Ranked #15 of 31 Restaurants in Matlock Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: We are a traditional English pub and we specialise in superb real ales from all over the country. Beers from our very own Shiny Brewery are always available alongside others not usually available locally. We have been voted Matlock and Dales CAMRA Town Pub of the Year 2015. We are the sister pub of Derby City and Derbyshire CAMRA pub of the year 2014, The Furnace, Duke Street, Derby (the home of Shiny Brewing Co.) We also offer a wide range of Craft ales and traditional ciders. Food is currently served Wednesdays and Thursdays 12-3, Fridays and Saturdays 12-8 and Sunday Lunches 12-3. Our Tapas and Home Made Scotch Egg menu is available all day every day. We look forward to seeing you. Cheers!
manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent home cooked food :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We went to Matlock for the boat illuminations and stopped in this pub for our evening meal.
When we arrived it was very busy but we didn't hav to wait long for a table, which I was very impressed as there was 6 of us.
We was recommended a few dishes by leaving customers, to which we took there advice and we wasn't disappointed at all.
We was warmly welcomed and greeted with a smile and our table was quickly cleared up before we sat down to order.
The prices was very reasonable for the standard of food we recieved. The chicken pies was huge and full to the prim with chicken and a homemade crust on top, we also ordered the steak which was cooked to perfection (medium) as to many places over cook it. Homemade chips was served not frozen like other places.
I could go on for ever, but in my opinion if you want excellent home cooked food stop here!!! :)

Helpful?
Thank davo8699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    26
    17
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“best pub in matlock bath”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

cool landlord! good beer! excellent food! this is the best most welcoming pub in matlock bath! cheap pool table!the pub dog had a better knowledge of of pool than us!ime sure she kept shaking her head after every shot i took!lol

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ash F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I remembered this excellent pub from quite a few years ago and eagerly returned upon my recommendation with my wife and two friends on our way back from Manchester at about 5pm on a thursday night..

Upon entering I could tell that this place has slipped.. IN A BIG WAY!!

Where do I start??

Firstly it was empty with no atmosphere.. Not even music! The carpet was dirty, the furnishings are falling apart, many light bulbs are out, you can tell they just don't care..

The second thing was the fact that the landlord was more interested in reading his paper at the far end of the bar than serving us! No joke, we waited 3-4 minutes in a empty pub while he read his paper..

We nearly walked out then but thought we'd give it the benefit of the doubt as I'd had such a good meal and fun with the locals the last time I was in..

We ordered our drinks at £3.60 per pint of larger.. Seemed a bit steep? Sat down at a table, and looked at the menu.

Nothing special, pies, sausages, chips and peas, that kind of thing.

My wife decided she didn't want to eat there but told us to go ahead. We ordered. 3 pies, veg and gravy.

While we waited for our meal we had a few games of pool. The pool table is ok but has seen better days.

The biggest thing though is the smell of RAW SEWAGE!!! around the pool table and toilets. The smell just gets worse and worse the nearer the toilet door you get!

Do these people not clean?? It would appear not!

Then to top it off.. The landlord's wife came into the bar with a dog.. A little terrier.. The landlord then comes out from the kitchen and starts petting the dog letting it lick his hands and jumping at his chefs uniform!!! He then goes back into the kitchen and brings out our meals straight out!! I hope he washed his hands, albeit very quickly??

The food was like you'd remember your school dinner! Overcooked microwaved vegetables, a pie with little in it and gravy from granules! Yuck!!

We finished our drinks and couldn't get out there fast enough!!

This pub used to be thriving, but bad management has clearly killed this pub!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bob b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

First impression is the pub is a bit tired and dated but we got a very friendly reception in the bar. On ordering our drinks we decided to try the food, this turned out to be good pub grub. If thats what you like its not a bad place to visit. We did decide to pop in for a drink another evening when passing because of the friendly staff.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kaff_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Good But A Bit Tired”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We called in here for some food and were not disappointed. The decor is a bit dated and makes me think it is a biker's pub but the service, food and beer were first class.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kaffnkeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed County & Station also viewed

Matlock Bath, Matlock
 
Matlock Bath, Matlock
 

Been to County & Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing