We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”

The Victorian Teashop
Ranked #25 of 38 Restaurants in Matlock Bath
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This is a lovely tea room that is worth a visit, nice food and drinks, well worth a visit
This is in a nice part of the town and staff friendly

Date of visit: July 2013
Thank lynne037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 75 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

Called in for cream teas that we were all looking forward to. Wish we hadn't bothered. They had had a price increase, crossed all the prices out on the menu and then wrote the new price next to it. All with a 20% increase. The scones that resembled cobs were served with squirty cream from a can. The cups had cracks in them. Limited cake choice and the staff I don't think smiled once. It's expensive for what it is. I don't mind paying extra, if you get the service. Definitely not here.

Date of visit: January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank bluebaylis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We called in here on Sunday 20 October for a cup of tea and a cake. The cake selection was minimal and not much of it was available. There is nothing vintage about this place - it is shabby and tacky and in need of a good clean.

2  Thank DJ1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

FILTHY AND CHEAP.

Food is basic. Definitely not homemade. Never had to have cream out of a can for a cream tea before.

Nasty plastic table cloths.

Not clean. The bathroom is the stuff of nightmares.

Don't waste your money.

Date of visit: March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I took first time UK visitors to these tea rooms yesterday. I order 5 cream teas and was informed by the person behind the counter that there was no 'proper cream' but we could have tinned squirty cream! We were also told the cafe had run out of everything. A notice in the window informed us a limited menu was on offer that day but the notice appears to have been there for some while. I got the impression the business was not running fully. We left and went elsewhere. I would not recommend this place.

Date of visit: June 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank cubley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Victorian Teashop also viewed

 
Matlock Bath, Matlock
Matlock Bath, Matlock
 
Matlock Bath, Matlock
Matlock Bath, Matlock
 

Been to The Victorian Teashop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing