We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt spoilt”
Review of The Temple

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Temple
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I love this hotel. It's nothing fancy, but man is it comfortable and they really look after you. Feels like you're a spoilt child gone home for the weekend!

The views from our room were phenomenal, and the bar needs bigging up a big with the open fire and choice of real ales. Breakfast filled us up without being too heavy and the home made jams were a special touch.

I'm sure they were really busy, but made us feel like the only people there with personal service and recommendations of where to go walking. Plus I LOVED the reminders stuck about the hotel about the clock changes...

Room Tip: Room 12 is the "poster" room for the double and has great views over the hills and the Pav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystaltips2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 198 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

Having spent a couple of nights at this hotel, the first of which we felt was cold and unwelcoming,as unbeknown to us the boiler had been a problem--now fixed. The room we had was a little old fashioned and had a slight musty smell but this was offset by the pleasantness of the staff and an excellent breakfast.
The hotel sign, written on an obelisk was difficult to see, therfore directions/signage could be better.
There is a very well stocked bar with plenty of space, reasonable prices and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Have a look at more than one.Try the front as they are ones with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisTemple, Owner at The Temple, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Our boiler was having it's annual service when you checked in and has not been a problem. If you had let us know that you felt cool in your room we could have provided you with an extra heater.
We always find it quite sad that the first we know of a guests discomfort is when it is posted on trip advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stopped off at Temple Hotel to eat dinner with a relative who stayed in the hotel. I have to say we were not disappointed, the food was really tasty and definitely made to order and the price was very resonable too. Other the the food, the service was good from the friendly staff and my children we're delighted by the table full of board games in the corner which they enjoyed tucking into nearly as much as they're yummy food!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RussLaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisTemple, Owner at The Temple, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you for your great comments we really appreciate this. We feel we must write a comment as we have ceased doing bar food and we are now only doing food for pre booked groups. This has not been an easy descision to make as we know many people have commented on what a nice meal they have had with us. Our chef has now taken early retirement and as we have so many places to eat in and around Matlock Bath we will not be filling his position. We are happy to help any guest find a suitable place to eat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Excellent service, good range of breakfast choices, home-made jam, local ales in the bar, log fires, armchairs with views...

There's no official one way system up to the hotel, but drive in from the south - look out for the obelisk on the corner of the valley road. If you do come that way, there's plenty of parking round the other side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 12 corner views, and wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alerind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Just back from a night's stay and it was lovely. Staff very friendly and helpful. Had dinner at the hotel which was fantastic. Lovely atmosphere, great breakfast, would definitely recommend. Amazing position right above Matlock Bath

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susieb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I booked this stay through Hotels.com and after reading the reviews thought it looked a good option. Before we arrived we were warned about some decoration being carried out on the staircase but that it wouldn't disrupt our stay. On arrival , we arrived 3 hours early to find new carpets being laid and the owner was very apologetic ....it was our fault we were early so took a walk into Matlock. When we arrived back the fitters were still there and again the owner was very apologetic, it didn't matter to us at all... after all you have to do these jobs in the slow Months. We were showed to our room (14) which was absolutely gorgeous, a massive 6ft wide comfy bed clean white linen and a super sitting area with leather settee. The bathroom was amazing with large bottles of fancy toiletries just what I wanted! We ate in the bar and had the prawn and salmon linguine which was tasty and well presented and the next morning we had a super breakfast too. It is obvious that the hotel is undergoing major refurbishments but I wouldn't let it put you off because the bedrooms are gorgeous. I did read some reviews about the toilets in the bar needing work but to be honest my priority would be the sleeping areas anyway which have been done to a very high comfortable standard. This was a surprise for my Husbands Birthday and fitted the bill nicely. On the last night we found some lovely chocolates in our room and a note saying how sorry they were for the carpet fitters running late. I thought this was a lovely touch and this is a nice example of a hard working couple who are obviously putting their heart into their business and caring about their guests. I would definitely come back to this hotel in the future if coming to Derbyshire.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbleK9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We have visited this hotel as part of a group for several years now and are always received in a friendly and helpful manner. The hotel is going through repairs and redecorating but retains its character.

As the reason for coming here is a group meal (or two), we have found the food excellent with service to match. Nothing seems to be too much trouble.

Our room was comfortable and bathroom spacious, with wonderful views across the valley. We expect to be back next year.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greymoon4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock Bath
0.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
358 reviews
0 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
395 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
7.9 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
1 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Temple

Address: Temple Walk | Matlock, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Hotel Class:3 star — The Temple 3*
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing