We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service & good food make up for shabby surroundings”
Review of The Temple

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matlock Bath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Temple
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Leamington Spa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Friendly service & good food make up for shabby surroundings”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our stay at The Temple Hotel was unplanned and booked at the last minute because of a double booking in the self-catering accommodation we had originally arranged. We were greeted with a friendly and warm welcome and shown up to our double room that looked out upon the bustling streets of busy Matlock Bath. The hotel itself is a beautiful building but in great need of some TLC and a lorry load of cash. The interiors were shabby and rundown, in a number of places the carpet was threadbare and wallpaper peeling. Our room was clean; however, our bathroom was small and had a dead moth smeared up the side of the tiles. On both nights we stayed we slept poorly; in the early hours of Sunday morning we were able to hear a full on row right outside of the hotel between guests. We are a couple in our late twenties/early thirties, the only one, it seemed, to stay in the hotel. Unfortunately for us, having wanted to escape to Derbyshire for some rest and relaxation, we got the complete opposite on the Saturday night because of the firework display held down by the river. On returning from dinner in Bonsall, we were unable to find a parking space and were informed by a local that parking inspectors deliberately roam the streets during these nights looking for unsuspecting victims - this frustrated us enormously. The road leading up to the hotel that night was gridlocked - had an emergency vehicle needed to drive up the hill towards the hotel they would have found it impossible. The quality of the food in both the bar and breakfast diner were brilliant - we enjoyed a meal in the bar upon arriving on Friday night and breakfast both mornings. On the whole, the polite service and the food do go some way in making up for the worn interior. But, neither of us could fathom how they can get away with charging £110 a night for rooms of such poor quality.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisTemple, Owner at The Temple, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about our friendly staff and good food. Fireworks in Matlock Bath are both a blessing and a curse for us, but it's the reason the village is so busy. As I discussed with you on checkin, I don't know how you managed to book through an on line travel agent as we do not allow our rooms to be sold in this way for fireworks weekends.
Because things are very differnent here at this time we need more interaction with our guests so that we can give them full information as to what happens regarding parking, food, crowds and traffic information. As your booking came through an on line travel agent on the morning of you checking in, and even then was booked by a third party I had no way to communicate any of this information to you.
We were also woken up by drunken guests in the middle of the night and we did go down and sort them out as soon as we were aware of the problem. If we had been informed of this at the start of the row we would have dealt with it sooner. Unfortunatly We can not be held responsible for other guests actions we can only try to limit the inconveniece to other guests.
We are trying to refurbish the hotel as best we can but this will be a long process. We are informing guests of our on going work and information about this is clearly stated on our website. When looking at pricing please bear in mind 20% VAT and upto 20% commision charges, what's left doesn't leave us with the lorry load of cash that we need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    70
    27
    6
    1
See reviews for
14
111
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hotel is an old hotel built in the 1760's, the history of the hotel is fascinating. Princess Victoria stayed at this hotel and commented on the lights flickering in the river and from this comment apparently the Matlock Baths illuminations years later were born.

The hotel is old and showing its age, BUT, Chris the owner has commenced a very long refurbishment program which is still on going. The landings on the floors are gorgeous with lots of room and character. As with all old hotels the floor board creak, but that adds to the lovely atmosphere of the hotel.

The room we stayed in was very spacious and had fabulous views across the Derwent Valley and river. The bedroom was described as a king size room but the bed was huge and the most comfortable hotel bed I think we have ever stayed in. Due to the position of the hotel up high above Matlock Bath, there is very little noise, even on a busy weekend.

The food was excellent. We stayed for the Fireworks weekend and had a 3 course meal overlooking the river, which has to be one of the nicest meals we have had in a hotel.

On the second night we had a meal down in the bar which was also very very good.

All the food is home cooked. The homemade jams were gorgeous. Even the biscuits which were left in the rooms were hand made. The breakfast was just as nice, even the bread was home made.

Chris was charming and seemed to be everywhere all through the day, he was extremely pleasant and always smiling. He had a passion for the place and he was extremely competent in dealing with customers.

We can thoroughly recommend this hotel. It is an old lady, sometimes showing her age, but has a character and atmosphere that you do not get in big fancy hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a valley view room, the scenery is spectacular and magical at night with the lights flickeri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife and I booked for the Matlock Bath Fireworks Weekend and were not disappointed. Our package included two nights bed and breakfast and evening meal.

The hotel is undergoing a re-furbishment but this did not detract from the comfortable and tastefully furnished surroundings. Our room was clean and spacious with great views over the river.

The hotel bar offered a great range of real ale and an even greater range of whiskies which would not be out of place in any Scottish Highland pub. The breakfast menu caters for all tastes and the full english breakfast is recommended! Our evening meal was served in the hotel's panoramic dinning room which offered great views over the town. Our meal was excellent with generous portions.

Overall, we had a great stay in the Temple Hotel. The staff are extremely friendly and efficient and nothing was too much trouble to help ensure our stay was memorable. I warmly recommend this small, delightful hotel to you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom_Tait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We viited for one of the hotels special firework weekends at the beginning of October 2013. Although there is no formal reception, a member of staff came quickly in response to the bell and we were expected and shown to our room quickly. The location is ideal being only 3 minutes walk/climb from the main street, but quiet enough for a good nights sleep. The dinner on Saturday night was very good - plenty of good home cooked food and a great vantage point for the fireworks. The hotel bar had a good selection of cask ales and plenty of atmosphere. Breakfast was excellent with a choice of hot dishes in addition to the usual cereals. I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, and i look foreward to visiting again.

Room Tip: The extra charge for a valley view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east of hull
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Just a quick review after a 2 night stay at the temple ...
The owner/ manager and the staff were very polite and helpful , good selection of ale in the bar and the food was excellent ( and not expensive) .
The only let down was the room @ £115 per night .
It was tired and in poor scruffy decor . sagging mattress and black mould on the bathroom tiles ...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snipperuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisTemple, Owner at The Temple, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your review and kind comments about the staff at the Temple Hotel. We all work very hard to ensure our guests have a pleasant stay. We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the price paid for your room but this bedroom is now under going refurbishment which was started on 23rd September. We have to admit that we were aware of some issues with this room which will be dealt with during this refurbishment.
We should never have black mould on the tile grout and I had this seen to as soon as you brought it to my attention on your departure. I do not get to go in every room every day but I shall tighten up on this aspect of the cleaning schedule.
We do have a tremendous amount of work going on at the moment to try and improve the overall stay for our guests and we are very grateful for your patience and understanding whilst this is happening.
As all our rooms are individual and all offer different views, bigger bathrooms or seating areas so its always worth calling us to see which room would suit your needs best. Online booking is a wonderful tool but I find it doesnt always give enough information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed there for 6 nights, using the hotel as a base to tour around the Peak District.
The hotel is in a quiet location with great views over the Derwent valley. The hotel itself is old (which was great, as it has loads of character) but in need of a bit of TLC. The owners Chris and Mel (who are extremely friendly and helpful) are definitely working on this and I'd love to go back in a couple of years to see the improvements!
The breakfasts are delicious and all freshly cooked and the food in the bar is excellent - couldn't fault it.
A great stay - thank you!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The hotel benifits from having a great team working for them. The breakfasts, especially the black pudding and home made jams and marmalades would take some beating. The bedrooms are comfortable although the bathroom is a little dated. The hotel is obviously in the process of being up dated althougth this did not in any affect our stay. A suggestion would be that the bar is in need of serious up dating as it is very 70's, however this should not detract from the great value for money and well cooked food that the Temple Hotel offers. We would revisit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherilyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock Bath
0.5 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
8.0 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
6.1 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Temple

Property: The Temple
Address: Temple Walk | Matlock, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Hotel Class:3 star — The Temple 3*
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing