We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT YOUR ORDINARY CHAIN HOTEL”
Review of The Temple

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matlock Bath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Temple
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hotel is an old hotel built in the 1760's, the history of the hotel is fascinating. Princess Victoria stayed at this hotel and commented on the lights flickering in the river and from this comment apparently the Matlock Baths illuminations years later were born.

The hotel is old and showing its age, BUT, Chris the owner has commenced a very long refurbishment program which is still on going. The landings on the floors are gorgeous with lots of room and character. As with all old hotels the floor board creak, but that adds to the lovely atmosphere of the hotel.

The room we stayed in was very spacious and had fabulous views across the Derwent Valley and river. The bedroom was described as a king size room but the bed was huge and the most comfortable hotel bed I think we have ever stayed in. Due to the position of the hotel up high above Matlock Bath, there is very little noise, even on a busy weekend.

The food was excellent. We stayed for the Fireworks weekend and had a 3 course meal overlooking the river, which has to be one of the nicest meals we have had in a hotel.

On the second night we had a meal down in the bar which was also very very good.

All the food is home cooked. The homemade jams were gorgeous. Even the biscuits which were left in the rooms were hand made. The breakfast was just as nice, even the bread was home made.

Chris was charming and seemed to be everywhere all through the day, he was extremely pleasant and always smiling. He had a passion for the place and he was extremely competent in dealing with customers.

We can thoroughly recommend this hotel. It is an old lady, sometimes showing her age, but has a character and atmosphere that you do not get in big fancy hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a valley view room, the scenery is spectacular and magical at night with the lights flickeri...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouiseB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
There are newer reviews for The Temple
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 198 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife and I booked for the Matlock Bath Fireworks Weekend and were not disappointed. Our package included two nights bed and breakfast and evening meal.

The hotel is undergoing a re-furbishment but this did not detract from the comfortable and tastefully furnished surroundings. Our room was clean and spacious with great views over the river.

The hotel bar offered a great range of real ale and an even greater range of whiskies which would not be out of place in any Scottish Highland pub. The breakfast menu caters for all tastes and the full english breakfast is recommended! Our evening meal was served in the hotel's panoramic dinning room which offered great views over the town. Our meal was excellent with generous portions.

Overall, we had a great stay in the Temple Hotel. The staff are extremely friendly and efficient and nothing was too much trouble to help ensure our stay was memorable. I warmly recommend this small, delightful hotel to you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom_Tait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We viited for one of the hotels special firework weekends at the beginning of October 2013. Although there is no formal reception, a member of staff came quickly in response to the bell and we were expected and shown to our room quickly. The location is ideal being only 3 minutes walk/climb from the main street, but quiet enough for a good nights sleep. The dinner on Saturday night was very good - plenty of good home cooked food and a great vantage point for the fireworks. The hotel bar had a good selection of cask ales and plenty of atmosphere. Breakfast was excellent with a choice of hot dishes in addition to the usual cereals. I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, and i look foreward to visiting again.

Room Tip: The extra charge for a valley view is worth it.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Just a quick review after a 2 night stay at the temple ...
The owner/ manager and the staff were very polite and helpful , good selection of ale in the bar and the food was excellent ( and not expensive) .
The only let down was the room @ £115 per night .
It was tired and in poor scruffy decor . sagging mattress and black mould on the bathroom tiles ...

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snipperuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisTemple, Owner at The Temple, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for your review and kind comments about the staff at the Temple Hotel. We all work very hard to ensure our guests have a pleasant stay. We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the price paid for your room but this bedroom is now under going refurbishment which was started on 23rd September. We have to admit that we were aware of some issues with this room which will be dealt with during this refurbishment.
We should never have black mould on the tile grout and I had this seen to as soon as you brought it to my attention on your departure. I do not get to go in every room every day but I shall tighten up on this aspect of the cleaning schedule.
We do have a tremendous amount of work going on at the moment to try and improve the overall stay for our guests and we are very grateful for your patience and understanding whilst this is happening.
As all our rooms are individual and all offer different views, bigger bathrooms or seating areas so its always worth calling us to see which room would suit your needs best. Online booking is a wonderful tool but I find it doesnt always give enough information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed there for 6 nights, using the hotel as a base to tour around the Peak District.
The hotel is in a quiet location with great views over the Derwent valley. The hotel itself is old (which was great, as it has loads of character) but in need of a bit of TLC. The owners Chris and Mel (who are extremely friendly and helpful) are definitely working on this and I'd love to go back in a couple of years to see the improvements!
The breakfasts are delicious and all freshly cooked and the food in the bar is excellent - couldn't fault it.
A great stay - thank you!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The hotel benifits from having a great team working for them. The breakfasts, especially the black pudding and home made jams and marmalades would take some beating. The bedrooms are comfortable although the bathroom is a little dated. The hotel is obviously in the process of being up dated althougth this did not in any affect our stay. A suggestion would be that the bar is in need of serious up dating as it is very 70's, however this should not detract from the great value for money and well cooked food that the Temple Hotel offers. We would revisit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cherilyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just returned from six days at The Temple Hotel.Very friendly and helpful staff.Great breakfasts and excellent freshly cooked bar meals in the evening.Would definately return again.Once the guest's longe is up and running it will be even better.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan d b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock Bath
0.5 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
378 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
8.0 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
394 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Temple

Address: Temple Walk | Matlock, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Hotel Class:3 star — The Temple 3*
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing