We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Real Ale”
Review of The Temple

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matlock Bath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Temple
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good Real Ale”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Good real ale pub, the Blue Money P G Sips is really good and friendly bar staff. Lovely real fire but lacks atmosphere, very dated furniture and furnishings. Hotel seemed very quite and in need of updating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lainey394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    72
    28
    6
    1
See reviews for
15
114
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Batley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Chris and Melanie will always make your stay at the Temple a warm one. This was our third visit and will not be our last. We stayed in Room 8, recently refurbished. It was clean, spacious with a lovely king size bed. Wonderful spreads and curtains! Breakfasts at the Temple are wonderful with a wide choice. Do try the home made jams and take some home with you. They are on sale in reception. Chris and Melanie are in the middle of a refurbishment programme and this is ongoing but it in no way spoils the friendly and welcoming atmosphere which is shared by all the staff. An excellent choice of real ales and a very wide range of whiskeys are always available in the bar. Looking forward to our next visit in March.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisMags741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

A party of 15 of us journeyed from various parts of the UK for our annual post Christmas walking weekend on the snowiest days of the year so far.

It is no exaggeration to say that I have driven through Matlock Bath hundreds of times and I never knew the hotel was here. The hotel is in a great location above the valley and the owners and staff could not have been more welcoming. The coal fires in the bar and dining room were particularly appreciated. We had warm rooms, although a couple of rooms were a bit cool first thing on Friday afternoon. The décor in the rooms is traditional.

Everyone’s taste in beds is different (too soft/hard, too small/big), so I always recommend hotels by the quality of the meals and cooked breakfast, this was top notch. We ate ensemble in the dining room on Saturday evening and had a wonderful meal. A couple of our party said that this was the best hotel we had stayed in for many years and I would not disagree.

I also recommend the bar, which came as something of a surprise with its real ale selection and whisky menu. It is worth a climb up the hill from the main centre.

The hotel is an old building which continues to undergo renovation but this did not adversely affect our stay. The owners worked hard to ensure that we were all happy.

Overall this is an individual hotel with some history and its own character which we all liked.

Room Tip: Choose a valley view room if possible. Also note that at the moment this is not a hotel for those wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8100bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed in the Temple hotel in Matlock Bath for 2 nights in May 2012 for min-break for sight seeing and a bit of walking. Weather was very poor first day, drizzly rain all day, but next day was dry. Good traditional hotel which was being modernised, nice double room, mine overlooked Heights of Abraham. Rooms have flat screen Tvs with some freeview channels, friendly staff, restaurant bar serves evening meals and selection of real ales, seemed popular, but we ate in Matlock town both nights so didn’t try it. The hotel serves a generous full English breakfast to fill you up for the day! Hotel is up a hill from the main road and if you turn left outside hotel and proceed up some brick steps you arrive at the pedestrian entrance for the Heights of Abraham attraction, if you don’t’ want to use the cable cars to get to the top. There is a ticket office but it looks like it is always closed, you just press a button and this opens the entrance gates, not sure if you could enter free to the attraction here and then pay your charges for the mine tours of £6 once inside and to use cable car to go back down its £9, so the £13.90 entrance fee you pay to use the cable car both ways and includes the mine tour seems best value. Spectacular views of surrounding areas from top of Heights, especially from the tower. Great fun using the cable car, although didn’t exactly enjoy cable car stopping for a few minutes halfway up as ours did, suddenly felt a bit vulnerable, but we’re not lovers of heights. The Main entrance to Heights cable car is 100 yards from Matlock Bath station, just a short walk from hotel crossing the A6 main road, leave your car at hotel as have to pay to use car park near attraction. Matlock Bath is very picturesque with views dominated by the Tor and the Heights, I was surprised to see quiet a few fish and chip shops and ice cream bars, but most closed during our out of season visit, must be incredibly busy in school holidays, have heard place is known as the Blackpool of peak district but this is a huge exaggeration in my book, nickname is probably due to illuminations they hold in September, which would be good time to visit.

Matlock is a good 25-30 minute walk from Matlock Bath, Ate both nights in the Crown Inn in Matlock which is a Wetherspoons so usual great value for food and drinks, also good atmosphere, more upmarket than some I’ve used! There are plenty of places to eat here, upmarket Italian restaurants and bistro type places if that’s more your thing, just across the road is a pub which shows the sky football matches, however, the night we went in to watch a match it did seem as if the locals had been drinking for most of the day making it a very lively place! The bus stop to return home is almost outside the Crown Inn next to the Co-op so if you’ve had enough of walking as we had, the 6.1 sixes bus will take you back to Matlock Bath, get off at the Mining museum stop, costs £1.70.

Arrived by car, but just left it in car park, got about on buses, visited Bakewell by bus, cost £3.10 single on Trans peak services, 2 buses an hour during the day, but there is a huge gap between return buses after 6pm, you then have a 2-3 hour wait for the later ones. Bakewell is very pretty town, but very olde England touristy, lots of coaches visiting.

I recommend Walk no 6 on Matlock walks guide, on page 14, you can download it beforehand or buy guide for £1 in tourist info shop, about 4 miles circular but due to hilly start seems much longer!. Starts next to hill entrance to Heights of Abraham as mentioned earlier and takes you to Bonsall village past a quarry and then on to Cromford. The guide states start of walk is strenuous, they are not kidding!, might be down to our ages but we found uphill stage of walk pretty hard going through a woods area, although there are steps, but once at top and pass the farm its all downhill after that, well almost!, very good walk, really enjoyed it,. Walked back via the A6 road, didn’t follow guide this time, it takes you past the Mill museum which is now a shopping outlet, with a Costa Coffee, with river Derwent as backdrop, great views or river. All in all, would definitely return to hotel and the area, 3 days is not enough time to see everything the area has to offer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lagooner008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Currently being refurbished, so OK the first view may not be that inviting but the welcome is really warm and friendly. The beds were comfy and the food tasty. The Landlord keeps a good pint and there was an interesting range of beers in a clean, friendly bar.

We requested an early breakfast tray but this was accidentally delivered to the wrong room, so at 6.00am we left feeling hungry but when the Hotel realised the error later that day they rang to apologise and sent us muffins in the post to make up for it, a really lovely gesture.

A friendly place in a wonderful part of the world. Well worth a second visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RisboroughPrince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisTemple, Owner at The Temple, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
I'm glad you received your Muffins and once again I apologise that you didn't receive your breakfast tray, once I realized what I had done I felt awful as I knew you had a long walk in front of you.Thank you for accepting my apology and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Well done for completing the walk for the British Heart Foundation I am in no doubt that your contribution will be put to good use.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Booked this hotel for two rooms and four adults in July 2012 purely on the good comments on trip advisor . A bad mistake. On arrival about 4.00pm had to drag our bags up a flight of steps to reception on a landing. Not easy. Instantly we all new this was not the sort of place to suit us.
The reception area was poor and even had bad painting over rotten woodwork . Walls that had wallpaper stuck badly over what looked liked water damage had been a problem. The receptionist (the only person there that we saw) was very kind and polite and showed us to our rooms. They were awful , being drab ,antiquated and small. The bathrooms were poor with a notice on one saying lift lever high in order to flush, basin with a crack and a hole in it . A bath panel in painted hardboard that had been nailed badly and smaller than required with a 2" gap below it. No space to sit down and relax. Poor TV. Had a look around the hotel and found it in need of refurbishment .Horrible smell of cooking which we were told was because the kitchen fan was not working and consequently no dining that night. The restaurant looked basic and uninviting. Nowhere to sit and relax . No lounge. A bar that was closed- looked more like a pub and it opened at night like a pub.So there we all were with nothing to do and couldn't have a drink or find a place to read and not looking forward to the stay and wondering why this was called a "hotel".
The price of the room was £110 each, so very poor value for money and we all decided we would not stay. We had stayed at The Rudding Park hotel in Harrogate for three nights and that cost £149 a night for a hotel rated number 3 by trip advisor in the country and with every facility in wonderful surroundings that one could wish for. No comparison! The receptionist did refund our booking money, so top marks for that and we left having to drive all the way home to Surrey as it was too late to organise another hotel
I have read reviews on this hotel and when someone complains the owner seems to think that saying it will be rectified in the future when funds are there is acceptable . It is not when people are paying a great deal of money for poor services and facilities that are not present.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrotbandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisTemple, Owner at The Temple, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We can not understand why yet again we have another review from someone who hasn't actually stayed with us. The point of Trip TripAdvisor is so that guests can put an HONEST opinion of places they have stayed. As you didn't stay with us this is probably the reason why you cant understand why we have such good reviews.
You say that the lady that checked you in was very kind and polite and on this point I couldn't agree with you more. Unfortunately after you left it took me an hour to stop her tears and I had to send her home early as she couldn't face doing her job for the rest of her shift. Sometimes in the hotel industry a full refund is no bad thing!
We check our website on a regular basis to make sure that we are not misleading customers in any way and everything seems in order. We not have, and never have had, a residents lounge but this is something we would like to offer in the future and we do not have a designated restaurant. What we do have is a lounge bar which serves freshly cooked and locally sourced food along with excellent quality real ales and an array of single malts along with the usual offering of a bar, including quirky locals.
We will put some pictures on our website and Facebook of our on-going refurbishment which some readers may find interesting.
We do love living here and having guests stay with us which we hope is evident from the amount of genuine reviews from real guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

As repeat visitors you get used to the place nothing disappointed us will be back next year, great breakfast and great whiskey menu nice attention to detail pity they couldn't do anything about the fog that obscured my lovely view

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Numpty23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock Bath
0.5 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
363 reviews
8.0 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
346 reviews
6.1 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
733 reviews
0.6 mi away
High Tor Hotel
High Tor Hotel
#3 of 7 in Matlock Bath
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Temple

Property: The Temple
Address: Temple Walk | Matlock, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Hotel Class:3 star — The Temple 3*
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing