We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and will definately return”
Review of The Temple

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matlock Bath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Temple
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Went for a long weekend all the staff were most helpful and made us feel very welcome. were full of information about the local area and what to do.
The room was large, clean and comfertable.
The bed was so large had to phone my wife she was so far away.
food in the restaurant was extremely tasty, Only criticism would be that there is a lack of atmosphere when eating in the bar.
i would certainly reccomend this hotel for couples who want a quiet peaceful time.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob_Sylv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
There are newer reviews for The Temple
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 198 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2011

We found this hotel to be friendly, welcoming, clean and functional. Our room had fantastic views and was well situated to get the best from our visit. The breakfast was superb and one of the best we have had on our travels. The menu was extensive and was expertly cooked. We had the full English which was superb!
The only slight niggle was that our room was advertised with WI-FI but this was not the case as the signal only reaches certain rooms. This should be addressed in the room description as it would make the room we stayed in totally unsuitable for anyone such as business travellers. But for our trip it was very good value.

Room Tip: Don't book room 12 if you want WI-FI!
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank severnside62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

A late decision to stay in Matlock Bath over Easter had us wondering if we would be able to get a room at such short notice. We were fortunate in that the Temple Hotel could accommodate us. A little concerned at first that we were booked into a small double room but we need not have worried as it was a very comfortable good sized room. Being away from the main road we had 2 good nights sleep . Breakfast is good and substantial and there is plenty of parking. Chris and Mel are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is at the top of a steep hill but we found it easier to go the long way round past the entrance to Gulliver's Kingdom. A very enjoyable stay and the weather made it all the more special.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meandmybloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Matlock Bath offers easy access to many of the most popular attractions of the Peak District, and the Hotel is conveniently located there, off the main road and with fabulous views of the Derwent river valley. It is comfortable and welcoming, and provides an ideal base to explore the area. Breakfast is substantial, and although we did not have an evening meal in the hotel on this visit, we have seen the menu for our next visit in a few months time and it sounds lovely. The proprietor makes homemade preserves from homegrown produce which are served at breakfast, and these demonstrate her excellent culinary skills as did her breakfasts! There is also a well stocked bar with several guest beers on offer. Prices are fair, beds are comfortable with white cotton linen, and the towels are soft and fluffy! Altogether made for a lovely weekend!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Covkid32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Matlock bath lies in a steep sided valley, with the road at its base, next to the river. Boy, is that road busy! It's a biker's heaven, blessed with nine fish and chip shops in a few hundred yards, plus one Italian and an Indian.

The Temple Hotel is located up a steep-ish road, a little way up the side of the valley and has a good size car park. You get fantastic views of the valley and no traffic noise. You can either take the road or the footpath (like the 'Hovis' hill but steeper) down to the main drag.

The hotel looks a bit tired from the outside, but don't be put off. Inside, the rooms are clean and comfortable, and the bar is welcoming. The owners are working their way round the building and improving it, starting with the bits that matter to guests.

The evening meals are very good quality, locally sourced and fantastic value for money. A good range of well-kept beer is on offer. Breakfast is equally good, and served in a room with superb views. The windows could do with a clean though...

Overall, I thought it was a good value hotel for a weekend break and I would certainly return.

Room Tip: Ask for a valley view room
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidalocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

Stayed 2 nights,single occupancy in double room.v.good beds,excellent hearty breakfast
lovely relaxing bar.Had one evening meal,too much cream used,if you like modern
light food be carefull.A quiet hotelset backup a hill,with views at front.More of quest house
than hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernard5631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

I'm still so very tired after staying in this nice hotel.
Price
It was £35 per person per night inclusive of breakfast for me and a friend ina twin room.

The twin room - Room 1
Nice enough, homely, 1994-style-in-your-kid's-bedroom TV. Bathroom was large, no windows, and had a very strong "hospital" feel about it. Good shower and shower gel/shampoo (no conditioner if you're a girl/boy who uses conditioner)
View of car park - upper ground/first floor.

Breakfast
Nice enough full English. Some cereals and tinned fruit. Breakfast room felt like an OAP's retirement home. But clean and without the smell of disinfectant fortunately.

Staff
Awkwardly friendly (did they think we were g@y??), but helpful.

Sleep
I was woken up at 7am by someone having a bath - lots of squeecking as a result of movement in bath I assume. Felt like they were in the same room. Also as this room is near the reception desk could hear loud conversations with guests/staff from around the same time until I got up, fed up of not being able to get back to sleep.
Room was pretty hot and stuffy too - an open window didn't really improve things - so sleep was very disturbed added with early moening wake up bath!

Value for money
For the price it was fine - just the sleep issue has made me feel a bit negative. If you visit don't stay on the first/upper ground floor!
Free wifi was excellent though!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 129,484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock Bath
0.5 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
379 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
8.0 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
394 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Temple

Address: Temple Walk | Matlock, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Hotel Class:3 star — The Temple 3*
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing