We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting family run accommodation”
Review of The Temple

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Temple
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Certificate of Excellence
wigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Interesting family run accommodation”
Reviewed April 12, 2011

Stayed 2 nights,single occupancy in double room.v.good beds,excellent hearty breakfast
lovely relaxing bar.Had one evening meal,too much cream used,if you like modern
light food be carefull.A quiet hotelset backup a hill,with views at front.More of quest house
than hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernard5631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    73
    28
    6
    1
See reviews for
16
114
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London EC3
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

I'm still so very tired after staying in this nice hotel.
Price
It was £35 per person per night inclusive of breakfast for me and a friend ina twin room.

The twin room - Room 1
Nice enough, homely, 1994-style-in-your-kid's-bedroom TV. Bathroom was large, no windows, and had a very strong "hospital" feel about it. Good shower and shower gel/shampoo (no conditioner if you're a girl/boy who uses conditioner)
View of car park - upper ground/first floor.

Breakfast
Nice enough full English. Some cereals and tinned fruit. Breakfast room felt like an OAP's retirement home. But clean and without the smell of disinfectant fortunately.

Staff
Awkwardly friendly (did they think we were g@y??), but helpful.

Sleep
I was woken up at 7am by someone having a bath - lots of squeecking as a result of movement in bath I assume. Felt like they were in the same room. Also as this room is near the reception desk could hear loud conversations with guests/staff from around the same time until I got up, fed up of not being able to get back to sleep.
Room was pretty hot and stuffy too - an open window didn't really improve things - so sleep was very disturbed added with early moening wake up bath!

Value for money
For the price it was fine - just the sleep issue has made me feel a bit negative. If you visit don't stay on the first/upper ground floor!
Free wifi was excellent though!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 129484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Great location on the hilltop. Our room had a wonderful view over the valley. The owner was very friendly and went out of his way to make our stay an enjoyable one. The bar in the hotel is well worth using with it's cosy fire and a wide selection of hand pulled beers. The bed was comfy and the room clean. Overall an enjoyable nights stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We stayed at the Temple for a quiet weekend walking getaway, and with affordable prices and lovely location away from the main road it seemed to suit our needs. And it did even more so. The staff are exceptional, at time of writing Melanie and Chris are managers, and Melanie is an absolutely fantastic chef. Our breakfast and night time meals were worth every penny, and while the fare might be classed as 'gastro pub' the presentation and quality of food and cooking exceeded all expectations. The hotel prides itself on knowledge of Real Ale, and Chris is not the only one of the staff who is an expert. Our barman on both nights, Keith, was chatty and familiar and knew his beers superbly, and his service was friendly and second to none. On checking in we were met be Rachael, whose email communication and phone manner on booking and on arrival were one of the main reasons we chose the Temple over the more 'upmarket' New Bath Hotel in the town. Our room had a wonderful view, and had all the amenities needed for a weekend getaway, and the bed (king size) was soft and very hard to get out of in the mornings! The hotel is undergoing refurbishments at present, but on first glance you wouldn't notice, apart from toilet areas being moved about, Melanie and Chris have been able to keep the hotel clean and presentable - particularly the bar area which has a lovely open fire and very open and pleasant surrounds with games and books available. The hotel is away from the main road as said, so walking up to it can be quite a trek, up 'cardiac hill' as Chris put it, but the reward of the climb is a well pulled pint and a very personable atmosphere. There is plenty of parking space available around the hotel though if needed. The Temple comes highly recommended, as a comfortable and easy going hotel run with care and passion by all its staff. And the home baked bread and home made jams are to die for! Well done to Melanie and Chris and all at the Temple, we'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt_Goodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2011

hi
stayed 1 night on business hotel was very quiet room was really nice good size bed nice views of the area i think it will have better atmosphere in the summer and autumn watching the fireworks
nicely stocked bar good real ales and differant whiskeys
owner is the hotel /working in the bar/serving breakfast /and was very helpful sorting out the internet connection for me
another good hard working independant hotel which deserves to succeed
straw bear

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strawbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

A typical older English hotel with sash windows, creaking floors etc. Some mod-cons missing but also had some character. Location is halway up a hillside in a popular Summer tourist area. The view from the front of the hotel and some bedrooms is very nice.
The bar area is like a pub, with log fire and an emphasis on real ales as it has won CAMRA awards.
I paid extra for a larger room . It was cosy enough with a comfy bed ,but still not that large, so glad I did not go for the smaller rooms . Even taking into account the age of the hotel and the price the bathroom was many years past its best with a very weak shower and flooring peeling away .
On the night I stayed there was no food ( which to be fair I knew when I booked ) and in the Summer this would not have been a big problem. However on a wet, cold January night with 90% of the towns eating places closed, then......
Overall value for money was about right .

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albermarle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

Booked last minute didn't realise it was last night of the fireworks ( Matlock hotels very busy). We had probably the smallest room in the hotel but when I booked it I was told this, and that it was the last available room but did have a double bed in it. We found the room to be fine for our two night stay.,no complaints bed was very comfy, bathroom had everything in it. white fluffy towels etc.. We went bed and breakfast with a dinner on firework night. Breakfasts were lovely loads to eat and cooked to perfection. The evening meal was superb and service was brilliant. We liked everything about the Temple Hotel and will definitely go back but will book earlier and get a bigger room at the front although if it had to be the same room again I would still go.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock Bath
0.5 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
290 reviews
5.1 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
8.0 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
361 reviews
6.1 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
773 reviews
7.8 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Temple

Property: The Temple
Address: Temple Walk | Matlock, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Hotel Class:3 star — The Temple 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Temple reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing