We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food, Friendly Staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 800 BC Coffee House - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
800 BC Coffee House
Cuisines: Cafe, British
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating
Gtr Manchester
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Food, Friendly Staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Found 800 BC Coffee House on our visit visit to Matlock Bath a few years ago.
The staff are always friendly and pleasant, always take the time to chat with you.
Food is excellent with good coffee - which isn't always easy to find. Plenty of choice on the menu and all food is prepared as you order - so always fresh. Never found anything to complain about at 800 BC and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TakeItEasy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    11
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food and very friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Had a large breakfast it was very nice and good quality ! Large was the word I was stuffed and didn't even finish it!!
My girlfriend had a doorstep sandwich which was huge too and she enjoyed every bite!
Friendly staff and a nice place all round

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bellrodnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely little coffee/cafe.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Went with my partner and I had the doorstep BLT. Lovely sandwich with an lovely fresh salad and a cup of cappuccino. By the end of the meal I was so full up so great value for money and good service. Would recommend the doorstep sandwiches.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Betheplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Fantastic Pork Sandwich!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Popped in here on my way through Matlock at lunchtime and did not wish to eat in one of the NINE fish and chip shops, and came to 800 BC.

The pork Sandwich was without doubt one of the best I have had, the 'Doorstop' classification was spot on, lovely soft fresh white bread (could of had granary) plenty of luscious pork, stuffing and apple sauce, served with a side salad.

An Americano coffee, lovely large cup and all for £6.00

Superb.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent meals nice friendly people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We have tried several places to eat in Matlock Bath, and always return every time to the Lovely Food, well presented and cooked, always fresh, and the owners are lovely, welcoming and friendly, very reasonably priced, and good with childrens food! Long May they always reign!!! would be a sad day if they didn,t so come on folk give it a try "you will not be dissapointed"

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jon2von
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 800 BC Coffee House also viewed

Matlock Bath, Matlock
 
Matlock Bath, Matlock
 
Matlock Bath, Matlock
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing