We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely appointed hotel at less than 5 minutes from the Bains.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Romantik Hotel l'Etoile
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Charmey
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
267 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Nicely appointed hotel at less than 5 minutes from the Bains.”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We were looking for an hotel to spend the night after going to the Bains de Charmay. After a disappointing attempt at a booking in a larger hotel, I was very happy to discover this small gem.
It is a family run hotel with very nice wood-lined rooms and very modern bathrooms.
The cheese fondue was outstanding, as one would expect in Gruyère, and the breakfast just perfect.
Look for their packages including entrance to the Bains, dinner and breakfast, you will not be disappointed.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank GLS-ALS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    34
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
16
43
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed at Hotel de l’Etoile for 5 nights. The hotel is situated in Charmey town centre, right in the middle of Gruyeres, Broc and Jaun, which was where we wanted to explore. Didn’t want to stay in Gruyeres town itself as it was too touristy. We chose this hotel as it was part of the La Gruyere Passport offer which gives you one price that also includes the hotel stay (depending on the number of nights you stay), a fondue night, and vouchers for various museums, Gruyeres Castle, the chocolate and cheese factory, etc.

We emailed the hotel and booked a room, telling them that we would like to use the Passport offer. They replied and confirmed our room and price. When we arrived at the hotel, we had to go to the bar on the lower level to get our room key. There is no checking in/out desk. It was a bit of a confusion as a lot of the staff didn’t speak good English, but we got there eventually. The hotel is run by a lovely couple. The husband is the chef and the wife can converse in English quite well.

Our room was big, although it was a bit dated. It did seem like they were doing a bit of renovation to the other rooms while we were there. Anyway, we thought it was quite charming with all the wood around the room. The bathroom was a good size and clean. The only thing I would have to say is that the WiFi in the room was not very good. Seems to come and go. If you want to get a good connection, the best area is on the first floor where you have your breakfast/dinner.

The breakfast is pretty good with the standard hot chocolate and coffee. There are cheese, cold meats, fresh bread and croissants. As for lunch and dinner, the food in this hotel is exceptional! Every dish we ordered has been fantastic, even the Thai dish, which I was initially sceptical about, but I was proven wrong. We enjoyed the food so much that we ended up eating in the hotel for all 5 nights we were there. The meringue with cream and ice cream is to die for! Towards the end of the night, the chef would come over to every table and have a little chat, which we thought was a nice touch.

We paid for our room the night before as we had to leave fairly early the next morning. As there wasn’t many people around when it was time to leave, we just left our room key by the bar. All in all, we had a lovely time in this family run hotel and if we should ever come back to this area, we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank San072526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombier, Switzerland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I already made a previous review on the restaurant where we ate in Feb 2012. Due to our good culinary experience, we decided to come back and stay here for 2 nights instread of Hotel Cailler. Although the rooms are well-appointed, they all are on the road side and even with the windows closed, there is a lot of traffic noise especially in the early morning so not a place to recommend if you looking for a long peaceful night's sleep

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

What a great little hotel! We were slightly confused when we walked in and there was no lobby, but the woman behind the bar was very helpful with getting us our room. It is set up like a little bed and breakfast with a bunch of rooms on each floor. The room was adorable and and is very beautifully decorated. It was very quiet and charming. We had dinner at the restaurant and it was one of the best fondue I have ever had in my life! We also spent some time at les bains de la gruyère which is within walking distance from the hotel and it was a perfect setting for a lovely afternoon. I would definitely stay here again if I am ever back in Charmey!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeAnneNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The rooms are beautifully and tasteful decorated, typically Swiss country style. Small desk and free WiFi would allow you to work in the evening, but......

The best in this hotel is the restaurant, outstanding food, a extremely and friendly service crew.
Wine list is predominantly Swiss top quality from selected vineyards in the region( no household names ) at affordable prices. The owners/operators/ chef come around an greet every guest personally, creating a " calm down, you are at home, enjoy! " atmossphere. This is not a elite or tourist spot, you can hang out with the lfriendly ocals after dinner downstairs ( though you need to speak French )

Room Tip: You might even take a room streetside, there is not much traffic at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fedn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

Great place to have dinner. It is very near Hotel Callier. The cheese fondue they have is the best in Switzerland. Very attentive waiters who are also very friendly. Will definitely be back very soon!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spinalonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charmey
0.0 mi away
Le Sapin
Le Sapin
#2 of 3 in Charmey
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cailler
Hotel Cailler
#1 of 3 in Charmey
364 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel de Gruyeres Wellness & Seminaires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hostellerie Saint-Georges
4.7 mi away
La Fleur de Lys
La Fleur de Lys
#2 of 4 in Gruyeres
120 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel de Ville, Broc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Hotel l'Etoile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel l'Etoile

Property: Romantik Hotel l'Etoile
Address: rue du Centre 21, Charmey 1637, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Fribourg > La Gruyere > Charmey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Charmey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Romantik Hotel l'Etoile 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Romantik Hotel l'Etoile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing