We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This hotel is “ok”, expected more, will not stay there again” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cailler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Cailler
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Charmey
Certificate of Excellence
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“This hotel is “ok”, expected more, will not stay there again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

I expected a nice weekend in Gruyère region, enjoying a nice wellness hotel. I choose an all-inclusive stay (weekend in Gruyère, including double room, evening buffet dinner, breakfast and access to “Bains de la Gruyère”).
I found an industrial hotel with poor service staff. I was not able to check-in before 5:00pm, unacceptable for a weekend stay. During check-in a requested a late check-out which was confirmed for 2:00pm. I received a call from front desk at 1:15pm to know when I will vacate the room.
The building and rooms are modern and very nice; well decorated. Bed quality is poor.
Concerning the buffet dinner, I enjoyed cold dished, good variety, good quality, good presentation, hot dishes were “ok”, nothing very good, all industrial food. Desserts were acceptable, nothing extraordinary, but good.
Definitely a big problem with staff, no one was friendly and did a good job. Not a smile, not a positive attitude, really looks like a highway motel and certainly not a 4 stars hotel.
My stay was just acceptable; I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yamatthey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    131
    42
    19
    9
See reviews for
63
182
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Cailler for three nights during the time of La Désalpe de Charmey. We found the reception staff very friendly upon arrival. Chocolate and meringues in room were a very nice welcome. The restaurant was very good and the staff were very sweet to our 10-month-old son there. The breakfast buffet was really wonderful, with lots of options of hot food, bread, cereals, fruit, meat and cheeses that kept us full into the afternoon. The room was a decent size, it fit the provided cot for our son easily. We really appreciated having the balcony and enjoyed the view to the mountains. The room was quiet, despite the hotel being full for the event. I enjoyed walking around the cute town of Charmey to see the authentic Swiss homes and the cows and livestock milling about the farms. It was an easy drive around the rest of the Gruyeres area. We are already planning to visit again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessicah07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

The description by "Viatorcoloniae" of the Callier as "industrial" is perfect. We did not find the Reception Staff very receptive. They were very busy at their computers. It seemed as though our checking in was an inconvenience for them. The furniture in our suite, as for some chairs in the Brasserie, need some loving care or replacement. Our suite was very warm because of the August heat. The window opens into the room and it and the frame were dirty, as was the glass and the door to the balcony. There is a large choice at the breakfast buffet but how old is the food? We planned to eat in the restaurants but after seeing ham on the breakfast buffet which was so old it was discolored, we decided to eat at the local restaurants. The one at the Etoile Hotel was excellent. The Chef is very talented, service is very good and the interior is lovely. The plus of the Callier was the easy internet access. The other plus was "Elizabeth" who we met while she was working during Breakfast. She is a hard worker, very informative and the only one who made us feel welcome. The general feeling we left with is that the hotel was doing us a favor for letting us stay there instead of being grateful that we chose the Cailler. The Cailler was sparcely decorated for our Swiss National Day. There was no show of patriotism there. A few red and white lanterns were hung in the terrace restaurant and no sign of celebration anywhere else (except advertising a National Day buffet for 85 CHF). It is the custom throughout Switzerland of hotels placing flags in their flower boxes and garlands around the building. It is understandable that this hotel has nothing to do with the Cailler Chocolate. It does not have any of the excellent qualities of Cailler products. Yes, as "Viator Coloniae" review states, "... the hotel appears to be primarily run by investors for investors.

Room Tip: Sunny rooms are at the front of the hotel and have a view of the spa and its huge parking lot. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeanTip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
180 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed here for one night only in one of the newly renovated family suites. For a hotel in this price bracket I felt the renovations were cleverly done without being kitsch! The style in family suite being what I would term "minimalist mountain chalet". Doors and floors being in pine, simple but stylish black and white bathroom with bathtub. In the sitting area a very large flat screenTV and setup with an Xbox, which I thought a nice touch for families with younger children. The sheets and pillows were all of excellent quality making sleep a dream.

As other reviewers noted there is a large car park below the hotel, but this did not detract from the beautiful view of the mountains. We did not make use of the pool or spa area so cannot comment about them.

The reception area could use a little reorganization to streamline things but I did not find it cumbersome as some guests who stayed as part of a group.

The only complaint we had was with the restaurant where we had ordered wine and it was forgotten by the waiter and when my husband reminded him he made no apology. While the quality and presentation in the restaurant was good my fish had an excessive amount of sauce, which didn't enhance the meal at all. We did finish up with a delicious warm berry crumble which was insanely good.

Overall I thought this was a lovely place to spend s summer walking holiday with many easy or more difficult walks within easy reach. The hotel is not too stuffy in atmosphere so that it is easy to relax on the terrace afterwards without having to put on high heels. Overall impression, great place for a family break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the frontside with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marlena m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
Level Contributor
159 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

First impressions are rather industrial: a big chalet-type building (the hotel) set above what could pass for a vast employee car park (the municipal car park) and adjacent to an architecturally challenging municipal spa - both of which seriously detract from what could otherwise be a lovely view of the Gruyère countryside and Moléson mountain.
Other features reinforce the industrial image: the hotel reception is unfortunately co-located with the seminar 'break-out' coffee area (so it can be something of a scrum to get registered) and the bedrooms and corridor approaches are more functional than stylish. And, in line with what appears to be a current Swiss hotel trend, the recently renovated bathrooms have eliminated the bath tub. Telephone reservation was also quite challenging when confronted with innumerable pricing permutations (room options, with/without dinner, with/without spa, with/without spa treatment not to mention the 'specials' available and the payment method since the hotel does not accept all credit cards).
On the positive side, the municpal spa to which the hotel is linked by an underground passage is mega - although, paradoxically, the numerous spa features in the indoor and outdoor basins actually provide obtstacles to serious swimming. The hotel food is a definite plus - well above average for a seminar hotel (especially the copious breakfast buffet). Also, the hotel personal were friendly (even if not uniformly well-trained or informed).
One last comment: the hotel bears the name of a famous Swiss chocolate brand. By contrast, the hotel is curiously free of any such associations - apart from the (probably coincidental) chocolate brown carpets in the (mini) hotel lifts and some spurious illuminated brand names on the stairwell wall. All in all, this is a average rating (albeit 3+) for a hotel that appears to be primarily run by investors for investors.
Viator Coloniae.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viatorcoloniae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Hotel de charme, very well equipped also for Confences. Pleasant rooms with a beautiful view of the mountains. Very comfortable health spa, with mineral spring.
Wooden floors, nice furniture in natura stuff, modern and stylish mountain athmoshere for a pleasant and relaxing stay. There is also a Nespresso equipment in each room.
Monsieur Cailler was the inventor of milk chocolate and the hotel was established by his descendants. At the Hotel you may buy Cailler chocolate. Nearby it you may may mountain cheese: this is the land of Gruyere!

Room Tip: I was in a suite. Very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria Carmela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuwait
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel after touring "chateau gruyere" early September 2011. The area is quite and you need a car. They did not allow us use the pool ! It was little warm and we had to leave the balcony door open.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank h3kamal_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charmey
4.7 mi away
Hotel de Gruyeres Wellness & Seminaires
0.2 mi away
Le Sapin
Le Sapin
#2 of 3 in Charmey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel l'Etoile
Romantik Hotel l'Etoile
#3 of 3 in Charmey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
ibis Bulle La Gruyere
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rallye Bulle
3.7 mi away
Hotel Le Gruyerien
Hotel Le Gruyerien
#1 of 1 in Morlon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cailler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cailler

Property: Hotel Cailler
Address: Gros Plan 28, Charmey 1637, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Fribourg > La Gruyere > Charmey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Charmey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cailler 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Cailler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cailler Hotel Charmey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing