We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cozy pearl on the Maresme coast”
Review of Hotel Mitus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mitus
Ranked #1 of 3 Canet de Mar B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A cozy pearl on the Maresme coast”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was one of the most pleasant surprises I have ever experienced in my history of traveling. I don't like crowded tourist resorts. I prefer locations where I can get into conversations and learn more about local culture. Hotel Mitus was the perfect choice for such a stay. Excellent location, three minute walk from the railway station (fifty minutes from Placa Catalunya in Barcelona, trains running every half hour), one minute walk from the best beach in the region, and just a few steps from the historical centre of a town packed with modernisma architecture. A friendly and charming multi-lingual staff takes care of their guests in this family-run hotel. Rooms are simple but very comfortable. If you need a parasol for the beach, an umbrella or a hair dryer - you can borrow it in the reception. Do you want suggestions for walking trips in the mountains, concerts, town fiestas or where to buy shoes? Just ask - and you will get answers in German, English, Russian, Spanish or Catalan. Y

Canet is a quiet town, unlike many others on the Maresme coast, and Mitus is a quiet hotel. There is practically no street noise at all.

The hotel has 10 rooms (as far as I could tell). In the whole town there are probably 20 rooms all together. If you are lucky enough to get one of them, you will spend your time in true catalan history.

I have stayed in many different hotels in the region earlier. But from now on, Mitus will be my first choice. I will definitely go again. The only problem is that the Hotel is so small that I may not recommend it to all of my friends.

Do you need a hair cut? No problem. Just across the street is a hair dresser. Do you want a dinner with esparrecs and butifarra washed down with delicious cava? A couple of minutes walk from the hotel doort throug the Carrer Aple will get you exactly that (and you will pass some amazing modernista buildings on the way). Are you temted by delicious local cured meat (fuet, longanissa, pernil etc.) just walk 100 meters straight up from the to the church and sit down at the bar where a charming couple can teach you about local wines, and point out the differences between different cured sausages.

In short Mitus is a lovely hotel, and the townspeople of Canet are welcoming you in a way that will make you feel at home from your first evening.

There is free WIFI in MItus, but the coverage is so-so. In my room, it was difficult to get a stable connection to the network. If there is one thing I could complain about, this is it. WIFI coverage in the bar is ok, though, so I read my news and checked my email there.

I cross my fingers, hoping that Canet de Mar will stay a small, quiet town where people take care of each other. It is a beautiful example of a true Catalan society. With Barcelona just a short trip away, the mountains close by (you can walk from Mitus to the mountains, for chrissakes) and the best beach I have found on the Maresme coast, Hotel Mitus is one of those few hotels that makes me want to return again and again. This was my first visit, but it will definitely not be my last.

Room Tip: You are 100 meters from the best beach you can imagine, and 200 meters from the historical centre of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kjetil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    45
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
11
44
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed here in June-extremely hot!! (AC very effective in rooms)
Rooms were simple, but clean & fit for my purpose as a base to relax & explore. Free Wi-Fi included.
The beach is just over the road-& impeccably clean.Hotel will lend beach parasols-very useful.
Train station just a short walk away-clean, efficient trains every hour to barcelona, or in the opposite direction to explore the other small beach towns dotted along the coast.
Canet is small & friendly, and a nice taste of catalonia.
Staff helpful.
Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dicey5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

First of all, a thank you to the helpful and friendly staff. We had received an incorrect booking confirmation from the hotel booking site, but we didn't have time to be worried before the problem was solved.

Our room was small, but it had a bed, AC and bathroom as well as a small balcony -all you need for this kind of vacation, really. Bed a bit hard but comfortable.Disturbed by noise from room next door the first day, sounded like it was our door being opened, but otherwise little to no noice. Breakfast not included, but room so cheap it didn't bother us. We had breakfast in the backyard, shaded in the morning. There was always a cold, cold beer awaiting in the bar and part of the staff speak English. But I had to practice my Spanish:) .

The hotell provided parasolls and straw matresses in the lobby, even a small beach-tent. The beach is really close, we went down two or even three times a day (it was very hot so we observed siesta). Free wifi.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Martina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We wanted a small hotel in a small town in the vicinity of Barcelona, and that's what we got. And a good one at that! Very clean, relatively comfortable and excellent value for our money. The short distance to the beach and the railway station, the nice garden perfect for (a very decent) breakfast or a pre-dinner drink, the air condition and the free Internet - all these are definitive assets. Also, Pension Mitus is situated right in the middle of town, but even so the street noise is negligible.

Any negative aspects? Well, the matresses were quite hard and I missed a hair-drier, but these are mere trifles compared to all the positive things that are to be said about this little hotel.

Canet de mar is a town as Spanish as they get in these parts = no overload of tourists. A good place to stay if you're looking for a mix of beach, trekking (good routes nearby), small-town atmosphere and a relatively short distance to the big city life of Barcelona.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelse123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Rainier, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We enjoyed our two nights of downtime in Canet de Mar. The pension is clean, conveniently located, and a great value. Booking was hassle-free. On our way out Jaime made some excellent recommendations for our visit to Barcelona. If we are in Barcelona again in need of a break, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ezili7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

So this hotel charges you even though you have to cancel because you have to fly back home because your grandmother died unexpectedly! Never have known such inhuman people and on top of it all they don't take responsibility and blame booking.com!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ikkedus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitus, Propietario at Hotel Mitus, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
first thing is that we mourn the loss of his grandmother, and we take to clarify your complaint.
You made a reservation trought Booking.com for 3 nights, which specifies that the conditions of reservation can be canceled without charge until 24 hours before arrival, and was advised that the first night will be charged in case of no show or canceling the same day.
You canceled in same day and was told he would lose the first night.
All Hotels reservations and also receive many many cancellations, we try to be flexible for our customers, so only 24 hours without charge, but must understand that we organize our offers, work, personal in terms of reserves, but we need to have a minimum warranty on the reservation, if not would be impossible to organize the operation of any variant hotel if people could cancel at any time.
Perhaps an airline will return the money on a ticket, a ticket to a cultural show, sporting event just before the beginning? I believe no , that sincerely.
We understand no one likes to pay 46 e. by a loss reserve, but I think writing is a big rip off and we are inhuman is a bit excessive, however we respect your opinion, just wanted to clarify his complaint.
After 26 years serving thousands of customers we want to continue taking care of them all While we can, carefully, Jaume Infiesta Hotel Mitus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2011

With no apparent view in mind of what I was expecting it actually ticked all the boxes. I am a fisrt time visitor to Barcelona and although Spain was not a stranger this part of the contry was. I was greated with greatest of understanding as I do not speak a word of any other language other than English. Patient owners and went out of their way to help us make the most of our trip to the big city. Travel was a breeze compared to England as usual in any country but my own! The Hotel delivered in looks and comfort also. Our view was lovely of the beach and streets of Canet de Mar. Local area was quiet but interesting and had many shops to browse. Some interesting history there alone. The beach was clean and we enjoyed a dip! I would reccomend the hotel.It was a great base to travel from and the cost is reasonable for the accomodation.

Room Tip: First floor sea view has some road noise but not alot.worth the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dee b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canet de Mar
3.2 mi away
Hotel Colon Thalasso-Termal
Hotel Colon Thalasso-Termal
#1 of 2 in Caldes d'Estrac
408 reviews
1.8 mi away
Vila Arenys Hotel
Vila Arenys Hotel
#1 of 2 in Arenys de Mar
60 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#1 of 43 in Calella
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sa Voga Hotel Amb Encant
Sa Voga Hotel Amb Encant
#2 of 2 in Arenys de Mar
25 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Gran Sol
Hotel Gran Sol
#1 of 1 in Sant Pol de Mar
118 reviews
4.0 mi away
GHT Hotel Maritim
GHT Hotel Maritim
#13 of 43 in Calella
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mitus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mitus

Property: Hotel Mitus
Address: Riera de la Torre 20, 08360 Canet de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Canet de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Canet de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Mitus 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mitus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Mitus Hotel Canet De Mar
Hotel Mitus Canet De Mar, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing