We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply excellent”
Review of El Campero

El Campero
Ranked #1 of 112 Restaurants in Barbate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $34 - $56
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located in Barbate , fishing village whose traditional cuisine draws inspiration Campero 's letter , being Wild Bluefin Tuna Almadraba the undisputed star . Traditional cuisine with Japanese touches and cutting edge , but giving priority to the authentic flavor of the dish . With brightly decorated , clean and simple shapes, El Campero provides an exclusive atmosphere to enjoy a unique experience.
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Simply excellent”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

I live in Casablanca Morocco and i regularly take my car, drive 4 hours north to Tangier, cross thé strait of Gibraltar, drive again from Tarifa to Barbate just for eating there. AND it´s worth the journey!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ylamrani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,987 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,451
    386
    94
    34
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Girona, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh Tuna...”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We visisted this restaurant on the recommendation of the local people ,we were told it was the best in town . We had the shushi style tuna to start with followed by fish for o/h and steak for me which was very nice !! The staff were very attentive to the point of annoyance at some stages as I like to eat with out waiters hovering around ,but all in all a good meal ....then the bill mmmmmm expensive to say the least for what we had eaten (bottle of wine too) . I have been to better for the Price but if you want to try fresh Tuna this is the place to go !!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa67_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Worth the Detour”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

If you are staying anywhere near Barbate, it is well worth the detour to find this amazing tuna restaurant. I'm pescatarian, and gave up red meat about 2 years ago. The fatty tuna steak they serve is the closest you will find to wagyu. You can skip the sushi, as they lack somewhat the Asian touch. But definitely go for the tartare and the Spanish fish stew with onions.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 10-Val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
389 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Tuna a Thousand Ways - or at Least 40”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Barbate is a tuna fishing town where a yearly tuna festival is held the end of May. The town itslef is not much, but El Campero Restaurante is a real surprise and is located close to the beach. It is handsome-nautical with contemporary art, white linen and nice glasses. There are two choices of menus - the tapa menu and the full menu - combined, they proudly detail over 40 ways to eat the red tuna. We ordered mostly tuna appetizers (raw and cooked) and each were beautifully presented and delicious. The wine list is thorough but showcases mostly wines from Jerez, Sanlucar and Chiclana nearby. We definitely recommend eating here while in Andalusia and visiting the Pueblos Blancos like Vejer de la Frontera which is just 10 minutes away.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank habaneros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Best tuna experience”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We tried the tapas in the bar area for lunch. The service was very attentive and helpful. All dishes that we tried were of exceptional quality and presentation, I think that this may be one of the best restaurant experiences I have ever had. Great job!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johanniti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Campero also viewed

Barbate, Costa de la Luz
Los Canos de Meca, Barbate
 
Zahara de los Atunes, Costa de la Luz
Barbate, Costa de la Luz
 
Vejer de la Frontera, Province of Cadiz
 

Been to El Campero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing