We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service”
Review of Hotel Adiafa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Adiafa
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Barbate
Reviewed February 9, 2012

This is not high season, and someone could say we shouldn't have expected the same services we could find during summer. I do not agree with this. Many hotels in town are closed during winter. If you decide to keep it open, charging your customers for the room, then you need to offer the same exact service that you would have found in summer.
We arrived and the person at reception did not welcome us. She arrived after few minutes and gave us the key without saying a word, and without even telling us where the room is. The room is really plain, but that would not be an issue. However, towels are obviously old (and yellowish), frigo-bar does not work, and the bottle of water we received from the bar was rusty!
Hotel does not provide breakfast included in the price. If you decide to buy it, be ready to receive a slice of toasted bread with jams, a glass of juice and coffee. Not that bad, unless you were expecting continental breakfast with various food. This could have been offered for free with the room.
Last, but not least, the A/C! It is winter (although this is not a cold part of Spain). I'd like to know why we cannot put the A/C at a temperature higher than 25 degrees celsius!!
I would not suggest this hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiManMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 119 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for a week as i was horse riding nearby.

It is a small hotel that is very clean and modern. Rooms are a good size with good views even without a balcony. Canteen/bar area is comfortable. Ideally situated across the road from the beach and around the corner from the bars and restaurants, you wont have to venture far.

The bad reviews on here seems to forget that it is a Spanish hotel, therefore they speak Spanish but do their best to help you if you remember your manners! Typical Spanish breakfast is usually a crossant so bigger appertites will want more than the standard breakfast but prices are cheap so not really an issue.

After a week i cant find anything to complain about and i will return.

Room Tip: Solo traveller can upgrade to a balcolny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank SpanishStorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2009

The hotel is well located near the beach but this is really the only positive thing about it.
The whole place looks like and make you feel like if you were at the hospital, it's everything but warm and cosy.
The breakfast is served in the cafeteria and it make you feel like taking breakfast in a poor railroad station: 1 cup of coffee, 1 croissant, 1 orange juice. They charged us 1 euro for an extra cup of coffee and 3 euros for 2 extra croissants. Never seen that before in a 3 stars hotel.
At the front desk for the very first time of my life, we had to sign a paper stating we had to leave the room at noon max and agreed that breakfast was between 8 and 10!
Do not expect a smile or a welcome sign, obviously customers are not welcomed.
Don't know if we had a specific treat because we are not spanish but it could be. We are a French couple and we live in Andalucia at some 60 km from Barbate, we like to visit Andalucia and are used to go spend 1 night in different places every 2 week-end.
This is a 3 stars hotel but i believe it was a 4 stars because in the lift there are 4 stars on their stickers. They are so customer oriented that I wouldn't be surprised if they end up with 1 star pretty soon.
By the way, beside the beach, there is absolutely nothing to see in Barbate.
My advice: if you want to visit Andalucia, look for Hacienda type hotel, this is really a wonderful experience, there are top places to stay here, and stick with "white pueblos" if you don't want waste time and money.
We paid 65 euros for the room (extra croissants+cup of coffe excluded), i wouldn't recommand the place to my best ennemy.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pat_andalucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2008

My friend and I stayed at the Adiafa when we visited Barbate for a weekend of horse riding. As the accommodation was booked for us through the horse riding holiday we didn't really know what to expect and in fact, we didn't have particularly high expectations. We were very pleasantly surprised by the hotel! The room was very clean and modern with a good sized balcony from which we could see the sea. The bathroom was a very good size and had fresh towels every day.

Breakfast in the morning is served in the cafe, the bread rolls that were served were lovely, warm and fresh and the fresh orange juice was delicious!

If you're not a Spanish speaker then be warned that the hotel staff have fairly limited English but we managed to muddle on through!!

All in all a very nice, clean and modern hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank hufri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank christianr991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adiafa, Director Comercial at Hotel Adiafa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank JOSE M. A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adiafa, Director Comercial at Hotel Adiafa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pabl0m1234565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adiafa, Director Comercial at Hotel Adiafa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barbate
0.1 mi away
Hotel Playa del Carmen
Hotel Playa del Carmen
#5 of 8 in Barbate
44 reviews
7.7 mi away
Melia Atlanterra
Melia Atlanterra
#2 of 12 in Zahara de los Atunes
1,203 reviews
3.2 mi away
El Palomar de la Brena
El Palomar de la Brena
#3 of 8 in Barbate
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hotel Madreselva
Hotel Madreselva
#1 of 3 in Los Canos de Meca
174 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Mar de Frente
Hotel Mar de Frente
#2 of 3 in Los Canos de Meca
88 reviews
7.8 mi away
El Cortijo de Zahara
El Cortijo de Zahara
#3 of 12 in Zahara de los Atunes
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adiafa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adiafa

Address: Avenida Del Faro, 1, 11160, Barbate, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Barbate
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Barbate
Price Range: $44 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Adiafa 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Barbate, on the coast of Cadiz and a few meters from the beach, the hotel Adiafa. Close to downtown and excellent Mediterranean climate Adiafa Hotel is strategically located allowing you to enjoy a large variety of both pristine beaches and urban. Beaches and coves that contrast by its proximity to the cliff Natural Park of La Brena, the pine forest, marsh or inland villages such as Vejer de la Frontera and Medina Sidonia. A unique and incomparable setting where you can enjoy modern facilities combining spacious and airy spaces with amazing sunsets and quiet nights by the sea. And all this under the seal of hospitality and helpful and personal care of Adiafa Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Adiafa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing