We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top-notch service!”
Review of Walaker Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Walaker Hotell
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Solvorn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for just one night - unfortunately - as I would have liked to have stayed longer! There was no room in the heritage part of the hotel, so we had a room in the 'newer', motel-type building that is next to it. It was a good choice, actually, as it meant being able to park outside the door, and there was a private terrace in front of our room where we could sit and have a beer purchased in the little grocery store almost next-door.

Great location too for a visit to the Urnes stave church the next day.

And then there is the absolutely marvelous food and the incredibly good service from everyone at the hotel! So professional, so friendly and welcoming! Would love to come back here!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank ateach52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 170 of 372 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2014

This hotel was really a treat. We were told it was a court and it was turned into a hotel later and has been run by the same family for years. They take great pride in this gem and it was a special treat to stay here. We stayed in a separate building that had gorgeous chandelier-lit dining areas downstairs with the bedrooms upstairs. A little warm in the summer as they had no AC but once the windows were opened it was ok. We are used to and enjoy authentic properties and this is a gem. Dinner and breakfast were delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MoniqueA74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

I just love to visit this wonderful place in Solvorn. Everything is great - the food, the service, the location. A place for relaxing. I'll be back :) It is a historic hotel - family owned. We stayed in the newest building this time, the rooms are nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bente A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

This was a wonderfully pleasant surprise. A remote little village with magnificent views of the fjord. A very old and historic hotel, although most accommodation was in the new annexe, which offered fully modern hotel rooms (minus any television. Staff were wonderful. Some tea and coffee in the room would have made the stay much better.
The in house dinner is a fixed menu fine dining experience - but we found the food and the very late finish a little disappointing.

Room Tip: Ask for the annexe if you want comfort, the main hotel if you want history.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Wow-what an amazing experience. Can't say enough about this place-wish I could give it 6 stars. We stayed in the delightful old building in (two) huge rooms with gorgeous bathrooms. This was the only bathroom in 11 hotels on our trip that didn't spray water all over the place from the shower! The family has run the Walaker since the 1600's, and the property just oozes history and character. We were seated in the old family dining room for the 4 course dinner, allowing us a private dining experience, like we were in someone's home! The food was exceptionally good, and the chef was even willing to substitute a cheese platter for the sushi starter that I knew my kids would not eat.
The staff was super friendly and helpful, even making phone calls for us to help sort out a rental car issue. Free parking!
The beach is right in front of the hotel, which was nice since the weather was actually hot while we were there. The ferry is also right at hand-the excursion to the Urnes Stave Church is worth the trip across. We used this as the launch point to the glacier hiking experience at Nigardsbreen, an experience not to be missed.
Love love love this hotel. Wish I could go back right now!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank AngeKWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights on a "Romantic Package" that included an excellent breakfast buffet and a fixed menu 4-course fine dining dinner. Solvorn is an off the beaten path village of about 250 people. Very quiet, very restful. No noise, no traffic, very fresh air, and views that are magnificent. The Walaker started out as an Inn back in 1690 and has been in the family until today. It looks much as it did then with some small new additions and immaculate upkeep. It is situated right on the Lustrafjord so an unobstructed view is always available of the best scenery you can imagine. Food is fantastic, Service is excellent and very friendly. Rooms are large and bathrooms very good. There is no TV but it won't be missed. While there we were able to hike and explore, see the local glacier park, visit the stave church at Ornes across the fjord, and have a quite coffee at the cafe next door. Definitely worth a return visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bcbjkna2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

This hotel is the oldest in Norway dating from the 17th century. Well worth the trip to arrive at this far away place. The hotel and it's surroundings are absolutely breathtaking. We stayed in the new area and all accommodations were new and up to the 21st century. The staff is very friendly and accommodating: we arrived at 9:30 in the evening and the kitchen closed at 10 but we still had a wonderful three course dinner.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gentas_in_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvorn
18.3 mi away
Fjaerland Fjordstove Hotel & Restaurant
24.5 mi away
Kviknes Hotel
Kviknes Hotel
#1 of 4 in Balestrand
849 reviews
23.6 mi away
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
#4 of 4 in Balestrand
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Quality Hotel Sogndal
Quality Hotel Sogndal
#3 of 5 in Sogndal Municipality
340 reviews
24.7 mi away
Balestrand Hotel
Balestrand Hotel
#2 of 4 in Balestrand
416 reviews
7 mi away
Best Western Laegreid Hotell
Best Western Laegreid Hotell
#2 of 5 in Sogndal Municipality
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walaker Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walaker Hotell

Address: Solvorn 6879, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Luster Municipality > Solvorn
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Solvorn
Price Range: $252 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Walaker Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walaker Hotell Norway/Solvorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing