We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Personal, beautiful surroundings, lovely local food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Walaker Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Walaker Hotell
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Solvorn
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Personal, beautiful surroundings, lovely local food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were so happy that we had booked two nights at this jewel of a small hotel...and wished we had stayed longer. The weather was absolutely beautiful, which made it even better. The tiny village, the TV-free rooms, the lovely garden and the beautiful scenery all help create a very special atmosphere. Loved it!

Room Tip: The historic rooms are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KariBergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    49
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
53
185
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay. We had a marvelous time there. It is set at the edge of a fjord in a lovely small village. The owner Ole Henrik, took time to visit with us and tell us about his family and their history there. The rooms are charmingly decorated. The food was excellent, and the staff were especially friendly and helpful. We only regretted that we were just there for one night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BHejtmanek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norge
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Expensive, but worth it. Lovely location, great and personal service, wonderful food, nice old-style room with up-to-date facilities and spotless clean. We did not want to leave and we will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 56Gypsygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

The Walaker Hotell is truly a unique and memorable experience. The fjord location is sublime. It seems frozen in time in its serene ambiance. Choose one of the very lovingly maintained historic rooms. Each has a slightly different layout, but all are lovely. Stephen at reception let us look at a couple different rooms to find the one that best suited us.

Once we were comfortably moved in, we went out for coffee at the Linahagen Cafe down the road from the hotel. There were a lot of locals coming in and out and my son was able try out his Norwegian with the lady who served us. After our coffee and apple cake we caught the ferry right in front of the hotel, and in 15 minutes we were across the water. There we climbed the road up the hill to visit the oldest Stave church in Norway.

Returning for dinner, we started with a drink in the charming salon, and then were treated to a delicious four course meal made with local ingredients. After our meal we got to chat with Ole, the owner of the hotel. He has a great personal touch and a very big personality. The morning that we checked out, we realized that the taxis to the bus station were running a little erratically, and Ole himself gave us a ride, all the while giving us interesting information about the area. I highly recommend this gem of a hotel. It made me so proud of my Norwegian heritage!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betrobets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
166 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Go back in time with this family owned hotel (since 1640, that's right). It has now several buildings. Some old ones and a new one. The new one has large view on the Fjord. Excellent breakfast and dinner. Outstanding service. The Queen of Danemark comes here sometimes.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank andreleroychina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vossevangen, Norway
Level Contributor
126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

On a nice sunny summer day, we booked the last two rooms and it was really worth it. When we arrived to Solvorn, the three of us took the ferry to Ornes to have a look at Norway`s oldest stave church. The fourth member of the group stayed in Solvorn, checked in, chated with the manager of the hotel and strolled in the village. We enjoyed the ferry ride in a wonderful weather, the walk up to the church and waffles with homemade jam. When we returned to Solvorn, we found out we got rooms in the newer part of the hotel with a fantastic view which we didn`t have time to enjoy as the dinner was served soon after we came back to the hotel. We were served a delicious 4-course dinner . After the dinner, the manager of the hotel took all of the guests on a guided tour to the old barn and told us history of his family in a very funny way. He showed us to the gallery of the hotel where it was possible to buy the exhibited art. On the next morning, we enjoyed the breakfast where most of the food was prepared at the hotel or in the area. We enjoyed our stay in Norway`s oldest hotel and would definitely come back.
PS: there is no television in the rooms because the guests should enjoy the nature outside :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToyotaLandCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We announced that we would have a late arrival at old Walaker Hotel. During our drive over Dovrefjell, the hotel staff called us up, and asked kindly how we were doing and if we wanted dinner when we got there... Really, we were impressed over the hospitality at Walaker :) Because we arrived late at night, we got free wine :), and a nice chat with the charming boss, Ole Henrik - 9th generation owner of this lovely hotel - the oldest in Norway - and it has been in the same family for about 300 years! On rainy days, the hotel serve free champagne! As I said, we arrived late at night, and even we were the only guests expected that night, the whole beautiful garden was full of candlelights. We sat under one of the old apple trees, and enjoyed life to its full that night. Breakfast in the morning was nice, and we really would like to spend more time in this lovely hotel and the neat village of Solvorn. (We slept in one of the new rooms, surely we will book one of the old rooms next time.) We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvorn
24.5 mi away
Kviknes Hotel
Kviknes Hotel
#1 of 4 in Balestrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
18.3 mi away
Fjaerland Fjordstue Hotell
24.7 mi away
Balestrand Hotel
Balestrand Hotel
#2 of 4 in Balestrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Torvis Hotel
Torvis Hotel
#8 of 54 in Sogn og Fjordane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
17.5 mi away
Skjolden Hotel
Skjolden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skjolden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
7.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Sogndal
Quality Hotel Sogndal
#2 of 5 in Sogndal Municipality
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walaker Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walaker Hotell

Property: Walaker Hotell
Address: Solvorn 6879, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Luster Municipality > Solvorn
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Solvorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Walaker Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walaker Hotell Norway/Solvorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing