We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”
Review of Walaker Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Walaker Hotell
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Solvorn
Certificate of Excellence
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We announced that we would have a late arrival at old Walaker Hotel. During our drive over Dovrefjell, the hotel staff called us up, and asked kindly how we were doing and if we wanted dinner when we got there... Really, we were impressed over the hospitality at Walaker :) Because we arrived late at night, we got free wine :), and a nice chat with the charming boss, Ole Henrik - 9th generation owner of this lovely hotel - the oldest in Norway - and it has been in the same family for about 300 years! On rainy days, the hotel serve free champagne! As I said, we arrived late at night, and even we were the only guests expected that night, the whole beautiful garden was full of candlelights. We sat under one of the old apple trees, and enjoyed life to its full that night. Breakfast in the morning was nice, and we really would like to spend more time in this lovely hotel and the neat village of Solvorn. (We slept in one of the new rooms, surely we will book one of the old rooms next time.) We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    50
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
57
206
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
73 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

You woun't believe this place! It is a small hotel and must be one of the oldest in Norway. It looks like an old farm and is placed smack at the shore innermost in Sognefjord. To be sure: It is absolutely beautiful and absolutely charming except for the horrid annex that looks like an old american motel from a horror movie. But you don't have to look in that direction if you don't want to - just make sure you get one of the really old rooms. But notice: The hotel have decided that you are not allowed to watch TV - there are none in the whole area! Also - you are not supposed to sit in your room but in the common sitting room with the other guests and gaze into the fireplace as you listen to norwegian folk tales. They make all their food themseives from the bottom and at breakfast all the food has little labels with the names of the animals you are eating :) Very personal and up close. This is a concept that is designed to be different.....
When I complained that I wanted to watch the news I was ordered to gaze at the newly fallen sprinkle of snow on the mountain tops and I did! It was beautiful! So - if you want something really Norwegian and really special - and have a big wallet - try this place! You even sleep better because it is so devoid of other input than the great fjord, the fruit trees and the mountains.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in one of the old houses
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pille2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Son, Norway
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Excellent service, cosy, old Royal and very clean rooms.
Superb restaurant with excellent food, both dinner and particularly the breakfast. The best hotel breakfast I'w ever eaten.

Beautiful location near the fjord.

One day I'll take my wife to this amazing etablisement :-)

Room Tip: Choose the rooms in the old part, the best is those with view to the fjord.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IngeMauseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

You won't be returning many times to Walaker. Spending the night, having the dinner with wine and a couple of drinks before and after cost us nearly 5000 kroner. That is simply too much. On the other hand, if you want to forget about the money and indulge yourself in a feeling of rare luxury then Walaker is the place. Fantastic setting and view of the fjord, a lovely little village, a well-maintained garden and bedrooms and living rooms taking you back in time a hundred years is something to enjoy. We loved the dinner and especially the dessert: Parfait made from Norwegian brown-cheese.

Room Tip: Our room in the old section of the hotel only had a small window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandalsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Pure luxury. We stayed only one night in the new section. Room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. Liked sitting on the porch overlooking the fjiord in the evening. Did not participate in the lengthy dinner (2 1/2 hours, fixed menu, 500+ NOK) f. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillehammer, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My best hotel experience in Norway! Hotel is located in romantic village of Solvorn near Sognefjord. This is beautiful historic hotel with amazing concept and service. Everything was fantastic - personal, food and good local beer. Breakfast and dinner was delicious. In this hotel works professional stuff compare many other hotels in Norway. If you want romantic and good hotel experience, Walaker is the BEST!

Room Tip: There are 2 parts - Historic building with historic rooms and New building. The rooms in new buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2012

A very pleasant experience! Friendly and service minded staff. 9th generation hotel owner who knows how to run a hotel. Situated in a tiny village with a lovely garden at the seaside. Very nice dinner and breakfast. The only remark I had was that the entrecote (from local cattle) served for dinner was not tender. A stay is costly, but worth every NOK!

Room Tip: Book one of the historic rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvorn
24.5 mi away
Kviknes Hotel
Kviknes Hotel
#1 of 4 in Balestrand
722 reviews
18.3 mi away
Fjaerland Fjordstue Hotell
5.8 mi away
Torvis Hotel
Torvis Hotel
#9 of 54 in Sogn og Fjordane
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Skjolden Hotel
Skjolden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skjolden
68 reviews
24.7 mi away
Balestrand Hotel
Balestrand Hotel
#2 of 4 in Balestrand
375 reviews
7.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Sogndal
Quality Hotel Sogndal
#2 of 5 in Sogndal Municipality
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walaker Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walaker Hotell

Property: Walaker Hotell
Address: Solvorn 6879, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Luster Municipality > Solvorn
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Solvorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Walaker Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walaker Hotell Norway/Solvorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing