We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Royal”
Review of Walaker Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Walaker Hotell
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Solvorn
Certificate of Excellence
Son, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Old Royal”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Excellent service, cosy, old Royal and very clean rooms.
Superb restaurant with excellent food, both dinner and particularly the breakfast. The best hotel breakfast I'w ever eaten.

Beautiful location near the fjord.

One day I'll take my wife to this amazing etablisement :-)

Room Tip: Choose the rooms in the old part, the best is those with view to the fjord.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IngeMauseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    50
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
62
212
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

You won't be returning many times to Walaker. Spending the night, having the dinner with wine and a couple of drinks before and after cost us nearly 5000 kroner. That is simply too much. On the other hand, if you want to forget about the money and indulge yourself in a feeling of rare luxury then Walaker is the place. Fantastic setting and view of the fjord, a lovely little village, a well-maintained garden and bedrooms and living rooms taking you back in time a hundred years is something to enjoy. We loved the dinner and especially the dessert: Parfait made from Norwegian brown-cheese.

Room Tip: Our room in the old section of the hotel only had a small window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandalsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Pure luxury. We stayed only one night in the new section. Room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. Liked sitting on the porch overlooking the fjiord in the evening. Did not participate in the lengthy dinner (2 1/2 hours, fixed menu, 500+ NOK) f. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillehammer, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My best hotel experience in Norway! Hotel is located in romantic village of Solvorn near Sognefjord. This is beautiful historic hotel with amazing concept and service. Everything was fantastic - personal, food and good local beer. Breakfast and dinner was delicious. In this hotel works professional stuff compare many other hotels in Norway. If you want romantic and good hotel experience, Walaker is the BEST!

Room Tip: There are 2 parts - Historic building with historic rooms and New building. The rooms in new buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2012

A very pleasant experience! Friendly and service minded staff. 9th generation hotel owner who knows how to run a hotel. Situated in a tiny village with a lovely garden at the seaside. Very nice dinner and breakfast. The only remark I had was that the entrecote (from local cattle) served for dinner was not tender. A stay is costly, but worth every NOK!

Room Tip: Book one of the historic rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I've stayed here twice and the Walaker Hotell is in just such an idyllic spot. I guess it helps that it was stunning weather on both occasions, but approaching Solvorn and the hotel from the ferry from Urnes is wonderful. The hotel sits just beside a mountain and right next to the fjord, surrounded by orchards and pretty little wooden houses.
The old buildings are beautiful and everything is beautifully furnsihed. Ole Henrick couldn't be a nicer host - and he has a great sense of humour. Dinner is always delicious and fine, and the service unmatched.
I love breakfast in the kitchen - far more like staying with friends.
The rooms in the old and new part are both great, although different. The new part looks like a 60s motel from the outside (what were they thinking back then?) but the rooms are much more spacious and have great fjord views - and are much nicer inside.
The original houses have beautiful rooms with pretty beds and lovely colours.
Just a wonderful place and no surprise that Ole Henrik's family have been here for 9 generations.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the old houses if you love character and charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Classic T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in main historical room. Yes it is expensive but excellent room, service, breakfast, & dinner. Don't forget excellent service from Steffen, nickolai and gayt (?). She even gave me a basket of bread ends as she saw that I don't eat the insides of bread.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Semelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvorn
24.5 mi away
Kviknes Hotel
Kviknes Hotel
#1 of 4 in Balestrand
755 reviews
18.3 mi away
Fjaerland Fjordstue Hotell
5.8 mi away
Torvis Hotel
Torvis Hotel
#10 of 54 in Sogn og Fjordane
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Skjolden Hotel
Skjolden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skjolden
79 reviews
24.7 mi away
Balestrand Hotel
Balestrand Hotel
#2 of 4 in Balestrand
393 reviews
23.6 mi away
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
#4 of 4 in Balestrand
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walaker Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walaker Hotell

Property: Walaker Hotell
Address: Solvorn 6879, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Luster Municipality > Solvorn
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Solvorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Walaker Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walaker Hotell Norway/Solvorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing