We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow”
Review of The Anchor Bar

The Anchor Bar
Ranked #9 of 41 Restaurants in Dungarvan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Slow”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Very very slow service on a hot day with screaming children..wouldn't recommend it and wouldn't go back again.

Helpful?
Thank Trudy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    43
    4
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great atmospher :)”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

i love this pub although very busy on a saterday night it has great staff and bouncers,, the DJ is very good too and the make a lovely sex on the beach ;)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank carolimoroney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lively and fun”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Friendly staff, nice layout, excellent terrace, good food and drink, reasonable prices, excellent location.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ithought
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disastrous!”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Saturday of fleadh ceol in Dungarvan and as a family of four we were enjoying the balmy south east...opting to eat outside and settling on the Anchor Bar. Very pleasant surroundings overlooking the bay - bit of scrum down for seats tho as everyone wanted to sit outside and not many tables.
A very pleasant young girl took our order and promptly brought out our drinks. However 40 minutes later when our food still hadn't arrived I asked her had they forgotten us only to be assured it was "on the way". Another 25 mins elapsed before our food finally arrived - and ALL WRONG!! Plain burgers had been ordered for the kids - they arrived covered in melted cheese, salad etc. The adults ordered chicken wraps with chips - the "FLAT PANINIS" arrived WITHOUT chips, garnished with an unwashed salad on top of which lay ONE dried out slice of cucumber and one slice of radish. To top it all we had to call another waitress for some napkins and cutlery!!
So an extremely disappointing lunch when we had been having such an enjoyable time for the fleadh weekend. We certainly will NOT be returning to the ANCHOR to eat EVER again. God knows how disorganised things would have been if the place was packed!

Helpful?
1 Thank Oisin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cashel, Ireland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent Quayside Food”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We enjoyed excellent cod and chips while quayside at the Anchor Bar. In fact, I think the fresh cod was the best I've had in Ireland this decade. We watched the wind in the bay capsize a few students in their skiffs outside while enjoying local craft beer under a spacious canopy seating area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank topgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Anchor Bar also viewed

Dungarvan, County Waterford
Dungarvan, County Waterford
 
Dungarvan, County Waterford
Dungarvan, County Waterford
 

Been to The Anchor Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing