We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant accommodation just outside town centre”
Review of Cairbre House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dungarvan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cairbre House
Ranked #2 of 16 Dungarvan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2010

Good position - you can walk into the town for evening meals - nice location by the estuary. We were made very welcome and well looked after.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nookman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
There are newer reviews for Cairbre House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 169 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2010

The setting of Cairbre House, alongside the Colligan River estuary, is truly spectacular and is complimented it's the lovely gardens. These are maintained by the extremely welcoming and helpful proprietor, Brian. His choice of breakfasts are amongst the finest. Rooms are spacious and kept clean. Just be careful when driving out of House as it's a bit tricky. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeteSE19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

We stayed at Cairbre House two years ago and again this year what a lovely house, fantastic breakfast and a very enjoyable host Brian. Cannot recommend this enough if you enjoy quaint and homely feeling you must visit.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragon04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

The Cairbre House turned out to be not in the city of Waterford, but a 20 min. drive west from it, in the town of Dungarvan. We were initially very annoyed to learn that I had made an error since we had to backtrack. Thus, it was a special surprise to find such a beautiful home awaiting us. The house is old but very well maintained. Spotlessly clean, with comfortable beds and various details that made it comfortable. We had a charming twin bedded room. Bathrm quite small but adequate.

The host, longtime owner of the property Brian Wickham, was helpful and most pleasant. His full breakfast was delicious, served in a lovely breakfast room. We were charmed by the family's collection of renowned potter Stephen Pearce's tableware and other pieces of art - and the photos around the house of Brian's family. The garden was not in bloom yet, but we were treated to the tidal coming and going of the river alongside the house. His website and pictures are excellent. This is a great hub location for a few days touring in the region. And there is a pub, Davitt's, nearby for good grub and a destination restaurant "The Tannery" which we enjoyed as well. All in all, Cairbre (pronounced CARbree by locals) deserves the many accolades it has been given!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Brian was very welcoming, the house had wonderful gardens to peruse. He prepared an excellent full Irish breakfast with frest herbs from the garden. The B&B was about a 15 minute walk to town. Dungarvan was a nice stopping point between Waterford and Cork. Merry's pub was a little gem.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JStentz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2009

We were tired. We saw the signpost for Cairbre B&B as we were driving and impulsively turned down the street. I saw the house and, joking with my husband, said "oh please please please be it", knowing it probably wasn't. When we realized that this incredibly beautiful manor house WAS the B&B, I thought I'd gone to heaven. And that was before we saw the inside! The room we stayed in had the prettiest little window seat where I remained ensconced for the rest of the evening!

Brian was the most amazing host! Incredibly knowledgeable about the area, friendly, and welcoming. He sat us down with a cup of tea and cookies and provided us with maps of the area, pointing out restaurants, pubs and shopping in the area.

And breakfast? Wow! Delicious does not even start to cover it! Fresh items harvested from the garden that morning, fresh made Irish bread and wonderful company.

And add wireless Internet to all of this? Who could ask for more?

I'm trying to figure out how to plan my next vacation in Ireland around staying at Cairbre! We WILL be back! Save us a room Brian!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celticolleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

Brian's Cairbre House is a one-of-a-kind Inn within a great town. Brian's greeting at check-in is genuine and his care for your experience not only at his Inn but within the town of Dungarven is sincere. The Cairbre House is historic and full or character, the house was built almost 200 years ago, and it has been an Inn for almost 100 years.

After checking in, and getting settled; Brian had us downstairs for tea and biscuits, and then shared with us the menus and pro's and con's of each of the town's restaurants. I stayed at 3 different Inn's and a five star hotel during my ten days in Ireland; and never received this level of service.

Brian's breakfast was by far the best I had during my trip. He gathers his herbs and tomatoes from his garden and his food was fantastic.

We thought of Dungarven for we wanted to visit the Waterford Crystal Factory in nearby Waterford. However, that is a complete waste of time. The crystal is no longer even made there, and they stopped the tours. But, I am glad we planned as we did, or we would not have found the Cairbre House and Dungarven. Great place, great stay, and a great host!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nware1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dungarvan hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
0.4 mi away
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
#3 of 3 in Dungarvan
454 reviews
2.2 mi away
Gold Coast Golf Resort
Gold Coast Golf Resort
#2 of 3 in Dungarvan
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Dun Ard
Dun Ard
#1 of 16 in Dungarvan
326 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tannery Townhouse
Tannery Townhouse
#5 of 16 in Dungarvan
150 reviews
3.0 mi away
Seaview Guesthouse
Seaview Guesthouse
#9 of 16 in Dungarvan
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairbre House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairbre House

Address: Carriglea House Old Hospital Road | Abbeyside, Strandside North, Dungarvan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dungarvan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Dungarvan
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1819,this beautiful protected Georgian Period house is a multiple award 4*B&B. Award of Excellence Tripadvisor 5* Rating. Situated in a peaceful scenic setting with striking views, yet is located less than one km from the picturesque Dungarvan harbour and town centre with its excellent shops,hotels, restaurants, traditional music & entertainment. All rooms including the Guest Lounge & Breakfast Room are furnished and decorated in period style. Bedrooms are ensuite and in room facilities include TV, Wifi and tea /coffee making facilities. Car park in house grounds. Cairbre House is renowned for its gourmet home cooked breakfasts. All dishes(incl vegitarian options) feature home grown garden & quality local produce. The Comeragh Mountains provide the perfect backdrop to the outstanding one acre waterfront gardens containing many rare & unusual plants. The conservatory/sunroom & balcony overlooking the Colligan River provides the oportunity to view the many wetland,seashore & wildlife close at hand. Dungarvan is an ideal location from which to visit the historic cities of Waterford,Cork,Kilkenny and the heritage towns of Lismore & Ardmore. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing