We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream come true”
Review of Cairbre House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dungarvan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cairbre House
Ranked #2 of 16 Dungarvan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2009

We were tired. We saw the signpost for Cairbre B&B as we were driving and impulsively turned down the street. I saw the house and, joking with my husband, said "oh please please please be it", knowing it probably wasn't. When we realized that this incredibly beautiful manor house WAS the B&B, I thought I'd gone to heaven. And that was before we saw the inside! The room we stayed in had the prettiest little window seat where I remained ensconced for the rest of the evening!

Brian was the most amazing host! Incredibly knowledgeable about the area, friendly, and welcoming. He sat us down with a cup of tea and cookies and provided us with maps of the area, pointing out restaurants, pubs and shopping in the area.

And breakfast? Wow! Delicious does not even start to cover it! Fresh items harvested from the garden that morning, fresh made Irish bread and wonderful company.

And add wireless Internet to all of this? Who could ask for more?

I'm trying to figure out how to plan my next vacation in Ireland around staying at Cairbre! We WILL be back! Save us a room Brian!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celticolleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 171 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2009

Brian's Cairbre House is a one-of-a-kind Inn within a great town. Brian's greeting at check-in is genuine and his care for your experience not only at his Inn but within the town of Dungarven is sincere. The Cairbre House is historic and full or character, the house was built almost 200 years ago, and it has been an Inn for almost 100 years.

After checking in, and getting settled; Brian had us downstairs for tea and biscuits, and then shared with us the menus and pro's and con's of each of the town's restaurants. I stayed at 3 different Inn's and a five star hotel during my ten days in Ireland; and never received this level of service.

Brian's breakfast was by far the best I had during my trip. He gathers his herbs and tomatoes from his garden and his food was fantastic.

We thought of Dungarven for we wanted to visit the Waterford Crystal Factory in nearby Waterford. However, that is a complete waste of time. The crystal is no longer even made there, and they stopped the tours. But, I am glad we planned as we did, or we would not have found the Cairbre House and Dungarven. Great place, great stay, and a great host!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nware1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Every little thing you could think of that a traveller might need had been thought of in this lovely B&B. The host, Brian, was delightful and most helpful in every respect. The rooms comfortable and nicely furnished, and the house and gardens in a lovely setting. We wished our schedule had allowed us to stay longer.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
Thank Margaret049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

There isn't much I can say that hasn't already been said about Brian's B&B, but my hope is to reinforce how nice it is. The B&B is lovely from the outside all covered in ivy and with Brian's beautiful gardens, and then equally lovely on the inside...exactly how you would expect a charming B&B to be. The rooms were indeed very clean but the showers were excellent with perfect water pressure. The location is great because you are right on the waterside and can sit outside or inside the observatory area to relax & take in the sights. One more very nice touch is that Brian uses vegetables, herbs, and flowers from his garden to prepare breakfast...wow!! Just can't say enough except I wish we had stayed for more than 1 night.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh-AnneBoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

This guest house is wonderful. Brian greeted us and gave us coffee and biscuits.He brought a map of the town and marked all the restaurants and gave us an idea of the type of food they offere.He has menus for all the restaurants which you may take to your room to look through.There are lots of leaflets and info in the rooms and also in the main hallway.The rooms are very clean and well equiped.The beds and pillows were wonderful. I had the best nights sleep I have had for ages.There is a lovely conservatory and balcony overlooking the river . The guest can use this. Brain offered wine glasses ice and lemon if needed.There is a selection of breakfast menus. All the foods you get on a good buffet and more. Lovely fresh fruit and the soda bread was wonderful. The irish breakfast was lovely good quality food well cooked and beautifully presented. So pleased we stayed there. If you book do it direct with Brian I did it online and it goes through an agent and the price is higher.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathjohnson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2009

We loved this place. We stopped over on the way to and from Baltimore. Brian was extremely attentive, but did not intrude. He was very friendly and helpful and leads walking groups for those that way inclined. As other guests have said he gave us a good run down on the local restaurants and we too chose Quealeys. We liked the food so much we decided to go back on the reurn journey, but it was a Saturday and you need to book. We went to the Traditional Itallian, big let down.

Dungarvan isn't a big place, but has a good selection of restaurants and bars etc. I would recommend this as a place to have a holiday, but certainly a good place to stop over.

Cairbre House is old fashioned, but clean and charming. You feel like you are staying in a favourite older relative's house. Breakfast was just superb and we had a good selection of breakfasts to choose from. We felt very much at home and would not hesitate in going back. Brian also has WI FI for those who can't leave it all behind.

if you have a dog Brian gave us the number of Sleady Kennels. It is run by an English lady, Justine, who, although nicely bonkers, was very attentive. Her facilities are very new and extremely clean. The dogs get a good run out each day.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Needmoreholdiays!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

We spent two nights at Cairbre House. We originally booked as we were traveling from Dingle to Dublin and figured this would be a good stop. We also wanted to tour Waterford factory. Alas, Waterford is on the brink of bankruptcy and has moved all its operations to Poland and Germany. So we used Dungarvan as a base to visit Cashel and Kilkenn

Cairbre is a family owned property, having been in the hands of Brian's wife's family for close to 200 years. The exterior of the house is quite impressive but we arrived on a terribly rainy night and the interior was a tad musty. Brian lit a fire in the parlor and that seemed to help.

Our bedroom had everything we would need, including a VERY comfortable bed. The bathroom, however, reminded me of a Maine camp. But for two nights it was sufficient. The highlight of Cairbre is the sunroom and on the second day, bright sunshine finally broke the mid-summer winterlike spell and it was truly heaven to sit there with a good book and just gaze at the river. Additionally, Brian keeps BEAUTIFUL gardens - he is truly devoted to his property.

Breakfast was quite sumptious, with the best smoked salmon I had in Ireland. But the presentation was a bit below the standards of our previous two b&b's.

Upon arrival, Brian presented us with a stack of menus and offered us a complete run down of dining options in Dungarvan. WE chose Queedys but then couldn't find it so decided upon Merry's. Merry's is run by a lovely woman who hails originally from Ireland but spent time stateside. We enjoyed dinner so much that we returned the second night as well.

Truthfully, if I had it do over, I'd skip Dungarvan and spend the additional nights in Kenmare, then head directly to Dublin. But no matter, don't skip Ireland as a vacation destination.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dungarvan hotels
3.7 mi away
Dun Ard
Dun Ard
#1 of 16 in Dungarvan
342 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tannery Townhouse
Tannery Townhouse
#5 of 16 in Dungarvan
153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Gold Coast Golf Resort
Gold Coast Golf Resort
#2 of 3 in Dungarvan
343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
#3 of 3 in Dungarvan
474 reviews
0 mi away
Comeragh View Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairbre House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairbre House

Address: Carriglea House Old Hospital Road | Abbeyside, Strandside North, Dungarvan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dungarvan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Dungarvan
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1819,this beautiful protected Georgian Period house is a multiple award 4*B&B. Award of Excellence Tripadvisor 5* Rating. Situated in a peaceful scenic setting with striking views, yet is located less than one km from the picturesque Dungarvan harbour and town centre with its excellent shops,hotels, restaurants, traditional music & entertainment. All rooms including the Guest Lounge & Breakfast Room are furnished and decorated in period style. Bedrooms are ensuite and in room facilities include TV, Wifi and tea /coffee making facilities. Car park in house grounds. Cairbre House is renowned for its gourmet home cooked breakfasts. All dishes(incl vegitarian options) feature home grown garden & quality local produce. The Comeragh Mountains provide the perfect backdrop to the outstanding one acre waterfront gardens containing many rare & unusual plants. The conservatory/sunroom & balcony overlooking the Colligan River provides the oportunity to view the many wetland,seashore & wildlife close at hand. Dungarvan is an ideal location from which to visit the historic cities of Waterford,Cork,Kilkenny and the heritage towns of Lismore & Ardmore. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing