We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay in Dungarvan”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cairbre House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dungarvan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cairbre House
Ranked #2 of 18 Dungarvan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in Dungarvan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2008

We booked the Cairbre House having read other reviews and we were not disappointed. The location was beautiful and a pleasant 15 minute walk into the town centre. Brian was a wonderful host who greeted us with genuine warmth. He immediately made a lovely pot of tea with biscuits and provided them whilst we sat in his gorgeous Rose Garden. The room was lovely and the views were terrific. The breakfast the following morning was out of this world in relation to quality and presentation, he had picked some of the herbs from his own garden that morning. We stayed in Ireland for a week and I wished I had more time at the Cairbre, it really is a lovely comfortable and clean place with a terrific host and the views made it so relaxing. There was also a range of restaurants and Pubs to chose from, we dined in Quealys and that was also very good.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Nothing I didn't like
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilJCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    28
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
78
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2008

We enjoyed our stay at Dungarvan! Brian was the first Irishman in Ireland we had chatted to at length and we learnt something about most Irishmen - they talk fast! But if you can listen fast you find out a lot about the area and your room and breakfast the next morning! (Irishmen walk fast too!) Brian was great and it was nice to have a cup of tea and a biscuit on our arrival in the sitting room. The breakfast the next morning was very tasty and the lovely pottery dinnerware was a nice touch, plus the homemade jams. It was great to be in an old house too! Our room was nice and comfy - big, we had the family room for two of us. It did not seem like the floor had been vacuumed before our arrival though. Everything else seemed clean. Great stay, house not out in the country like the picture on the website would make it seem. Short walk into town.

  • Liked — The view out the window
  • Disliked — Floor in bedroom not clean
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, new york
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2008

My friend and I stayed at the Cairbre house our first night in Ireland. Brian was wonderful. From the minute we walked in he was lovely and willing to assist us in any way he could. We had a lovely room and I must say the attention to detail was phenomenal. Everything was beautiful and purple! Brian assisted us in finding our way around the area and made suggestions for dinner, attractions, etc. The breakfast the next day was wonderful. Not your typical irish fare which was nice, with fresh herbs picked from his beautiful garden. I also liked that we had a bathroom in our room, and outside of the room was another beautiful bathroom with an enormous tub if one wished to take a nice bath. No other b&b compared to this one in our entire stay. Thank you Brian!

  • Liked — attention to detail
  • Disliked — can't say a bad thing!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommygrlnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2008

I just scanned the other reviews of Cairbre House and Brian, its proprietor, and everyone seems to say the same thing. Attention to detail. My friend and I were in the "purple" room, and everything was color-coordinated and lovely. Brian gave us a complete run-down of where to eat in town, and offered up his collection of menus for our perusal.
We both had the vegetarian breakfast (which Brian picked fresh herbs for), and it was just delicious!
The house is beautiful, the gardens are lovely, and the food was fabulous. Our only complaint was that the en suite bathroom was a bit small.

  • Liked — Brian, the house, the gardens, the food
  • Disliked — That it was our first B&B, so it was all downhill after this one
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethy1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrsjoebar
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2008

Our stay was so great, that we've booked the first few nights of our honeymoon there! Brian and Catherine were amazing, we'd never really stayed in Bed and Breakfasts before, but this was home from Home!!! I couldn't recommend this place highly enough! You'll absolutely love this lovely old house and the excellent breakfast and atmosphere and bonhommie!!!!!

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank mrsjoebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2008

We came across Cairbre House by chance while touring around Ireland and stayed there for one night on 15th March 2008.We parked in the big car park,knocked on door and enquired about a room for the night,the owner (Brian) invited us into his lovely home,offered us a cup of coffee and showed us around the only available room he had left to see if we liked it.It was a lovely big bedroom,very clean and nicely decorated with a nice warm feel about it.We loved it and decided to stay for the night.
Brian asked if we were going out into Dungarven for a meal,which we were,invited us into the downstairs living room with an open fire and showed us a collection of all the resturants menus so we could look through them at our leisure before deciding where to go.He then gave us a map of the town and showed us where all the resturants and nice pubs were.
After a night out we returned for a nice comfortable nights sleep and went down for breakfast in the morning.Before going downstairs i noticed Brian in the garden picking fresh flowers which were placed on the breakfast tables.The was a good selection of different breakfasts including vegetarian,which were lovely.We were lucky to find Brian and Cairbre house.The hospiltality was second to none,it was the best place we stayed in whilst touring Ireland and would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Liked — Brian
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackendale, Bc
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2007

My husband and I stayed here on a bicycle trip around the southern part of Ireland in June. We loved the house, the host, and the garden. The breakfast was very nice. Most of all, we felt welcomed and at home. Our bike gear was very wet and Brian and his work-mate (sorry, I've forgotten her name) were very helpful at drying everything out for us. It was one of the nicest places we stayed in Ireland and I would highly recommend it.

  • Liked — hospitality of host and the garden
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LonyM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dungarvan hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
0.4 mi away
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
#3 of 3 in Dungarvan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
2.5 mi away
Gold Coast Golf Resort
Gold Coast Golf Resort
#2 of 3 in Dungarvan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Dun Ard
Dun Ard
#1 of 18 in Dungarvan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tannery Townhouse
Tannery Townhouse
#4 of 18 in Dungarvan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comeragh View Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairbre House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairbre House

Property: Cairbre House
Address: Carriglea House Old Hospital Road | Abbeyside, Strandside North, Dungarvan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dungarvan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Dungarvan
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1819,this beautiful protected Georgian Period house is a multiple award 4*B&B. Award of Excellence Tripadvisor 5* Rating. Situated in a peaceful scenic setting with striking views, yet is located less than one km from the picturesque Dungarvan harbour and town centre with its excellent shops,hotels, restaurants, traditional music & entertainment. All rooms including the Guest Lounge & Breakfast Room are furnished and decorated in period style. Bedrooms are ensuite and in room facilities include TV, Wifi and tea /coffee making facilities. Car park in house grounds. Cairbre House is renowned for its gourmet home cooked breakfasts. All dishes(incl vegitarian options) feature home grown garden & quality local produce. The Comeragh Mountains provide the perfect backdrop to the outstanding one acre waterfront gardens containing many rare & unusual plants. The conservatory/sunroom & balcony overlooking the Colligan River provides the oportunity to view the many wetland,seashore & wildlife close at hand. Dungarvan is an ideal location from which to visit the historic cities of Waterford,Cork,Kilkenny and the heritage towns of Lismore & Ardmore. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing