We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cosy stay”
Review of Cairbre House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dungarvan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cairbre House
Ranked #2 of 16 Dungarvan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We originally booked for one night, but so much liked the place that we stayed for two. The rooms are old fashioned and cosy and the beds very comfy. Brian is a very welcoming host and we also enjoyed a chat over a lovely breakfast with - I think - Katrina. Thanks for your warm hospitality.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
There are newer reviews for Cairbre House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 169 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

Cairbre House is a lovely comfortable atmospheric home with a warm and capable host. Our room was comfortable (lovely comfortable beds with yummy heavy blankets) and had a good (free!) internet connection. The breakfast is suberb, large and varied; we both rose from the table each morning positively radiant with calories and cholesterol! My 10 year old son and I were made to feel more than welcome during our 4-night stay and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra_BT_Hannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have just spent 2 nights at cairbre house .It has a great atmosphere ,lovely views ,and a comfortable old world charm . The conservatory was a fantastic place to sit before dinner with a glass of wine. Brian and his team made us very welcome . A great place to stay .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruthikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Not modern, not sophisticated. Lovely, old world, comfortable, hospitable, great atmosphere, superb breakfasts ...

Friends who have come more than once, sat out in the back garden having a glass of wine with Brian, the owner, said it feels like going home. I can't think of a better recommendation.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NjTravel_hound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was a great find, thanks to the tourism office in Dungarvan. Being birders, we appreciated the view of the mudflats on the estuary right from our window and from the conservatory at the front of the house. A telescope was even provided for guests' use. We were given a lovely double room suite, and we had lots of space to enjoy the period decor and very comfortable bed and pillows. The building was built over two hundred years ago and had been used as a hospital at some points during its history. Brian, the current owner, is the husband of a direct descendent of the first woman who used is as a guest house in 1913. He has a beautiful garden, and serves fresh herbs in the morning breakfasts, which are very special. We had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. Can't say enough good about it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadasnowcap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We recently spent 4 nights at Cairbre House and could not have been more pleased with our choice. We called and spoke to Brian in advance and discussed the best room for our needs. Everything he described was accurate, no surprises.
The house and Brian's own family and his inlaws all have interesting stories which he was happy to share when asked. Many photos displayed had us asking several times.
In addition to the comfortable room and fine location for walking into Dungarvan while still being in a quiet location, breakfast was always a nice choice, well presented and delicious. Brian and his staff could not have done anything more to make our stay any better.
We've read Fran C's (from London) review because it was one negative as opposed to all the postive reviews. If you are considering Cairbre House I would say ignore her rantings. She must have been having a bad day. Not a bit of what she wrote in any way matches what we found. Brian did have to leave at times but there was always someone there to welcome anyone arriving. Maybe Fran C expects the owners to always wait for her grand entrance.
And in our 5 days/4nights at Cairbre House there was never any indication that Brian or anyone on the staff had been drinking as Fran C, in her nonsense review, stated. Maybe the "roaring and thundering traffic" and her "barked shins" were caused by her drinking?
Believe the positive reviews. It is obvious hers is way out of line with other guests.

Room Tip: Call ahead and talk to Brian about what he has available, how much luggage you have, and just what y...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJB105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We visited Dungarvan for one night in the middle of a wonderful trip to Ireland late August to early September 2012. First of all the city is a beautiful port city with surrounding mountains. We arrived late in day after a quick check in set out to find some good food. Brian was very helpful in finding Cairbre House (we got a bit lost at last roundabout). The Cairbre House is very unique in that it was used to be a hospital then turned in to a B&B over a hundred years ago. Our room was spacious and comfortable. We loved our stay in Dungarvan and the Cairbre House.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finsterErie_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dungarvan hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
0.4 mi away
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
#3 of 3 in Dungarvan
454 reviews
2.2 mi away
Gold Coast Golf Resort
Gold Coast Golf Resort
#2 of 3 in Dungarvan
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Dun Ard
Dun Ard
#1 of 16 in Dungarvan
327 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tannery Townhouse
Tannery Townhouse
#5 of 16 in Dungarvan
151 reviews
3.0 mi away
Seaview Guesthouse
Seaview Guesthouse
#8 of 16 in Dungarvan
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairbre House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairbre House

Address: Carriglea House Old Hospital Road | Abbeyside, Strandside North, Dungarvan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dungarvan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Dungarvan
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1819,this beautiful protected Georgian Period house is a multiple award 4*B&B. Award of Excellence Tripadvisor 5* Rating. Situated in a peaceful scenic setting with striking views, yet is located less than one km from the picturesque Dungarvan harbour and town centre with its excellent shops,hotels, restaurants, traditional music & entertainment. All rooms including the Guest Lounge & Breakfast Room are furnished and decorated in period style. Bedrooms are ensuite and in room facilities include TV, Wifi and tea /coffee making facilities. Car park in house grounds. Cairbre House is renowned for its gourmet home cooked breakfasts. All dishes(incl vegitarian options) feature home grown garden & quality local produce. The Comeragh Mountains provide the perfect backdrop to the outstanding one acre waterfront gardens containing many rare & unusual plants. The conservatory/sunroom & balcony overlooking the Colligan River provides the oportunity to view the many wetland,seashore & wildlife close at hand. Dungarvan is an ideal location from which to visit the historic cities of Waterford,Cork,Kilkenny and the heritage towns of Lismore & Ardmore. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing