We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel - some small changes could make a difference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dungarvan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend trip with a group. The hotel lobby/bar was nice but the corridor to the bedrooms on the ground floor was a bit tired looking. The swing doors were chipped and in need of some paint. There was a sign saying there was painting in progress so maybe that was why.

The bedroom looked like it had been recently painted. The floor however was marked and badly fitted. The throw on the bed had a black mark and several pulled threads (see attached photo). Although its only a small thing it really effects your first impression of the room. The furniture looked a bit shabby. The windows were not in a great state - there was a gap at the bottom of one of the windows - where it won't close properly. Given the cold temperatures out it was not great.

The room was in a quiet section of the hotel so I heard very little noise. The bed was also very comfortable.

The breakfast had a small continental buffet (some cereals toast, fruit etc) or you could order a fry/porridge etc from waiters.

Service from the staff was adequate but no more. In general I would say this hotel only does the bare minimum. It seemed to be a busy place so I guess they feel that is all that is required.

A few small changes would make a big difference.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dee153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (724)
There are newer reviews for Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

514 - 520 of 724 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

We pass by this hotel about 6 times a month and decided to try it for food.
Parked up in the hotel which was free, and went in. Hotel is very clean and well presented, as too is the bar where we went in for dinner. Went to the bar counter and were met by blank faced young man who stood and said nothing untill i prompted him for some food menus, which he gave us and we seated ourselves. Menu was decent with enough choice. I ordered a Roast and my partner a chicken burger. While waiting she used the bathrooms by reception and on her way passed the kitchen where the chef and floor staff were having a screaming match.. This might explain why up to now we never seen any waiting staff, they were busy fighting with the chef.
The food arrived and the waitress told us to be carefull of the hot bowls of veg, dont know why as they and the veg were cold. My partners chicken was obviously boiled and had several spots of pink so was sent back to be done some more, came back out with grill marks on it and an excuse that the chicken was pink where the bone was, sorry but it was still pink !! The waitress did offer to recook it in a different way but we declined and ate everything except the chicken.
I went to the bar and asked the blank faced young man for the bill, which he promptly got and took the cash, no enquiry if we enjoyed our meals, I decided not to complain as it was obvious that none of the staff on duty were too botherd, so I paid the full amount and we left.
For a 4 star hotel this was a let down, with disintrested staff and poor quality food we wont be back.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Nuggie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed midweek and had a lovely time. The staff are very friendly and helpfull. the rooms were clean, with lovely comfy beds. We used the swimming pool, there were some broken tiles, but apart from that it was lovely. Thank you all for a lovely stay

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariared1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Took up a midweek offer and stayed at this hotel for two nights. We had a very pleasant stay with our nine month old baby. Very nice and friendly staff. We had a lovely room which was very spacious for both us and the baby. We ate at the bar on our first night and the food and service was lovely. Tried the pool and I must say the girl at the desk there on Wednesday afternoon was fantastically helpful to me and the baby. The hotel however is a bit dated and could do with a freshening up. a wider variety at the breakfast buffet could be offered. It would be nice also if bread of a far better quality was used rather than the cheapest sliced pan. Overall, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnycarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed in this hotel last weekend on a deal we had bought of a website and was looking forward to it.When we arrived we were allocated a ground floor room and told we had a walk in shower instead of a bath.When we opened the door of the room we noticed it had an interconecting door to the next room then on entering the bathroom instead of a walk in shower it was a disabled shower with a corral and a seat.The room looked nothing like the website and we also looked out on to a concrete area.We were not happy with our room so we asked to change.We were given a room on the first floor which was grand.The next morning we went for breakfast and were surprised to be given a breakfast that looked like it had been cooked early that morning and the evening meal was the same so we skipped breakfast on the second morning and ate elsewhere.The hotel is in a great spot as it is near everything but after a two and a half hour drive it was a shame that we had to leave the hotel to find somewhere to eat and I dont think we will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Just returned from a very pleasant stay in this hotel. We stayed in a family room on a 2 B+B plus 1 dinner deal. There is a real warm friendly feel to the hotel with very pleasant and helpful staff. The dinner in the restaurant was excellent, not rushed, great service and very good quality food. The lobby is spacious and very comfortable next to a busy bar with a good atmosphere. We did not eat in the bar but the food did look very good and seemed to be popular with locals. The location is perfect with the town just 5 minutes walk away. There is also a large playground with zip wire just 2 minutes walk away which is perfect for kids up to 12 years old. The leisure centre was ok, possibly a little dated but a large section of the main pool was suitable and safe for kids while not taking from the swimming lanes. The only let down was the breakfast. There is a very small area for juice and cereal with the cooked breakfast to order but got the feeling it was sitting in the kitchen for some time and was cold both mornings which was surprising as the evening dinner was so good. Over all though, a very enjoyable stay and would recommend it especially for a family break.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ball11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights via a deal website voucher. The hotel itself is in a good location just outside the main town with lots of parking. The room was ok a couple of dents and scrapes around the walls but i have stayed in worse . Tried the swimming pool but the water was to cold , the whole swimming pool and changing rooms needs a big make over everything old, or rusty or just dirty, I did ask the pool attendant is the pool area and changing rooms awaiting a make over but was told no . There was a very large wedding party at the hotel and seemed to take over the place , very noisy and children just left to run riot all afternoon and night . Breakfast was average all pre cooked in the kitchen earlier that morning and served so was not very fresh. The package included a 4 course meal on one night and was a complete let down , the starters was poor , my partner and my main course was sent back as it was horrible , i asked the waiter is there anything on the whole of the menu that is cooked fresh to order and her reply was "yes" ONLY the steak so we tried this and to be fair it was good but the veg were tasteless and powered gravy . On the first night we had to call security at around 3.30 a.m as there was a party next door and we could not sleep.We spoke to reception the next morning and they did apoligise and said these people are checking out today. I would not stay here again and would not recommend it either espicially the food , we found a very very good indian restaurant in town near the waters edge. If you have already purchased from a deal web site i would advise to go when there is no weddings or engagements etc as the next night was alot more civilised and the bar was enjoyable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carl e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dungarvan
0.3 mi away
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
#3 of 3 in Dungarvan
454 reviews
2.4 mi away
Gold Coast Golf Resort
Gold Coast Golf Resort
#2 of 3 in Dungarvan
335 reviews
10.8 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,189 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Pilgrims Rest Hotel (ADULTS ONLY)
15.8 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel & Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel & Leisure Centre

Address: Shandon, Dungarvan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dungarvan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dungarvan
Price Range: $101 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Hotel & Leisure Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Hotel, Leisure Centre & Self Catering Holiday Homes is the perfect venue for a relaxing getaway break on the beautiful Waterford coastline. Situated in idyllic surroundings; The Park Hotel is located on the N25 (main road from Rosslare) (just 15 minutes from the M9, and 30 minutes from the M8 – on the outskirts of the vibrant Dungarvan town on the main Cork – Waterford Roadway. The hotel is situated on it’s own 5 acres of landscaped gardens overlooking the Colligan Estuary; and adjacent to Dungarvan Bay, and Dungarvan Town Centre. Dungarvan is a lively town with a list of award winning restaurants, Bars, and with only a 5 minute drive to 3 Golf Courses and the beautiful Clonea Beach – this is Paradise for all discerning holiday makers who want quality food, accommodation, service, shopping, sight-seeing, golf, combined with a truly Irish social life to enhance the trip. Set on an excellent road network you will not spend your holiday on the road or stuck in traffic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Park Hotel & Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel And Leisure Centre
Park Hotel Dungarvan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing