We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Indian Ocean Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 41 Restaurants in Dungarvan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Food was fantastic , services was a little slow , but all in all it was lovely . Food great services slow

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    57
    14
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dungarvan, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Well worth a visit when in Dungarvan. Tasty and varied menu. Good service and excellent value. The staff are friendly and the location is fantastic as the restaurant is situated on the waterfront. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The atmosphere is good.”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

It's a nice, warm comfortable restaurant. The food is good, but the chunks of meat oversized. The waiter spilled wine all over me, and on the day, the food wasn't good, and the service was poor and when I suggested to the waiter he might throw in the price of the wine, the most he could come up with was a voucher for a take away. Which would be grand if you were living in Dungarvan. Pales into insignificance compared to the food in the Saffron Indian Restaurant in Lismore.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungarvan, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No other indian will ever taste as good!”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

The Indian Ocean offers a nice cosy restaurant with window seats over looking the harbor. The food is delicious! I have eaten in many different Indian restaurants, nationally and internationally, and no other meal ever came close to the Indian Ocean. The portions are generous and the service is good too. As a local resident, the Indian Ocean is a treat meal! Fab food in a fab restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suz_M_7917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Never going here again”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Tried to get a table here on BH Saturday. The restaurant was very busy. The staff looked unhappy that we walked in. No eye contact and ignored for 5 mins. We know they were under pressure but they should have been honest and refused us politely instead of pretending we were invisible. We ended up walking away.
A few nights later we decided to order a take away meal. I ordered it at 8.30pm and was told it would take 40 mins. It arrived at 10.55pm. We couldn't eat the food it was so bad. Both the chicken rasalla and chicken balti might have well been the same dish. Both were an artificial tomato soup colour. The only nice part of the meal was the Corriander nan. The mixed veg starter (photo included) was deep fried broken up scaps that didn't resemble food. All this cost €35 and ended up in the bin.

Helpful?
3 Thank 100sara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Ocean Restaurant also viewed

Dungarvan, County Waterford
Dungarvan, County Waterford
 
Dungarvan, County Waterford
Dungarvan, County Waterford
 

Been to Indian Ocean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing