We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Indian Ocean Restaurant

Indian Ocean Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 38 Restaurants in Dungarvan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Balti, Seafood, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great value, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

One of the best Indian restaurants around. Great value and food for both take away and eating in. Lovely atmosphere inside complimented by great staff, something that sadly cannot be said for the Chinese restaurant close by. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    52
    14
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Smarter than your average Indian restaurant...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The food and service are a cut above the ordinary. There is a nice attention to detail and there is a good buzz about the place on a sunny evening... some Indian restaurants can feel a bit empty, quiet and formal but this has a nice lively atmosphere.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BCNbuckshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wexford
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Had wonderful starters but the main courses could have been better. More flavour was needed in my Korma and less tomatoes in my husband's Madras. The atmosphere was good and the restaurant has wonderful views. Staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank colchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Location...Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

This Indian Restaurant is situated on the Quayside in Dungarvan, with beautiful views of the harbour from your table.

We did not book in advance, and although it was reasonably busy we had no difficulty in getting a table (a window one with views). It was early on a Sunday evening, but I would imagine that at busier times it would be wise to make a reservation.

The food was of good quality and tasty and we did not have to wait very long for any of the courses to be served. I usually go for a Madras Curry at an Indian Restaurant and I found it to be a little sweet, but this is my preference and I enjoyed the meal that I had.

A good well presented meal in a restaurant that is in a superb location.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank johnhoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
463 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Great Indian Menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Visited as part of a small group. The menu is very varied and interesting. The Indian cod starter is recommended. The mains highlighted as mild are a bit too spicy for my palette but this would be just a personal preference and not any criticism on what is a lovely restaurant. Atmosphere is excellent with Indian music playing and great to finish with an Indian tea. (Hard to come across in Irish Indian restaurants). Have been here a few times and I will return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ShaneMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Ocean Restaurant also viewed

Dungarvan, County Waterford
Dungarvan, County Waterford
 
Dungarvan, County Waterford
Dungarvan, County Waterford
 

Been to Indian Ocean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing