We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but tasty pub food”
Review of Merrys Gastro Pub

Merrys Gastro Pub
Ranked #3 of 42 Restaurants in Dungarvan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: American, Irish
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simple but tasty pub food”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Good menu. Sensible prices. Good value. Good size pub, comfortable seating. Great service. Not sure I can add more.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blackrocket2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    148
    45
    26
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Poor service, average food”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The menu looked promising, but our meal was a let down. It wasn't desperately busy, but there were only two waitresses and neither of them were particularly suited to the service industry, given that neither possessed a smile.
I chose 'potted pig' which turned out to be pig fat and grizzle in a glass.
Others' meals weren't as bad, but everything came out at different times and we had to wait ages for drinks.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Gastro Pub”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Good service, attentive staff and good value for the portions and quality. High end pub grub. There is a lot of competition in Dungarvan and this one stands out.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oaklands2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere in this gastro pub is great.
Six of us had a meal last Saturday night , we all agreed it was superb.
I started with mushroom covered by blue cheese melt and chip lets on side. My main course fresh fish, ray wing with melted date butter and onion purée. Accompanied by baby potatoes mixed with chorizo and herbs.
Prices very reasonable and great service by friendly staff.
We all agreed we will return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greenogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Hits the spot !”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Located just around the corner from Dungarvan Castle and almost beside the Tannery Restaurant Merrys is a lovely, cosy, friendly old fashioned style pub offering a great atmosphere and menu. We were seated in a small dining room off the main bar which is also used for private dinners - we were there for a birthday party - and although there were over 20 people eating at the same time every person that was there was served almost at the same time. The variety of options on the menu covered every taste. The food was fresh, well cooked, well presented and very tasty...there were lots of tasting of other peoples dishes :) and every plate was sent back to the kitchen empty.
I tried both the Caesar Salad and the Slow cooked Pork Salad and both were plentiful and tasty. The lobster risotto was huge and would certainly feed two people.. I ordered my steak medium rare and it arrived perfectly cooked and seasoned to perfection. The lamb was falling off the bone...this cannot be considered just pub food...it was so much better !
There was live music on the night we were there and the pub side was packed and everybody seemed to be having a great night.
Certainly well worth paying a visit if you ever get to Dungarvan !

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Irishgirlabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merrys Gastro Pub also viewed

Dungarvan, County Waterford
Dungarvan, County Waterford
 
Dungarvan, County Waterford
Dungarvan, County Waterford
 
Dungarvan, County Waterford
 

Been to Merrys Gastro Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing