We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Bit of Irish Magic”
other travelers have booked this property
Jack's Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Jack's Cottage
The Dock at Jack's Cottage Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Jack's Cottage
The Dock at Jack's Cottage
Dining Room
Main double bedroom
Kitchen
Utility Room
Bathroom
High tide  on the Blackwater
Up the Blackwater River, to the Knockmealdowns
Jack\'s Cottage
Living room
Rainstorm over the Knockmealdowns
What to do!
Bedlinen and towels provided
Top of the lane
Lower lane
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Dungarvan, County Waterford

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Robert196...
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“A Bit of Irish Magic”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

It's difficult to put into words just how nice this pretty little thatched cottage in the country truly is, and how much we've enjoyed staying here. Far off the beaten tourist path, it feels as though we've stepped back in time to an earlier and more relaxing age. The cottage itself is even more wonderful than the photos suggest - all of the modern necessities required to self cater are here. The grounds are beautiful, and the hosts couldn't be nicer. Waterford is an easy day trip, as are Cashel, Ardmore, Youghal and Cork. Thing is - once you're here and have a turf fire going you'll never want to leave the cottage. Our one week stay here wasn't nearly long enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the cottage and the area.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury
Reviewed June 10, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
niallmcco...
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Peace, Tranquillity & Comfort”
Reviewed November 8, 2010 for a stay in October 2010

After travelling trough numerous countries throughout the world and having stayed in countless B&B's/Guest Houses I have never been compiled to write a review. But after returning home from a wonderful weekend stay at Jacks Cottage I feel an urge to tell folk of this gem of a hide away.
The boureen to the cottage is somewhat tight on the first approach, but driven once it becomes the norm. On arrival to the cottage you are greeted with the most pristine grounds and the cottage itself is immaculately clean. The cottage decoration has been sympathetic to the origins, all but for the ultra modern bathroom, which offers a walk in rain-shower, enormous bath, under floor heating all of which where most welcome respite after a days canoeing on the river Blackwater or walk in the unspoiled woodlands of the area. The open fire in the dining area also adds to the cosy atmosphere.
There are many local attractions such as Waterford Crystal design centre, the Tannery restaurant (vote best in Ireland 2006), the five star Cliff Hotel in near by Ardmore, is within cycling distance and have some a best scones ever tasted! The locality to the river provides the nature enthusiast with an abundance of bird life and on occasion otters can be seen from the cottages private jetty or the purpose built watch tower set on the river bank.
The icing on the trip was the warm welcome offered by Bridie and Ben, you are instantly put a easy and you are made feel that the cottage is yours from the outset.
Thanks again the Bridie and Ben for a wonderful weekend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with young children Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near Saratoga Springs NY
Reviewed October 17, 2010 for a stay in March 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wellingborough
Reviewed October 7, 2010 for a stay in June 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: Location and homely feel
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Family (extended)
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Belfast
Reviewed September 29, 2010 for a stay in August 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with teenagers
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oxfordshire
Reviewed September 29, 2010 for a stay in July 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with young children
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$106
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing