We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eddie Cantwell Rocks”

Waterford County Museum
Ranked #3 of 15 things to do in Dungarvan
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A museum dedicated to preserving and promoting the history of County Waterford. Completely renovated in 2009, admission is free of charge. The museum is open Monday to Friday during the Winter and early Spring. It also opens on Saturday afternoons during the Summer and Autumn months. The museum is a non profit, registered charity, community run organisation that has won several national and international awards for it's work preserving the localities history.
Penfield, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Eddie Cantwell Rocks”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

thank you so much for your genealogy help and taking us to the library and meeting people who helped us in our ancestor search. the museum is wonderful. love the design.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Patsy31748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    5
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watford
Level Contributor
125 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Really interesting and great staff”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

This was our first trip to the Museum even though we have been coming to Dungarvan since we were children. We really enjoyed it. It is laid out really well so you can follow the history of Waterford right from the Stone Age to the present. We found it really informative and learnt so much about the area and famous people who we didn't know had come from there. It was interesting to read about the local area and see photos from the past. While I was there a man came in with 2 teenage children. One of the staff came out and engaged with the 2 youngsters talking about the vikings and getting them to try on chain mail and feel the weight of the swords. They were totally engrossed. I asked about trying to trace family records and the lady gave me great advice plus the name of someone who we could email for further advice. All in all a very interesting museum that has obviously got some great backing from the local community.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice-Mick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bluff, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wally was a knowledgable host to us”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

It was a good collection of the really local history that we came all the way from California to learn about!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DLorahH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Keeping the memory alive”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

As a TA user of many years (and many reviews) it would be easy to be cynical when an attraction has 35 reviews (34 at 5 stars and 1 at 4 stars). In this case it would be totally unfounded. This is a museum in the best sense, it preserves the memories and stories of real people. My family came from near Dungarvan and although I could only manage to stay a couple of days Eddie Cantwell arranged to open the museum for us. He also contacted some relatives who none of us had met previously. He and Nicholas Graves then proceeded to relate the stories behind the exhibits. It was in all ways a memorable day. If you are looking for genealogical links it is priceless. But this museum is not only for researching ancestry, it is a must see for anyone interested in the history of the local area.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CelticFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungarvan, Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“well worth a visit”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I had put off visiting this facility for a long time as my expectations were that it would be of slight interest to me being a native of Dungarvan, how wrong I was. An amazing collection of memorabilia of so many happenings associated with the town and county supported by artifacts of a time past. I was particularly delighted to come across a photo of my family drapery business taken in 1918. This museum is an absolute treasure, it is interesting and informative on so many aspects of the county that you could not but enjoy your visit, thanks to the hard work and dedication of all those involved who by the way are most helpful and knowledgeable on their subject matter. Whether you are local or not, it is well worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterford County Museum also viewed

Dungarvan, County Waterford
Dungarvan, County Waterford
 
Dungarvan, County Waterford
 

Been to Waterford County Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing