We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch”
Review of Seanachai Bar and Restaurant - CLOSED

Seanachai Bar and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: An Seanachaí is an award winning traditional Irish Bar & restaurant - with 12 holiday cottages attached. An Seanachaí serves casual friendly home-cooked meals daily. It has a cosy restaurant serving a good choice of contemporary Irish and seafood dishes by night.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We enjoyed Sunday lunch on a busy day. Itv was buffet style and there was plenty of choice of well cooked vegetables and meats. As the place was so busy, tables were at a premium and several groups had to share. It was a good way to meet people! Plenty of parking was available and the tablets were tidied promptly after groups vacated. Good value dining

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnMarion H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    64
    13
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simple Food cooked Beautifully”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We popped for some pre-walking nourishment and were very happy to chance upon such wonderful food - local, fresh ingredients, cooked beautifully. The seafood chowder was scrumptious - salmon, mussels, shrimp in a wonderfully thick creamy, lemony soup. Shame we were too full to indulge completely in the spicy chicken goujons and chips that we'd ordered to share. Generous helpings. We'll definitely be returning when we can. We've been hunting for a replacement favourite restaurant since the closure of the Chop House in Lismore. This is definitely a new option worth considering!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaymanAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overpriced drinks”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Popped in there on the way home for a drink with my wife and was floored when I was charged 6 euro for a hot port. When I complained to the barman he just laughed. I live within 10 mins to this establishment and the usual price for this drink is less than 4 euro as port is quite cheap, much cheaper than whiskey or brandy. Had gone there with family for Sunday lunch a couple of years ago and we had a complaint about a dish (ham hock) and again got no satisfaction. I know this place gets passing traffic but as a local they are shooting themselves in the foot by not listening in a serious way the complaints of their customers.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Djangofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
159 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Sunday carvery and a warm welcome”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We enjoyed a delicious carvery lunch at the Seanachai Bar this afternoon while travelling back from Cork (Sunday Dec 2nd,2012). I had the beef, my husband had lamb and the children had chicken. The meat was excellent and was served with a choice of tasty vegetables. We had a lovely table in front of the fire and were made very welcome by the friendly staff. They were attentive without being intrusive and made sure we had everything we needed. My husband remembered being there as a child and today's visit reinforced those lovely memories, we will definitely return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eaka2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“The Best”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Wonderful Irish Pub in Dungarvan. Delicious food, friendly, helpful staff. Would highly recommend.
The best Beef and Guinness Stew.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Holly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seanachai Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Dungarvan, County Waterford
Dungarvan, County Waterford
 
Dungarvan, County Waterford
Dungarvan, County Waterford
 
Dungarvan, County Waterford
Dungarvan, County Waterford
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing