We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bayside 2nd stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bayside

Bayside
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bayside
Ranked #10 of 18 Dungarvan B&B and Inns
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bayside 2nd stay”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Bayside a second time (stayed last year at around the same time). Great location for touring the Waterford area. Our hosts were great and the view of the Bay is fantastic. The breakfasts were delicious and the hosts were courteous and helpful in planning our day trips. It's only a short ride into Dungarven town. When I visited last year without a car, the hosts arranged a taxi for me to go into town to research at the County archives. A welcoming B&B!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatN308, Owner at Bayside, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thanks for your kind words. It gives us great confidence to have repeat overseas visitors. It was a pleasure accomodating your party. Freshly cooked to order breakfasts are standard for our guests. Looking forward to your 3rd.visit. Happy & healthy 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
13
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband and I recently spent three nights at Bayside, Dungarven, Ireland. Our room and bath were spotless and comfortable, not to mention the view of the bay from our bedroom window, and the breakfasts were wonderful. Sheila and Patrick go out of their way to make their guests feel comfortable and at home. We were given suggestions regarding places to eat dinner in Dungarven and Patrick took the time to write out directions to Kilkenny for us.

Room Tip: There is no bad view at Bayside
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatN308, Owner at Bayside, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. It was a pleasure having you and your friends. Assisting you with travel directions, which I hope were not too difficult to follow, was all part of the service we give to make a stay more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed at Bayside for a weekend and was made to feel very welcome. the room was spotless and had all I needed. the views are stunning over looking the bay. there was a great variety for breakfast. would stay there again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatN308, Owner at Bayside, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Jane, It was a pleasure to host you and your sister. Thank you for the positive review and your chocolates, which were appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plum City, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

The rooms overlook a bay, and it's a beautiful overlook. The owners are very helpful with tips on what to see in the area.
Sheila hangs out her sheets on the line to dry. This results in lovely smelling bed linen and towels. The breakfast is delightful.
Wonderful, relaxing place to experience. Our room was a bit cramped, but that's my only complaint. It's still a great value.A
I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatN308, Owner at Bayside, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments. All of our laundry is dried on the open air clothes line which gives it a clean fresh feel and smell. Breakfasts are cooked to order and served immediately. Thank you for staying at Bayside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rensselaer, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My family and I recently stayed at the Bayside in Dungarvan. This was our fifth night in Ireland. The home was lovely, the view was beautiful but our welcome was anything but warm.
Upon our arrival, we were told by our hostess that she does not normally open before Easter. Understandable. I don't usually travel during Easter myself. She proceeded to tell us that she wasn't ready for the season and she had family coming for Easter and kept repeating that she wasn't ready and didn't usually open so early.
The house was on the list for our vouchers. We made the reservations LAST FALL. She could have contacted us and explained the situation prior to March and we would have happily made other arrangements. Telling us this upon our arrival, just before dark on Good Friday was not the time to tell us this. Without outright saying so, she made it quite plain that she didn't want us there and would like us to leave which was impossible at that point. We had no idea if there was another B & B that accepted vouchers in the area, nor were we familiar with the area and it was almost dark. She made us feel very unwelcome. We left for dinner, came back and went to bed trying to be as unobtrusive as possible. In the morning, she was as unfriendly as she was when we arrived while taking orders for breakfast. There was no chit chat, advise for our trip or warm farewell. It was such a relief to be leaving!
As I said, the accommodations were lovely but the hospitality left a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovemyfamily1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatN308, Owner at Bayside, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Guests are always welcome at Bayside as were the group represented in the review, who occuppied 2 rooms.The booking was made on 8th.Dec.'12 - post Fall.
On your arrival, the host as a courtesy, updated you on what was happening in-house - family arriving for Easter and the recent reopening of the house for the 2013 season. Somehow this was misinterpreted to mean that you should leave - an issue that would never be contemplated, in any shape or form.
We were pleased to host guests from Indiana. It was nice of you to make 2 entries in our Visitors Book saying,"Thank you." It is disappointing that you did not see fit to address your concerns while in-house rather than later, at a remove.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
243 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We traveled to Ireland in October 2012 and decided to not pre-reserve rooms for every night. After arriving in Waterford at 5pm on our first day of driving the Emerald Island, we called the Bayside B&B. We were glad to find they had a double room available because we did not know if rooms were easily available at this time of year. The 68EUR room rate was reasonable for the second floor room with pretty views of the bay. Our main issue was not having bar soap available and the shower gel didn’t seem to do a good job cleansing. Nothing else about this property was memorable so we can only give it an average rating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnGalt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatN308, Owner at Bayside, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thanks for staying at Bayside. Bar soap was not available but liquid handwash soap in a dispenser was. The shower gel was the product of a highly reputable international company. I guess the reason there are so many shower gels available is that everyone would'nt like just one particular one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacey, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I was lucky enough to stay 4 nights at Bayside B & B last week. The home is immaculate, the bed comfortable and the breakfast good and cooked to order. Sheila recommended a bar further down to road where I got wonderful hand made pizza while sitting and looking out at Dungarvan Bay. Pat cooked great breakfasts every morning and helped me find my way about Dungarvan and it's surroundings. My favorite: eating my breakfast while looking out at the bay-I could sit there all day. There were no false statements in the B & B book-you'll love it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatN308, Owner at Bayside, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for staying at Bayside and for your kind words. We were happy to help you in your ancestral search.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dungarvan hotels
0.1 mi away
Gold Coast Golf Resort
Gold Coast Golf Resort
#2 of 3 in Dungarvan
303 reviews
2.5 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
2.4 mi away
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
#3 of 3 in Dungarvan
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Dun Ard
Dun Ard
#1 of 18 in Dungarvan
298 reviews
1.6 mi away
St Anthonys Guesthouse
St Anthonys Guesthouse
#9 of 18 in Dungarvan
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comeragh View Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside

Property: Bayside
Address: Gold Coast Road, Dungarvan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dungarvan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Dungarvan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Bayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing