We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly!”
Review of Bayside

Bayside
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bayside
Ranked #11 of 16 Dungarvan B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I was lucky enough to stay 4 nights at Bayside B & B last week. The home is immaculate, the bed comfortable and the breakfast good and cooked to order. Sheila recommended a bar further down to road where I got wonderful hand made pizza while sitting and looking out at Dungarvan Bay. Pat cooked great breakfasts every morning and helped me find my way about Dungarvan and it's surroundings. My favorite: eating my breakfast while looking out at the bay-I could sit there all day. There were no false statements in the B & B book-you'll love it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peggy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatN308, Owner at Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for staying at Bayside and for your kind words. We were happy to help you in your ancestral search.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 36 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

Out of 7 so far in our 3 week trip, this has been the most beautiful and comfortable of them all! The home AND the grounds are immaculate and everything is in place. Quiet luxury and breakfast was delicious. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatN308, Owner at Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for your review which is much appreciated. It's nice to know that we get it right some of the time eventhough we endeavour to gett it right all of the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Sheila and Patrick are wonderful hosts. My husband and I felt very much at home staying at the Bayside. In fact, we liked it so much that on our second day, we extended our stay with them instead of moving to a B&B closer to the Cork Airport for our last night.

The location is fantastic. It's quiet with a beautiful view, but just a very short drive (5-10 minutes) to downtown. There is a walking / biking trail nearby, and if I am not mistaken, it would be possible to walk to the town center from the B&B using the trail for a good part of the walk.

Our room was very comfortable, very clean and had a lovely view of the bay. The decor is modern, not fussy. Breakfast was excellent -- the eggs were always perfect and there was a great assortment of fruit, cereal, yogurt, cheese, etc. Coffee from a French press -- Heaven!

Sheila's attention to detail was notable. We had some leftover wine, which we had set on the vanity when we checked in. When we returned to our room at the end of the day -- wine glasses had been provided. On our last night, extra coffee makings were provided in our room, which was much appreciated during the morning when we were packing.

Finally: My recently acquired bronchitis had morphed into a sinus infection and I needed to see a doctor to get an antibiotic fast before our flight out. Sheila kindly recommended a great doctor in convenient location in downtown Dungarvan and made an appointment for me. This allowed me to take just a short break from family research at the Dungarvan Library and get the meds I needed. Left to my own devices, I probably would have wasted half the day finding a good doc then finding their office.

I highly recommend the Bayside and we will stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carolyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to write the review. Town centre is 45mins.brisk walk, two miles of which is along the seafront. Breakfast should always be good when it is cooked to order.If we can help with any problem we are delighted to do so. Good luck with your ancestral research. Pat & Sheila.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I agree with the other reviews as the B&B has beautiful views and is very clean. I was disappointed that the proprietor did not explain to me that I would be charged the full room rate for two rooms if we did not stay there the 2nd night, I mistakenly booked. I booked two nights online when I really meant to book one. If I had known we would have stayed. Instead I come home to an email a week later informing me of the $113 charge to my credit card. Beware of a passive aggressive hostess.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatN308, Owner at Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2012

Susan,through B&B Ireland on 22nd.April'12, booked 2 rooms for 2 nights commencing 13th.June'12. The booking and cancellation policy were confirmed to her by email from B&B Ireland. Susan & family arrived on the evening of 13th.June'12 and announced that they would not be staying the second night, alleging an error had been made in the booking. She had possession of the reservation details for over 6 weeks but did nothing to correct it until arriving. There was no apology for not availing of the 2 rooms for the second night ,which had been reserved for her for 6 weeks, which could have otherwise been made available to other guests. As the cancellation was not in accordance with the cancellation policy,B&B Ireland made the credit card deduction. In this case the proprietor cannot be held responsible for the negligence of the client.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

My mom and I are staying at Bayside tonight. I am writing this review as mom sleeps and I am sitting on this comfortable bed. The linens are fresh as the sea air and pressed! Can't wait for breakfast tomorrow. We were welcomed with hot tea and a wonderful homemade lemon coffee cake. Would love to stay here the whole time we are in Ireland.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jowill_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

My family and I (6 adults) road-tripped across Ireland in fall of 2010. We stayed in a different B&B each night of our 10-day vacation. Bayside was our 6th night in Ireland. It's located on the bay (as the name implies). It's a 5 minute car ride into the town of Dungarvan with plenty of shops and pubs. There is free parking on the property. Our room was upstairs in the back of the house. It was pretty spacious and had 2 comfortable, twin size beds, an ensuite, and views of the garden in back. If you got a room in the front of the house, like my parents did, you got amazing views of the bay. Breakfast the next morning was served in the quaint dining room downstairs with beautiful views of the bay. The hosts were very friendly. Before arriving at this B&B we spent the day at Blarney Castle and the seaside town of Cobh.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AllycatMKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Wow - what a view. Well signposted (by Irish standards), ad the name says it all, Bayside, follow the bay around out of Dungarvan. Super hygiene and excellent cooked breakfast. Definitely one of the nicest b&b's we have stayed in during our visit to our frequet visits to Ireland - so much so we are repeat customers. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask the host to recommend places to eat nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tictof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dungarvan hotels
0.2 mi away
Gold Coast Golf Resort
Gold Coast Golf Resort
#2 of 3 in Dungarvan
337 reviews
2.5 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
2.7 mi away
Dun Ard
Dun Ard
#1 of 16 in Dungarvan
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Seaview Guesthouse
Seaview Guesthouse
#9 of 16 in Dungarvan
76 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tannery Townhouse
Tannery Townhouse
#4 of 16 in Dungarvan
151 reviews
1.3 mi away
Barnawee Bridge Guesthouse
Barnawee Bridge Guesthouse
#7 of 16 in Dungarvan
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside

Address: Gold Coast Road, Dungarvan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dungarvan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Dungarvan
Price Range: $85 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing