We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Stay”
Review of Dun Ard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dun Ard
Ranked #1 of 15 Dungarvan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saratoga Springs, Utah, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had a wonderful stay with Anne and Joe. The room was clean, and well appointed. The bed was the MOST comfortable on our entire stay. Breakfast was lovely and cooked to order. We really had a wonderful time in this beautiful spot and wished that we could've stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gretchen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    11
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
203
15
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed recently in this beautiful B&B. The house itself has everything a traveller would need, we booked the suite which has a beautiful sea view of Dungarvan Bay. We were made so welcome by our hosts, Anne and Joe. We would know the area pretty well but Joe gave us great recommendations for eating out etc. I would recommend this B & B to to anyone who want to visit the sunny south east.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had a great time in this beautiful b&b. Anne and Joe were brilliant hosts and made us very welcome. They were very kind and gave us great advice od places to eat and places of a entertainment. This b& b is situated in Beautiful Rinn and itd very near beautiful Helvic Head. A beautiful fishing village. This b&b is overall five star excellence and Anne and Joe are five star hosts. The room was beautiful and warm. The breakfasts were superb. We really enjoyed our stay and will be back soon again.

Thanks Anne and Joe for making us very welcome and for your kindness. We loved the place so much. We will be back soon again. Mary Glendon

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This B&B is located in a beautiful part of Ireland, just outside the town of Dungarvan and ii is a good base from which to explore the south coast. The owners are friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable about the area. The B&B itself is a spacious modern house with parking directly outside. The well decorated rooms were very clean with large en suite bathrooms and the view from the front bedroom over the bay towards Dungarvan town is spectacular. The cooked breakfasts were very nice with fresh fruit and cereal available. This is the nicest B&B in Ireland that I have stayed in and I look forward to returning.

Room Tip: The front bedroom is the largest and has an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnDKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobermore, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I had a great time with Joe and Anne. I was there on business and first time in that area of Ireland
they had a warm welcome for me which was nice as it had been raining all day. Room was excellent with all you require on a business trip as was breakfast, their advice on where to eat and to have a great pint of guinness that night was spot on really looking forward to my next visit in September.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This was our only B&B stay in Ireland. Our host Joe greeted us warmly along with 6 Yorkshire Terriers (5 visiting too), helped bring in our luggage, chatted, asked us about our desires for breakfast, and left us to relax with a carafe of fresh water. He seemed to know everything. His wife equally welcoming. Our room was charming, homey and so clean with it's own comfortable bath.
Modern and traditional decor that was charming. Breakfast with guests from Ireland and Wales, quite good, and very enjoyable. Very accomadating and welcoming B&B, and wish we could have stayed longer. Thank you Anne and Joe for sending on the stuff I forgot!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lightngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were delighted we chose Dun Ard as our base for sightseeing in the area around beautiful Ring. Anne and Joe were great hosts and Anne serves a hell of a breakfast! She even cooked the fish my husband caught for his breakfast. The room was spotless, very comfortable and beautifully decorated. We would highly recommend it to anyone looking for first class accommodation in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monloWexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dungarvan
3.7 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
3.4 mi away
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
#3 of 3 in Dungarvan
434 reviews
3.0 mi away
Gold Coast Golf Resort
Gold Coast Golf Resort
#2 of 3 in Dungarvan
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,626 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tannery Townhouse
Tannery Townhouse
#4 of 15 in Dungarvan
145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comeragh View Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dun Ard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dun Ard

Property: Dun Ard
Address: 2 Na Ceithre Gaotha | Ring, Dungarvan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dungarvan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Dungarvan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dun Ard 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dún Ard is rated 5 Star by the Irish Tourist Board (Failte Ireland). Dún Ard is aptly named, as it enjoys spectacular views of the Comeragh Mountains and Dungarvan Bay. Dún Ard is situated in the heart of the Ring Gaeltacht, just outside Dungarvan and is ideally situated to experience some of Waterford's and Ireland's most stunning scenery. Championship golf courses, fishing, walking and award winning restaurants are all on the doorstep. A stay in Dún Ard is one not to be missed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Dun Ard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing