We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return Visit from Caladh Nua to Dun Ard”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dun Ard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dun Ard
Ranked #1 of 18 Dungarvan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Waterford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Return Visit from Caladh Nua to Dun Ard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Its been 2 years since we stayed at Dun Ard while recording our 2nd album. We stayed there again for 2 nights just passed while recording our 3rd album and found that the service and facilities were not only as good, but had gotten even better. Absolutely fantastic food and a great variety coupled with top class bedrooms and high speed internet make this a must stay place when visiting Dungarvan and Ring in Co. Waterford

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Caladh_Nua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Owner at Dun Ard, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hi Caladh Nua,
We were delighted to have members of your group stay with us for a couple of days recently while you were recording your CD at the Clancy recording studio. Best of luck with the launch of your CD. We hope that we will see you in Dún Ard when you are in the area again !

Kindest regards

Joe & Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    11
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
196
14
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scarriff County Clare
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Spent last weekend down in Ring Co Waterford with my three sisters , in search of our family connections with the area. We had a very special thirty six hours in the area... enhanced by the accomodation we chose . We had the great fortune to experience the Irish bed and breakfast experience at its absolute best, thanks to anne and joe , hosts at the Dun Ard. If you could bottle their kindness, attention to detail and general good humour and label it 'How to run a nation ' ... this Auld Sod of ours would soon be on the way to economic recovery.

They get it so right .. Simply one of the best bed and breakfast stays we have ever experienced .

We will be back !míle buíochas Aine agus Seosamh

Room Tip: Front room with sea view ... especially fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank carol m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Owner at Dun Ard, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hi Carol M.

Thank you for taking the time to write the lovely review of your stay in Dún Ard. It was out pleasure to have you and your three sisters stay with us while tracing your roots in Ring College and Dungarvan. Perhaps we will see you again as part of the Gathering in 2013.

Kindest regards

Joe & Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
151 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

I decided to book the Dun Ard for one night on our way from Castlebridge to Kinsale and I am sure glad I did! It is worth going out of your way to stay there. I made all my reservations for B and Bs from recommendations on Tripadvisor. Thank you posters. I like to know what to expect before I get there so I will give you details of what was important to me. This place exceeded my expectations.
Cleanliness: Immaculate
Decor: Tasteful, right out of a magazine. Modern decor mixed with antiques.
Space: Very spacious. Although the bed was not a king, it was ample. This was just a one night stopover, but I wished we could have stayed a week. Loved the room. (Room 1) The view is amazing and the decor is unique.
Bathroom: Awesome. Large cleanly decorated. Shower the very best! The jacuzzi tub I didn't try but looked neat.
Shower: WOW!
Breakfast: Excellent. Full breakfast cooked to order. All the amenities. Dining room elegant.
Hospitality: Wonderful couple. Joe and Anne are very gracious and very proud of their place, as they should be. They are genuine and friendly. We really enjoyed visiting with them.
Location: Beautiful location high on a hill with a view of the water. Right out of Dungarven
Ease of finding: If I had followed the directions we would not have had a problem, but our GPS was not working and forgot to write down the directions the night before so had to ask, but found it right away.
Price: Definitely worth it!
Bed: Taste in beds is personal. I would have liked a firmer bed as I kept rolling to the middle, but that's just my taste.
WiFi: Good in bedroom and elsewhere
Parking: Right at the front door. Bedroom up outside stairs and half a flight inside. Not bad.
I would love to go back and stay there again. The only drawback was finding a place to eat a light meal after dark. We ended up eating a pizza at the pub across from the B and B. Interesting evening. Dungarven has a nice harbor, an old church and cementery and nice restaurants if you want a full meal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank bostonqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Owner at Dun Ard, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hi bostonqueen,
We are still reeling from your praise of your stay at our B&B. Your decision to stay with us was based on previous Tripadvisor reviews. I know that future guests will will gain greatly from your review of Dún Ard.
We would love to see you again if you are in the area !

Kind regards

Joe & Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We're just back from a 4 night stay in Ireland, driving between Rosslare & Kinsale, and we stayed with Joe and Anne on nights 1 and 3. I really don't think there's anything much I can add to the large number of fantastic reviews that their B&B has received, except to say that they're all completely justified. We had two lovely nights staying at Dun Ard and would return at the drop of a hat.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank DavidAJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Owner at Dun Ard, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hi David,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay with us in Dún Ard. You stayed with us on your way to Kinsale and again on your way back. Is is nice to have guests decide to stay with us, based on previous Tripadvisor reviews.
Thank you for the advice on getting a replacement remote for our TV.
Perhaps we will see you again ?

Kind regards,

Joe & Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zele
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We travelled with 2 couples throughout Ireland during one week. Our stay at Dun Ard was very exceptional and different compared to the traditional Irish B&B's.
Very nice accomodation, beautiful designed rooms and very spacious and light glassroom.
Nice view at the bay in the morning.
Joe give us good travel advice ( scenery roads ) in advance before arriving at Dungarvan, also good tips to find a good restaurant and live music in the city.
We enjoyed a delicious breakfast with very really fresh fish, specially cooked for us.
Thanks for the very kind attention for my wife's birthyday!

One small minor attention point is the brown coloured water in the bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sarahZele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeithreGaotha, Owner at Dun Ard, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Hi sarahZele,

Thank you for the lovely review. You asked me in advance what route to take to our house.
I suggested you take the Coast road from Tramore and I am glad you enjoyed it.
I am also glad you enjoyed your birthday drink here as well.
The water in the bathroom is from the public mains but gets slightly discoloured in very heavy rain and we have had plenty of that this summer !

Regards to all of you

Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bala
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Six of us had booked a cottage in County Kerry for a week and arranged to stayed in Dun Ard for one night on the way out, having crossed over from the ferry from Fishguard to Rosslare. Joe and Anne are fantastic hosts and couldn't have been more welcoming - truly beautifull rooms and a fantastic breakfast.. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gwerfyl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeithreGaotha, Owner at Dun Ard, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Hi Gwerfyl J,

Thank you for taking the time to post a lovely review. We were delighted to welcome all 6 of you to Dun Ard. We are ideally located from people arriving into Rosslare on the evening ferry as we are just two hours travel. People can rest for the night before travelling on.

Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

The room was very nice in a beautiful house, accross the road from the famous Mooneys Bar which was an experience.

The spa bathroom was well equipped with a jacuzzi bath and power shower, although they should warn guests about the peaty brown water.

Breakfast was good with fresh fruit & home baked bread.

A little on the expensive side, they should not advertise and agree to take pets, (dogs), when they were obviously uncomfortable about it, and the house was not very suitable for animals.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libbz44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Owner at Dun Ard, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hi Libbz44.
Our acceptance of your dogs based on a phone call when you told us they were retired rescue dogs. Unfortunately, you did not adhere to house rules tjat were agreed. You allowed one of the dogs to go up the cream carpeted stairs with a cut paw. leaving blood on every step.
As a result, we have changed our pet policy and we no longer can accept pets..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dungarvan
3.7 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
2.7 mi away
Gold Coast Golf Resort
Gold Coast Golf Resort
#2 of 3 in Dungarvan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
#3 of 3 in Dungarvan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Old Imperial Hotel
The Old Imperial Hotel
#1 of 8 in Youghal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tannery Townhouse
Tannery Townhouse
#4 of 18 in Dungarvan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dun Ard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dun Ard

Property: Dun Ard
Address: 2 Na Ceithre Gaotha | Ring, Dungarvan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dungarvan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Dungarvan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dun Ard 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dun Ard is rated 5 Star by the Irish Tourist Board (Failte Ireland). Dun Ard is aptly named, as it enjoys spectacular views of the Comeragh Mountains and Dungarvan Bay. Dun Ard is situated in the heart of the Ring Gaeltacht, just outside Dungarvan and is ideally situated to experience some of Waterford's and Ireland's most stunning scenery. Championship golf courses, fishing, walking and award winning restaurants are all on the doorstep. A stay in Dun Ard is one not to be missed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dun Ard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing