We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Irish Hospitality at its best!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dungarvan
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Irish Hospitality at its best!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2010

Well all I can say Irish Hospitality is alive and well and its in Lawlors - we went here on a very good priced break with our kids - the hotel is a three star hotel and yes it is old and maybe in need of some TLC - but we had a ball, our room was very spacious and clean, the breakfast was to die for, the staff I just cant say enough about they were so friendly and nice to us and especially the kids it gave us a real lift in these doom times in Ireland. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to enjoy the good things in life.

We ate in the Restaurant on the Saturday night and did the Early Bird Menu the choice was incredible and the food was great!

Dont believe everythign you read in reviews - for some decent acommodation which is well priced, food delicous and the staff just wonderful and friendly to kids - its the perfect place to stay!

Good on you Lawlors keep great Family Run Hotels like this alive and well in Ireland!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deefed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    133
    77
    51
    62
See reviews for
67
166
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2010

Travelling from Wexford last weekend we visited Lawlors Hotel - Tfood and wine was supberb and great value - great sing song in the bar we decided to stay overnight and they offered great rates. Our room was bright, fresh and clean and staff friendly. I came home and decided to put in a review to thank all at the hotel - I was astonished to see the old reviews of this hotel - My advise for future travellers - do not read reviews - surprise yourself. Great Food, Great Value and Great Staff...... Thanks.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DunphyCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

Despite the outstandingly fantastic super human efforts of the reception team. None of the rooms we were offered enjoyed a, relaxing option. This hotel whilst maybe enjoying years of hospitality is in desperate need of an upgrade to include double glazing to dilute the traffic noise or even just windows that shut properly. Felt like a youth hostel more than a relaxing place to stay. This despite an attractive warm entrance hall full of character. Breakfast was the hi light other than the staff who did there best and could not be faulted for their efforts. It was the building that let itself down and none of the people who worked within it. Try The Park, details from tourist information. It's new modern, quiet, clean and just around the corner! A complete contrast, You will thank us for it!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nantgarw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dungarvan hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
co. limerck
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2010

i was on a stag party in dungarvan and we stayed in lawlors hotel unfortunately , from the bar staff to the people serving breakfast they where smart mouthed and ignorant and even the manager had sumthing to say, there was 19 people in our group at 60 euro a head thats 1140 euros they got for us to stay there if any one is planning to stay here i advise you to look again for another hotel to stay dungarvan itself is a beautyful place but is being let down by these ignorant people ( LAWlORS )

signed by someone who wont be staying here again

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irishgreen09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2010

Location is great is't right in town and just park your car it the back and your walking to most of the decent restaurants in town. However entering from the car park one has to go via a patio and a disused function space and thru the chef's smoking area!! Rotten first impression. It's a small town hotel with a very old fashioned sense about it. The bar seems nice but the rest of it is in need of a serious refurb. Has potential to be transformed to a really cool boutique hotel. DONT drink the water on tap or make tea in your room, I thought i was drinking washing up liquid, so slimy was the water.
If the charged 20-30 euro per room as a hostel... great but 60-100 euro a room... not good value. Breakfast.. boring and bland, stuck in the 80's with poor quality sausage and puddings used. Overall not recommending this one.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoCGlobalTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2010

I recently happened to be in Dungarven on business and dropped in to this old family run hotel in Dungarvan mid morning. The receptionist was really friendly and directed us to the breakfast room. At first I thought it was dingy and dull but we got a superb feast for about eur 5.00 per head. The best feed I've had in ages. No fancy trimings, just a good old fashioned Irish fry,, lashings of hot tea and loads of toast and marmalade. Comfort food. The staff were lovely and I endeavoured to seek out old family run independent businesses from now on as I believe that they are the backbone of the country. I'm sick to death of modern plastic and concrete hotels, pubs and restaurants. Sure they all look the same. These old places have a character all of their own. I'm going to review all the family run businesses I visit from now on... we need to preserve them for EVER..... B

Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank EnjoyLife53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2010

Stayed in Lawlor's hotel for one night recently and on arrival was quite impressed with the lobby area of hotel so was expecting good things....however all was not as it seemed! Room was on first floor, on exiting the lift corridor was dark. carpet bumpy and uneven and place generally dated and uncared for looking. Room was clean but as old-world as I have seen for quite some time...portable tv which didnt work and which was not fixed until next morning, even though hotel staff were informed it was broken on our arrival. Really this hotel needs a cash injection and some love. Also breakfast staff badly need to treat guests with some respect and courtesy not merely as an inconvenience...small gestures like taking tea/coffee orders when people sit, bringing toast and SMILING would go a long way. On the plus side room was clean, bed comfortable. breakfast was good (served on hot plates) and staff in reception (Sue I believe the lady's name was) and the night porter were both excellent, polite. charming and courteous.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry82Kerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dungarvan
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
2.5 mi away
Gold Coast Golf Resort
Gold Coast Golf Resort
#2 of 3 in Dungarvan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Pilgrims Rest Hotel
The Pilgrims Rest Hotel
#2 of 3 in Cappoquin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
13.7 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#2 of 8 in Youghal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Old Imperial Hotel
The Old Imperial Hotel
#1 of 8 in Youghal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan

Property: Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Address: Lawlors Hotel Bridge Street, Dungarvan, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dungarvan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dungarvan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lawlors Family Run Hotel Dungarvan, one of the best known and longest established hotels in the coastal town of Dungarvan, Waterford, in the South East of Ireland. The hotel is situated on Dungarvan Harbour, where the River Colligan broadens and enters the sea. We offer warm, comfortable bed and breakfast accommodation as well as excellent conference and wedding facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing