We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT WEEKEND”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dungarvan
Reviewed December 15, 2009

Weekend away at Lawlors Hotel - Cosy Bedroom over looking the Bay - Wining and Dining great value and excellent service and lovely polite team at the front desk. Hoping to be back again before Christmas.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Byrnecouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 464 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2009

The only thing good i can say about this hotel was the dinner here which was really nice but other then that i can most definitely say i will not be staying there again.. the staff were not friendly nor polite. When waiting to be seated for breakfast the waitress saw us and kept talking to another staff member so we proceded to seat ourselves only to be told we couldnt sit there! the breakfast was cooked for about an hour before we ate it I would imagine. We got burnt toast so asked for it to be taken back only to receive the same basket out again. My husband asked for some water, she brought a jug but no glass! the rooms were old and the floor boards were coming up under the carpet in the hall. We ordered a double room and got a twin room and when we said it to them they didnt even apologise! It is way overpriced for what you receive.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishGirl1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2009

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, Staff very friendly and accommodating. Meals were always presented well and served by friendly and courteous staff. Was made to feel welcome by both the staff and local people. We certainly have no complaints and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tcoachman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2009

Lawlor's hotel in Dungarvan, Co Waterford, Ireland is a small and very nice hotel with the public areas being comfortable and welcoming. The staff are friendly and it has a nice bar area that serves good food and has two TV's that show Premier/Champions league football etc. The restaurant is good and the bedrooms are also very well furnished, however, because they have what I presume are energy saving lightbulbs it takes a few minutes to become fully illuminated. I believe this is rated as a 3*** hotel which in my opinion is perfectly correct and I would most certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DATB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2009

I had stayed in Lawlors hotel some years ago and was delighted when I saw on their website that they had revamped the hotel as the location is great - in the centre of Dungarvan. Whilst the hotel lobby and bar have been renovated, all of the bedrooms certainly have not been with the exception of a few rooms so be warned. We asked for a room with a view to the harbour which is fairness was allocated, however, the room was very dated and clearly not renovated recently. The walkway to the bedroom was worn and had a large stain on the carpet which had seen better days. The breakfast was probably the worst I have had in any hotel. The only fruit provided was tinned grapefruit and there were no glasses for the orange juice. Bear in mind the hotel was not at all busy when we arrived for breakfast. The upside of our stay was a very pleasant bar man who was courteous and efficient and also the bar which has been tastefully renovated. I would not have booked this hotel if I had known that the bedroom were not upgraded and I quote the following from their website which I think is misleading

"Dream the night away in our spacious bedrooms. All recently renovated, each room offers the traditional comforts and modern facilities combined with simple touches of elegance"

Whilst my request of a harbour view may have dictated the room allocated, their website clearly states "all recently renovated" which is not accurate.

Free parking is available at the back of the hotel but it is a waste ground and we did feel a little unsecure parking our car there.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NellieLeinster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

I stayed here for one night with my partner. If it was half the price (and possibly if it was a b&b and not a hotel) I would be more forgiving but I hated it.
The room was stuffy and smelly and badly needed to be updated, it had stained ceilings and bad decor. There was a four poster bed frame with no drapes, which, due to the size of the room, resulted in us constantly bumping into the frame, I have quite a bruise after walking into it during the night.
We had to leave the windows open due to the heat and smell, which meant we were kept awake for half the night by all the pub and nightclub drinkers from the whole town shouting, screaming, kicking beer barrels around etc right up until about 4am.
There were tea making facilities but the water was so disgusting that we couldn't drink the tea. We went downstairs to buy large bottles of water and were charged 10 euro for two 750ml bottles from the restaurant.
The breakfast was average.
The tv didn't work when we got there, somebody did come to fix it but we had to sit at the bottom of the bed, right in front of the tv for the remote control to work.
Nobody asked or cared if we enjoyed our stay. It was the worst hotel I've stayed in in a long long time. Don't go there.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raidie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

My wife and I visited Dungarvan to visit her cousin, and she took us to Lawlors dining room one night. Service was excellent, and although I can't remember what the others had, I had the best Duck dish I ever ate. We have eaten at the other hotel dining rooms in town, but this one we will definitely being going back to.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nursedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dungarvan
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
2.2 mi away
Gold Coast Golf Resort
Gold Coast Golf Resort
#2 of 3 in Dungarvan
340 reviews
10.6 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
348 reviews
24.9 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,218 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Old Imperial Hotel
The Old Imperial Hotel
#2 of 7 in Youghal
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan

Address: Lawlors Hotel Bridge Street, Dungarvan, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dungarvan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dungarvan
Price Range: $90 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lawlors Family Run Hotel Dungarvan, one of the best known and longest established hotels in the coastal town of Dungarvan, Waterford, in the South East of Ireland. The hotel is situated on Dungarvan Harbour, where the River Colligan broadens and enters the sea. We offer warm, comfortable bed and breakfast accommodation as well as excellent conference and wedding facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing