We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A tale of 2 stories!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dungarvan
cork,ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A tale of 2 stories!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Downstairs really nice. Updated recently I'd say. Restaurant amazing value. Upstairs appalling, never been somewhere so old fashioned. Room small and worse still not very clean. Don't rub ure finger along the headboard.. it is only a 3star but the lower end of the scale for accommodation

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sk1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawlorshotel D, Owner at Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear SK1980,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. We do refurbish our hotel on an on-going basis, a different section being completed annually. We are disappointed to read that you did not think the rooms ate clean. Thought the décor may be ‘old world’, we do our utmost to maintain the cleanliness of our rooms.
Management Team,
Lawlors Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    132
    76
    51
    62
See reviews for
67
164
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Just returned from a 4 night coach trip with a friend to the Emerald Coast. The hotel was centrally located and most of the staff were friendly. Our twin room was at the side of the building so we had an alley way for a view. The walls are very thin and we could hear everything next door. Unfortunately we had a couple who talked all night for 2 nights running. The room was clean enough but I had a pillow case with dried blood stain on it. Luckily I only needed one pillow to sleep on. The bed also squeaked when I moved around on it. The whole place needed upgrading, especially the worn carpet on the stairway (covered over by a loose rug). The staff at the bar and dining area were friendly and helpful. However I cannot say the same with the staff in the reception area when I mentioned that I could not get a wifi connection since I checked in. They insisted that there was something wrong with my tablet. However shortly afterwards I got connection and fortunately I had connection during the rest of my stay. The food during breakfast and dinner could be better. The Irish cooked breakfast consisted of 2 tiny sausages, a small fried egg and one slice of bacon and nothing else. That was omitted on our last morning when we had an early start. The porridge was like wall paper paste. There were plenty of cereals and toasts though. Dinner comprised of mashed potato with every main dish. However the food was always hot which was a positive. There wasn't much choice if one has a dietary requirement though. A lady at our table is a vegetarian and she had cheese and omelette with salad at every evening meal. The food could be easily improved without spending a lot more.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawlorshotel D, Owner at Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Mr Peely
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your recent stay with us. We are glad that you appreciated our location and friendly staff. As can bee seen from other reviewers, one of our strongest assets is our food with lots of positive feedback; it’s therefore not a common occurrence to read that our breakfast and dinner could be better. We will analise why you feel that this was the case. One issue that we have is your comment on our linen. All of our linen is supplied to us from an outside linen company, and is of an exceptionally high standard. If there was a problem, we would have appreciated being made award of it, so we therefore could carry back your grievances to the suppliers. Thank you again for your comments.
Management Team,
Lawlors hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

went on a coach trip with GB tours to Dungarvan and stayed at Lawlor,s hotel for 5 days
had a fantastic time, hotel was very good value for the money paid,very clean excellent
staff and excellent service, food very good generous portions( you must try the sausage)
first trip to Ireland and would certainly come again, people very friendly and can.t do enough for
you, traveled with some fantastic people on the coach and made some very good
friends , and hope to see them in the future on other coach trips

ADY

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wrexhamady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawlorshotel D, Owner at Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Mr Wexhamady,
It’s refreshing to read that you feel that we ‘can’t do enough for our guests’. That is what makes our working day all the more enjoyable. We do hope that you will get the opportunity to experience Irish Hospitality again in the near future.
Management team,
Lawlors Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Spent four nights at this hotel on a coach trip to Southern Ireland. Although the room was basic with a view over the flat roof and air conditioning units and the shower was too small and enclosed for my liking, the room was very clean and the staff were extremely helpful when I asked for additional toiletries and tea and coffee making facilities. The meals are excellent, especially seafood and fish dishes. The reception, dining and bar areas are very smart and very nice for relaxing in. The candles in candelabras burning in the reception and in the dining rooms add to the atmosphere. If there is a problem with your room, the staff do try to fix the issue as soon as they can - as happened to a couple of my travelling companions. The hotel has character which I prefer to the bland modern national hotel chains. I would stay again if I was ever in that area of Ireland again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy64_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawlorshotel D, Owner at Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Cathy,
Repeat Business is what all hotels strive for as this is a result of happy customers. Thank you for your generous comments on our friendly staff, food and relaxing atmosphere. Come again soon.
Management Team,
Lawlors Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
337 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We went on a coach trip to Southern Ireland and were based at Lawlor's Hotel for 4 nights and on arrival first impressions were of it being situated in a lovely position by the river and close to the shops.All the staff at the hotel were lovely and the ground floor area around the reception was quite smart looking however the carpet into the ballroom area where we had our meals was dangerous near the doorway and also the carpet on the stairs was threadbare and just covered by a mat (? Health And Safety)
Our room was 220 on the second floor the bedroom was fine apart from the fact that the base of one of the beds looked as if it had been clawed by a cat but the bathroom was grotty and the shower tray kept filling with water which I complained about the first day but it did not improve at all we had to keep turning off the water during the shower to stop it from overflowing and all around the shower tray and the radiator needed a darned good clean.Our meals were reasonably good but would have preferred to have only had mashed potato one night or at least a choice of something different on the menu.Its a shame because on the whole it is a really nice hotel but could do with a bit of updating.

Room Tip: I would think the ground floor rooms at the front would be very noisy.We were in 220 which was at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great location. Very friendly and helpful staff, room (305) was fabulous with four poster bed! Lovely, bright, very clean bathroom. The restaurant was fantastic and I would definitely recommend the very reasonably priced five course menu, ....especially the seafood selections and desserts....great value for money. There was good entertainment in the bar. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: 305....the four poster!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawlorshotel D, Owner at Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Nicola,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your favorable comments on our accommodation, restaurant and bar entertainment.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the future.
Management Team,
Lawlors Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungarvan, Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The restaurant has excellent choice, excellent food, excellent service and excellent value!! And all that for a mere twenty five euros! The Bar has excellent free traditional Irish music every night great service!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawlorshotel D, Owner at Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Catherine,
Thank you for such positive feedback. We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay with us from the food to the entertainment.
We do rely on all customer feed-back to help us continue maintain and improve standards.
We look forward to welcoming you back again to us.
Management Team,
Lawlors Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dungarvan
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
2.5 mi away
Gold Coast Golf Resort
Gold Coast Golf Resort
#2 of 3 in Dungarvan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Pilgrims Rest Hotel
The Pilgrims Rest Hotel
#2 of 3 in Cappoquin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
13.7 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#2 of 8 in Youghal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Old Imperial Hotel
The Old Imperial Hotel
#1 of 8 in Youghal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan

Property: Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Address: Lawlors Hotel Bridge Street, Dungarvan, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dungarvan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dungarvan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lawlors Family Run Hotel Dungarvan, one of the best known and longest established hotels in the coastal town of Dungarvan, Waterford, in the South East of Ireland. The hotel is situated on Dungarvan Harbour, where the River Colligan broadens and enters the sea. We offer warm, comfortable bed and breakfast accommodation as well as excellent conference and wedding facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing