We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Just Go' Coach Tour (5 days) to Dungarvan. Lawlor's Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dungarvan
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Just returned from a five-day visit to this beautiful region of Ireland. We found Lawlor's Hotel to be comfortable and welcoming, and the staff were efficient and pleasant. The hotel is in the centre of the town, close to the shops and the harbour. We are both vegetarians, but the chef was willing to cook something each evening especially for us. We merely had to ask the waiting staff when they came to take the orders. For meat and fish eaters there was always a choice of at least four main courses. We would be happy to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ron753x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawlorshotel D, Manager at Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Ron
It’s such a pleasure to read your great review. Your comments are very kind, we the management & staff here in Lawlors Hotel look forward to welcoming you back to us again very soon.
Management Team,
Lawlors Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 464 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

Food very very poor For a starter i was served a salad that was going brown to the point that there was black slime on the lettuce leaves. For a main course I was served lumpy cold mash potatoe with mashed carrots that still contained lumps of the carrot ends and with fish that was very over cooked.
Rooms very basic and with rooms with no double glazing so very noisy from the main road that runs outside of it

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawlorshotel D, Manager at Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear Keith,

We were very disappointed to read your comments with regards your stay here in Lawlors Hotel. As you can see from previous reviewers, our food standards are of an exceptional standard with numerous positive comments. We would appreciate if anyone is dissatisfied with their meal to make our staff aware of it as soon as possible. We always treat these situations with utmost priority when notified immediately. We thank you for your comments and hope they it will not deter you from returning to us.

Management Team,
Lawlors Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

The staff in this hotel are friendly and accommodating, making our experience a generally good one. Breakfast was also good. However, the accommodation areas (hallways and bedrooms) are in need of updating. Our room was to the front of the hotel and the old aluminium windows let in all the street noise. As the hotel is in the centre of town, there was quite a bit of noise from people going home from their Saturday night out. The street sweeper also made quite a racket when it passed at 6 am! Overall, a good experience though.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roo_ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We have just returned from a short break in Ireland with a local coach firm GB tours. The hotel was was well situated in Dungarvan close to harbour and local shopping facilities, but we spent most of our time touring around the area.

The tour and hotel were excellent value for money, some of the décor of the hotel is a little bit tired but the linen is clean with towels changed whenever required. The food is good but portions are small, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

The entertainment in the bar was excellent with traditional Irish group one night and a vocalist the other two evenings.

All in all it was a good break but very tiring glad to get home for a rest!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter as the front overlooks a very busy road and some guests s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rivlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We really didn't enjoy our stay the smell of the carpet and bathroom kept me awake the three nights I was there. Badly in need of updating . I would have left after an hour but it was my children's holiday and they didn't want to go home. I didn't eat there not even breakfast although my stay included 1 dinner and breakfast each morning.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Magsregan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Good Hotel, Stayed here midweek and it was very nice, it is very centarl as is as advertised a family run hotel, they seem to pride thmselves on friendlyness and always say hello and smile.

The food is really good here too, cant fault them on anything

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Hotel in need of a complete makeover, frayed carpets, holes in walls, shower that did not work properly. We were put in the Ballroom for our meals again in need of freshening up also this is were the door to the smoking shelter is situated, so as you are eating your meals you get this constant parade of people going past the tables for a smoke.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dungarvan
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
2.2 mi away
Gold Coast Golf Resort
Gold Coast Golf Resort
#2 of 3 in Dungarvan
340 reviews
10.6 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
348 reviews
24.9 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,218 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Old Imperial Hotel
The Old Imperial Hotel
#2 of 7 in Youghal
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan

Address: Lawlors Hotel Bridge Street, Dungarvan, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dungarvan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dungarvan
Price Range: $90 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lawlors Family Run Hotel Dungarvan, one of the best known and longest established hotels in the coastal town of Dungarvan, Waterford, in the South East of Ireland. The hotel is situated on Dungarvan Harbour, where the River Colligan broadens and enters the sea. We offer warm, comfortable bed and breakfast accommodation as well as excellent conference and wedding facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing