We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bar, room was fine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dungarvan
eddiedpfoc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice bar, room was fine”
Reviewed July 13, 2011

The bar area had some live music. Staff were friendly and nice. The room was a little bit old feeling but overall I wouldn't fault this place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eddiedpfoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLawlors, Manager at Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan, responded to this review, July 17, 2011
Dear Eddie,
Thank you so much for your recent review of our hotel. We were glad to hear you enjoyed our live entertainment in the bar. We look forward to you returning to us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    140
    82
    51
    69
See reviews for
75
171
19
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

a horrific place - wasteland to the back, wasters in the bar. There was a wedding going on which seemed to continue until 7am, with the afterhours session in residents bar audible all the way from 1am to 7am. IRA songs included. didn't sleep a wink, worst hotel i've stayed in in ireland.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank scallyl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLawlors, Manager at Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
We are sorry to read on Tripadvisor that you did not have an enjoyable stay with us. With reference to the noise levels from the wedding taking place in the hotel the night of your stay - we try where possible to allocate rooms to guests who are not attending events in the hotel, away from the function room. We do appreciate your comments and we are always willing to improve our standard of service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dungarvan hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

The room was comfortable, housekeeping erratic! Soap and towels changed everyday but not always replaced!. No decaff coffee available in room or dining room, so bring your own! There was a set breakfast for coach groups:- cereal, toast and cooked (comprising of 2 sausauges, 1 slice of bacon and fried egg (except on last morning if catching ferry then no cooked breakfast available). Few waiting staff to cater for 3-4 coach loads of passengers, even though mealtimes were staggered. Evening meals often arrived cold at table and one dessert you could bet on ..jelly and ice-cream every night, portion control was pot luck.
Thankfully Dunnes located at the back of the hotel has a supermarket.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bryantyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLawlors, Manager at Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review.
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We do cater for coach groups here in Lawlors hotel and the contents of the breakfast are what are previously agreed with the coach companies. Decaff coffee is available on request. When coaches are getting the ferry, continental breakfast is served at 5 to 5.30am. Each evening we do offer an additional choice of Jelly & Ice cream as many request this as a dessert. We do appreciate your comments and we are always willing to improve our standards and service.

Management Team, Lawlors Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

On arrival we hoped to have sometihing to eat but look of carvery was not very inviting and Bar food menu was not available for another 2 hours. Bedroom was clean but old fashioned. Shower in ensuite was very small (not at all suitable for the larger person). Breakfast was very poor!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AggieSligo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLawlors, Manager at Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Thank you for your review of your stay here in Lawlors Hotel. We do serve carvery daily from 12.30pm to 3pm and later at weekends. Our bar menu starts at 5.30pm each evening. I can only assume you checked into the hotel in the afternoon. We do offer snacks and sandwiches in between these times. Breakfast consists of a buffet for cereals, juice. Cooked breakfast is served to our customers. We have discussed our Breakfast with the relevant departments with the aim to improve it in whatever way we can.
Management team,
Lawlors Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Myself and a few friends had a weekend in Mid-May set aside to for a one night stay somewhere in Ireland. Picked Dungarvan because of the location and package we got at the hotel. Booked over the phone. A group of 12 of us tried the barbeque option at the restaurant. Sunny evening, lovely courtyard and good grub set us up for a great night out.
The area was great too. A few of the lads went golfing, the rest of us headed to the beach and took a drive and a stroll along the coast.
Staff were friendly, rooms were clean and tidy and well stocked. We had twin rooms and the beds were all a decent size. Great location in the centre of town. Good atmosphere there, lively but not chaotic. Was the first of our getaways for the year and would be happy top go back

Room Tip: We booked over the phone and asked for sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drhallahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Dungarvan is such a beautiful town and my stay was enhanced by brief soujourn at Lawlors hotel...The friendliness of the staff was more than matched by the quality of service and the food in the bar and restaurant was up there with any hotel I have stayed in . The early bird menu was super value at €25 for what I can only describe as a sumptuous feast.The choice was amazing with numerous choices of main courses,starters and desserts..The location of the hotel is first class .It was a gorgeous couple of days weather wise and one could get the sweet smell of the tide lapping against the harbour walls only a stones throw from the main entrance of the hotel...the lobby of the hotel contained a host of information on local attractions and the staff on the reception desk aided me immensely in my enquiries. After a walk along the harbour and taking in the wonderful scenic view with a flotilla of locally owned,fishing boats,pleasure craft and large yachts I returned to the hotel to enjoy a drink in the lovely bar and enjoy the live music in the bar...Dungarvan is such a lovely town with beaches,three 18 hole golf courses ,mountains and the picturesque Gaeltacht area...and all within 10 minutes of the hotel which is situated in the heart of the town....It was my first visit to the town and it certainly wont be my last.....I have to say that this hotel prides itself on customer service and value and is an excellent base for exploring the town and surrounding area....

Room Tip: My room was clean ,comfortable and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blueboo1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2011

We stayed in Lawlors on a hen party. As organiser of the hen (20 girls) I found it very easy to organise the amt of rooms required etc with Olive as we had drop outs along the way as normally happens with a large group. The location of the hotel was fantastic, right in the centre of the town with pubs / restaurants all within a minutes walk. The manager on charge and the other staff members that we dealt with on the evening of our arrival went over and beyond what we would have expected to ensure that we had a fantastic experience in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kilkenny062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dungarvan
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
2.0 mi away
Gold Coast Golf Resort
Gold Coast Golf Resort
#2 of 3 in Dungarvan
311 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Pilgrims Rest Hotel
The Pilgrims Rest Hotel
#2 of 3 in Cappoquin
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,133 reviews
10.6 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,622 reviews
13.7 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan

Property: Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Address: Lawlors Hotel Bridge Street, Dungarvan, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dungarvan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dungarvan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lawlors Family Run Hotel Dungarvan, one of the best known and longest established hotels in the coastal town of Dungarvan, Waterford, in the South East of Ireland. The hotel is situated on Dungarvan Harbour, where the River Colligan broadens and enters the sea. We offer warm, comfortable bed and breakfast accommodation as well as excellent conference and wedding facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing